We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stopped answering to emails. Did not show up at the airport.”

Palau Sunny Garden Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Palau Sunny Garden Hotel
Ranked #11 of 18 Koror B&B and Inns
Miami Beach, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Stopped answering to emails. Did not show up at the airport.”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We exchanged several emails with this property and made a reservation by email with Larry. We sent our flight information and he confirmed we were going to be to pick up at the airport. Our flight was cancelled and we had to travel next day on a different route. We emailed Larry letting him know about the new flight details and about what happened and got no answer. When we arrived to the airport there was no one waiting for us. It was really late at night and there were no taxis. An officer from the airport kindly offered us to take us to the hotel. When we arrived there was no front desk. The guardian called Larry and he just said the hotel was closed at the moment and that was all. By now it was like 3am in the morning and we had to look around for accommodation. We were so embarrassed with the officer from the airport but luckily people from Palau are just this helpful and nice. Anyway don't book with this Navigator. Also the location was not great. Too far from the town. We were lucky to find a closer place.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank daydreamjunky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

8 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3
    2
    1
    0
    2
See reviews for
1
3
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2011

I've read the sparkling review of the hotel in the last copy of the Lonely Planet, last updated 5-6 years ago. Much has changed since then. The hotel has gone under bank management following the last owner's debt problems, the website no longer works, and it's evident the hotel has been neglected for some time.

The exterior and location of the hotel is still great. It sits not far from the town centre and the museum, but away from the noisy and congested WCTC mall area. And it probably is still the cheapest place you can stay in Koror. The rooms are however looking gloomy, with dark wooden walls and a very basic setup. The shower tap was kind of cranky, air-conditioner noisy (but working) and there seems to be an ant problem which ate away at the wooden windows and shelves. The shelf had a single hanger. There are also sensitivities when parking in the property as the first owner still stays there, and the property is partially rented out, but there is sufficient parking space.

The cable tv works though and the bed is comfortable to get a good sleep, so we're not complaining for a short stay. The towels are those you can expect from a luxury hotel. It also has a common phone in the corridor which can be used to call anywhere in Palau, useful when making arrangements for trips and car rentals.

What made up for the rundown hotel is the valiant effort by the staff. A full-service hotel it is not, but the manager (Larry) makes the best of what is essentially a one-man show. He is very friendly, chatty and can provide guests all types of advice on Palau. He also helped us get an affordable car rental service. They try their best to keep the property in the
cleanest state they can. Larry personally picked us up at the airport late into the night even though the hotel office is closed (and past their working hours). He is also supposedly reachable on his cell anytime throughout the day if they encounter problems. My wife and I would have left for other hotels if not because Larry is such a nice guy.

So I would advise that while Tree D not be the best value of stay options in Koror, if you are not intending to spend too much time holed up in the room and need a cheapie to crash (USD55 a nite) Tree D is a possible option to consider. To find their contact detail, look in the Palau Visitors Authority website.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WeeKee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penang, Malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2010

I really enjoyed my time here.
The town centre is walking distance but all tour operations do hotel pick ups, so don't worry if you can't be bothered.
There's a supermarket right next door.

But this really is a budget hotel... just a bed, windows you can't open but some how mosquitos get through anyway. Not an amazing shower but it works.
Laundry is also very cheap too and you will need it because even if you rinse your clothes, the humidity in Palau will mean that they won't dry for days.

Its great if you're wanting a cheap hotel and Larry is incredibly friendly and helpful and works ridiculously hard, but like all Palauans, will help you with everything and anything, he even offered to lend us his car.

for $45 (+$5 tax) per night you can't get better on the island... although if you can afford up to $63 (incl tax) then I recommend the West Plaza hotels (particularly the By the Sea one)

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ltravel212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, MD
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2009

Incredible service. Lerma took care of all tourist type reservations and was a great help with international calls. For $45/ night inlcuding tax this was a great value.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jceby2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Koror hotels
0.4 mi away
Palasia Hotel Palau
Palasia Hotel Palau
#9 of 29 in Koror
239 reviews
0.5 mi away
Palau Central Hotel
Palau Central Hotel
#6 of 29 in Koror
27 reviews
2.5 mi away
Airai Water Paradise Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Palau Royal Resort
Palau Royal Resort
#2 of 29 in Koror
438 reviews
2.1 mi away
COVE Resort Palau
COVE Resort Palau
#3 of 29 in Koror
65 reviews
1.1 mi away
DW Motel
DW Motel
#8 of 29 in Koror
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palau Sunny Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palau Sunny Garden Hotel

Property: Palau Sunny Garden Hotel
Address: 1926 Main Street, Koror, Koror Island 96940, Palau (Formerly Navigator Inn & Apartments)
Region: Palau > Koror Island > Koror
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Koror
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Palau Sunny Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palau Sunny Garden Hotel Koror, South Pacific

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing