We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Japanese Owned - Nice Mish-Mash of Japanese and Local Food”
Review of Mogmog

Mogmog
Ranked #16 of 56 Restaurants in Koror
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Reservations
Midwest
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Japanese Owned - Nice Mish-Mash of Japanese and Local Food”
Reviewed 9 February 2014

This is about as Japanese as I could find in Koror. The other restaurant I tried listed on their street side menu: edamae, sake, ... but had none. Mogmog's Japanese food quality was equal to what you find in the middle of nowhere USA: better than McDonalds, the chef is not Japanese, and disappointing compared to the average in Japan.

The food was good not stellar, the wait staff was numerous, polite, but uncoordinated. Nobody is "your waiter" just sumimasen to the nearest one and place your request.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rasillon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    61
    53
    13
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“VERY DISAPPOINTING”
Reviewed 19 January 2014

had a terrible experience with this restaurant.

suggested by our hotel local driver, we walk in with no reservation for dinner one night.
we heard that we can have good seafood here, turn out totally opposite.

at first we would like to other coconut crab, but maybe its not in season so no coconut crab, only 2 mangrove crab is leave and the bigger 1 has only 1 crawl (1 missing).

Fish don't really look too fresh as well they just pale it in a ice box, not decent to me at all.

so we only order a tuna sashimi (which is also not fresh), a clam sashimi (which don't taste good) a avocado with tuna (only good dish), a coke and a coconut shake. finish them and get out of there and go to a sushi bar bar nearby (sushi bar MITO)

P.S. the service of the waitress is even worse than the taste of the food, if u are not JAPANESE or don't speak JAPANESE, skip this restaurant.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wallace315
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falls Church, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
273 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Nice, popular restaurant with fresh seafood”
Reviewed 4 October 2013

MogMog serves up very solid Palauan and Japanese fare in a nice setting. I had the fish and it was very tasty although the portion was on the smallish side.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank skink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Good Place to get Local Food”
Reviewed 2 June 2013

Mog Mog serves primarily Japanese food with local specialties, such as mangrove crab and giant clam. It is one of the only places we came across where you can get the giant clam (several preparation options). They also serve a nice pasta with local clams, and fruit bat (if you're feeling brave). The Japanese dishes are standard and nothing particularly special. We recommend it for trying local dishes, though some of the dishes are a bit pricy.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PoorestTourists
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noumea, New Caledonia
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Seafood and fairy lights”
Reviewed 24 May 2013

I reluctantly went here but was pleasantly surprised. It has a Christmassy feel with fairy lights inside and out and green and red table cloths. This place is very popular with Asian clients and served very good sashimi, fresh fish and tempura. The waitress to client ratio was high so service was speedy.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Globetrotter767
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mogmog also viewed

Koror, Koror Island
Koror, Koror Island
 
Koror, Koror Island
Koror, Koror Island
 

Been to Mogmog? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing