We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Edge of Paradise” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Carp Island Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Koror
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Carp Island Resort
Ranked #11 of 30 Hotels in Koror
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Edge of Paradise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2014

Incredible views of the ocean, friendly staff always very helpful! It's paradise on Earth!!! Carp Island is a very special place with lots of things to do, I went kayaking and did some of the best snorkeling ever.
Highly recommended!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank diegoAdalton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    32
    19
    7
    3
See reviews for
14
44
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vienna
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2013

If you are looking for a small, intimate dive centre away from the crowds on the main island - this is the place you want to go. All dive hot spots can be reached easily by speed boat. The scenery is amazing, the resort is pretty, although it needs some make over. But what makes it so outstanding is the staff. Everybody is so friendly and goes out of their way to make it an unforgettable stay for their guests. Complaints are being taken seriously, when I complained about the food, the next day we had a much better lunch box. It's in my opinion the only place in Palau where you get that tropical island feeling. And again: The staff is outsanding!!!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fritztravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2013

I´v being wanting to go Palau (Micronesia) for longest time. Its something about the remoteness and mystery of small forgotten places. What I found was a great diving island (Carp Island resort) and most welcoming people. Superb snorkelling from stone throw away from the island (Manta´s, pristine coral, turtles, lots of fishes etc).

Carp Island is located with upmost perfect location, right next to Palau´s best diving spots (Blue hole, blue corner, german channel etc).
If you ever consider going to Palau, this is your Base!.

Thank You Carp Island.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Masterdreamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2013

Besides the amazing scenery, staying here was my favorite! the staff is so nice! this is HEAVEN! my first experience in scuba diving and felt very safe! they ring a bell when food is ready :) so cute! relaxing vacation and just nice!!!

Room Tip: only on one side of the Island gets windy, so if you get hot at night request that area, otherwise t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarai S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canton of Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2012

hallo I went to Carp Island this last summer for ten days and I would like to share my impressions.
1. the island is nice but not so nice as reported in the website.
2. the price is quite expensive for what you get. Be aware that the bungalows do not have a mosquito net....being the island famous for its mosquitos....expect some visitors in the night!!!
3. there is no coral reef around the island so if you want to snorkel you always have to take the boat
4. the island resort is very basic even if it is almost 20y old. So forget to find a confortable sun bed to read a book outside. There are few very uncomfortable ones that all the guests have to share.
5. they proud herself to be a 'robinson's island'....pity that the prices are not really 'robinson!!!'
5. the food is poor quality food for the price you pay.
6. the personell very nice.
At the end I suggest to stay in Koror where you can find cheapest accomodations and can have a wider choice of diving places while from Carp they bring you always to the same places.
Raffaella

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
17 Thank fellacina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tumon, Mariana Islands
Level Contributor
82 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2012

I went there for lunch only as part of my tour. It was a nice island. It had beach kayaks. (I did not use them.) It had hammocks. (They were too short for me. I am 5'5" tall.) They had plenty of pavilions. It rained during our lunch, but the pavilions kept us nice and dry.
Getting off the boat and stepping onto the dock was a little difficult. You just have to be careful. I walked on the jungle trail. About a 35 minute walk one way, you can get to Yapeese Stone money. I did not have enough time to make it all the way though. The jungle was very cool looking though on the part that I did go on.
They had flush toilets and running water to wash your hands. No soap, but hand sanitizer was provided.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessica A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2012

Drawbacks : Most of the staff stays on the main island so you have no other choice than joining the 7H30 am boat to reach the island and leave with the 15H. There are no decision maker on the island so it is hard to have flexibility. The "resort" is not made for snorkelers. Joining the divers is too expensive (65US, even if you are joining your family) and the diving spots are too deep for snorkeling so you just have the 40mn in between the two dives. One of the boat driver was very grumpy and it darkened a bit our day to the rocky island (which I recommend by the way). Not all the staff speaks english, so start practicing your japanese. Price of the room was expensive as they charge extra for the children. The big bungalows have no way to open the windows (like mosquito nets) to get air at night and there is no AC. (The other rooms have some)
Advantages : the island offers amazing views on the blue see and great sceneries. You really feel cut from the rest of the island. The island is close to the diving spots. Food was good and in good quantity and variety for an island (just don't miss the bell as there are some hungry divers out there). The staff was mostly friendly. The dive master was excellent and the diving gear was good (but with limited choice).
On paiement we had a surprise discount which was welcome considering the overall budget. The children had a good discount on boat fares, and food.

Room Tip: Expect something basic. The suite have two nice terraces and two queen beds. There is space for an e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ChineseTea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Koror hotels
1.6 mi away
Palau Royal Resort
Palau Royal Resort
#2 of 30 in Koror
4.0 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
0.1 mi away
Palasia Hotel Palau
Palasia Hotel Palau
#8 of 30 in Koror
3.5 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
0.1 mi away
Airai Water Paradise Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Palau Paradise Hotel
Palau Paradise Hotel
#5 of 30 in Koror
4.5 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sea Passion
Sea Passion
#18 of 30 in Koror
3.5 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
0.4 mi away
West Plaza by the Sea
West Plaza by the Sea
#17 of 30 in Koror
3.5 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carp Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carp Island Resort

Property: Carp Island Resort
Address: PO Box 5, Koror, Koror Island 96940-0005, Palau
Region: Palau > Koror Island > Koror
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Koror
#3 Best Value Hotel in Koror
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Koror
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Carp Island Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Carp island Resort is on private island in Palau. Many beaches. Only 23 bungalows, with views of the sea. Only 10 minutes from the main diving sites. Quiet and nice. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Carp Island Hotel Koror
Carp Island Resort Palau/Koror, South Pacific

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing