We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Budget place for divers”
Review of Guest Lodge Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Koror
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Guest Lodge Motel
Ranked #22 of 29 Hotels in Koror
Malaysia
Level Contributor
152 reviews
142 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
“Budget place for divers”
Reviewed 17 June 2013

If you go to Palau simply for diving, and you have only a tight budget for accommodation, yet wanted to get a comfortable place to stay, then this is a good option. It is well located in the city center, with plenty restaurants and shops just nearby. It might first appear to be slightly run down, but you can rest assure that the room is clean (have some ants though), hot shower working with constant high water pressure, air conditioning, room made up everyday, and towel will be changed too.
Free local call directly from the room, this is helpful when we were trying to contact dive shops or restaurant for pick up. Free wifi in the room, BUT the speed is very slow.
Service is superb! If you inform them about the thing that you are looking for (example: car rental), they went to extra miles to help you check the information needed, call up car rental company and inform you the outcome.
Free tea and coffee throughout the day. There is a small kitchen allow cooking. No more laundry room, and they charge $5/load of laundry.
There are many awesome hotels in Palau, but the rate is very high, but if you are looking for a place simply for sleeping, this is a place you should go!

Remarks: They provide pick up service, with flat rate $10/pax. If you do not engage a dive shop to provide pick up service for free and if you are travelling alone, I suggest you take this option. Taxi is expensive in Palau.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Travel_freak_mas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    24
    8
    2
    1
See reviews for
3
10
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Bayern, Germany
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2013

Thanks to the strange flight plan of united airlines everybody needs to pays 0.5 nights more at the end. ETA is in the middle of night, same as STD, so you ll block the rooms.
That having said, the rooms are clean, tidy and the bed comfy. The shower even has hot water, in case you need it :) The staff is friendly and can book you rentals cars for very reasonable prices (30-35$ /day).

The hostel is located more or less in the middle of town, with beaches nowhere to be seen. By the way beaches are nowhere to be seen from anywhere on the island. You need to hire a boat and get out to the outer islands. There you ll have the beaches you d expect.

Room Tip: Try to get a room towards the street. The backside looked a bit used up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Athics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2013

My trip to Palau Would Had never turn out this good If it Wasn't for The Guest lodges Welcoming And Warm Hospitality. They Provide nightly rates for single and double occupancy of A low $59.00 Including Tax. With unlimited WiFi access(Free), With free Coffee. A very Quiet neighborhood located on The Back roads Very Convenient to Grocery Stores, Post Office, Restaurant, And The Police Station which is Very Pleasant. Their rooms are very spacious with Air conditioning, cable TV, telephone with free local calls, motel sized refrigerator and hot showers. They also Provide a common kitchen area, fully equipped for the customers Alike To Cook Maybe some fresh Fish That was Caught on the same day with a very relaxing and a calm vibe and just have a beer or two with your neighbors! :)

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dolynn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights at the end of Feb 2013. The rooms are large and have free (although often slow) wifi internet. The balcony is shared with a few tables and chairs to enjoy outside. It is a no-frills place, but decent. The bed was very comfortable, the shower was hot and the staff were super sweet and helpful (it's a family-run place). It is a short walk to the main street of Koror and feels safe enough to walk to and from at night.

Room Tip: Choose a front room to enjoy the balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Janine N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2013

The Guest Lodge Motel offers divers a great value for the rate requested. I last stayed there in January 2013 for 14 nights. It's locally owned by a very nice Palauan family who are responsive to your needs. The Motel offers airport pick-up and drop-off, and, when requested, can arrange a rental car. Air conditioners worked well, bedrooms and bathrooms were kept clean, and the location offered walking access to Koror's "shopping district." There is a phone, tv, and small refrigerator in each room. Hot water for tea and coffee is available on the rooms' outdoor deck. The rooms are quiet and appear secure.

Room Tip: Second floor rooms that face the front outdoor deck and parking lot are the most desirable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank vagabond07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Orchard, WA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2012

We stayed here 10 nights on a dive trip in May 2012. When we arrived at the airport, someone was waiting for us (as well as someone from Sam's Tours regarding our diving the next morning!). When we first got to our room, it was hot--it would be nice if they had turned on the A/C in anticipation of our arrival--and we were a little worried. But it turned out great. The room cooled down and we slept quite well. The shower has plenty of water pressure, which is really nice when you need to wash salt water out of long, thick hair every day.

The room had a refrigerator, we had brought some packaged foods, like tuna and salad dressing. We bought local vegetables and made many of our own meals. After a couple of days, we discovered there is a community microwave on the front balcony, which we used for our microwave popcorn we had brought. No coffee makers in the rooms but hot water on front and back balconies. We had brought coffee and filters and improvised with a large, sturdy plastic cup & a hair band to hold the filter, put coffee in the filter, pour in some hot water and Voila! our own coffee :)

The rooms are not fancy but they are decent, the family that runs it is nice, they supply plenty of towels and clean every day. The dive operations pick up and drop off, so we only rented a car for our last day to tour the island. The hotel is within easy walking distance of stores, restaurants and the jail--the only place to buy storyboards (be sure to negotiate with them, they don't expect you to pay the posted prices). None of the stores or museum had anywhere near the variety of storyboards to choose from.

All in all, if you want to stay in Palau on a budget and have more money to spend on diving, etc., we would highly recommend the Guest Lodge. The wireless internet had something to be desired but we spoke to people we met diving, staying at mid-range and expensive resorts, and they all had the same issue. It is not a Guest Lodge issue, it is an island issue!

Room Tip: We had a corner room on the back. Quiet. The family lives across the hall on the back side. Only ab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank juliedreamstoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nsw
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2012

What a gem. This is reasonably priced , clean comfortable and the family who run it will do anything to assist . The location is fabulous only about a ten minute walk to town and you will save on accommodation to be able to do more tours of the rock islands (amazing). Some of the other similar priced accommodation are far more lower grade to this one The roooms are very large with air con and there are restaurents not far away. Tucked in a back street it also nice and quiet. . If you have the opportunity to stay here do it . Would stay there again

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank workNsw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Koror hotels
0.0 mi away
Airai Water Paradise Hotel & Spa
0.0 mi away
Garden Palace Downtown Koror
0.0 mi away
Palau Central Hotel
Palau Central Hotel
#7 of 29 in Koror
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Palau Paradise Hotel
Palau Paradise Hotel
#5 of 29 in Koror
99 reviews
0.0 mi away
DW Motel
DW Motel
#8 of 29 in Koror
121 reviews
0.0 mi away
Antelope Guest House
Antelope Guest House
#6 of 17 in Koror
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guest Lodge Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guest Lodge Motel

Property: Guest Lodge Motel
Address: | P.O. Box 833, Koror, Koror Island 96940, Palau
Region: Palau > Koror Island > Koror
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 29 Hotels in Koror
Number of rooms: 13
Also Known As:
Guest Lodge Motel Palau/Koror, South Pacific

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing