We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good base to explore Palau”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Airai Water Paradise Hotel & Spa
Ranked #14 of 30 Hotels in Koror
Reviewed 9 April 2014

We are a family of four, girl of 13 and boy of 10. We looked at Palau and hotel reviews carefully before settling on Airai. Palau is all about excursions so we knew we would not be in the hotel much and so did not need luxury.

First the good - the hotel has a teak, continental decor with interesting storyboards in the lounge. The breakfast is decent if unspectacular. The pool and waterslides were good fun, especially as we had the whole thing to ourselves. We ate in the restaurant one night and were pleasantly surprised by the decent grub. The staff are friendly and offer up lots of smiles.

The bus runs to 'town' (basically, a few shops and restaurants) does not take too long.

Not so good - the musty smell many reviews report is quite evident. The place is feeling its age and looks quite worn and creaky in places. I went down for a nightcap to the bar one night at 10:30 PM and was told it was closed. Apparently no one was able to open the fridge three feet from us and sell me a can of beer. Free wifi only in the lobby and a poor connection at that. The bus does not run frequently, and has to be booked an hour in advance (but, many of the restaurants run their own shuttle service to the hotel).

Overall, we feel we made the right choice. The price was reasonable and spent most of our time away from the hotel, so it was just a place to put our head down at night. The Palau excursions were great and we would go back.

One small complaint - we had a standard room, which apparently meant the balcony had no table or chairs. I asked for one, and got a small hard bench and chair. I like to sit out on my balcony with a drink at the end of the day on holiday, so that was a disappointment - I have never seen a resort hotel with no balcony furniture before (the more expensive rooms had it though...).

In sum, a value-for-money basic resort hotel that is fine for a short stay.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank tpdv21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (149)
There are newer reviews for Airai Water Paradise Hotel & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

31 - 37 of 149 reviews

Reviewed 17 March 2014

The restaurant was ok for my tastes. The main regular pool was well maintained but the beach style pool have slightly green water. I believe this may be due to the fact the the cement slide leading into it is covered in algae. The room we stayed in was the honeymoon suite and it had a HUGE balcony overlooking the rear of the property. The room was a bit better than average. The service at the place was very good. Location seemed good for our agenda but there were not many places within walking distance. The shuttle service makes up for that and it not overly expensive.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kytsrfr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

The hotel looks old and not very clean, but rooms are acceptable, fine for night before or after the airport. The worst suprise was the swiming pool that is on all pictures as the main highlight of the hotel, it was partially closed with the water really dirty and that was 11 of February, peak season. Room did not had even see views
Generally a hotel to avoid except for airport conections.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jordi_co
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2014

We are currently staying at this hotel for 12 nights. This is our third morning and second morning with cold showers.
Their swimming pool is really cute as it has been made to look like a beach although access to the ocean is miles away.
No elevator and stairs are not evenly spaced. I did a face plant first time up carrying my luggage. After that, I watch the stairs closely when I use them.
Palau is incredible and I highly recommend seeing this gorgeous archipelago in Micronesia, halfway between Guam and the Philippines.
Staff are friendly.

Room Tip: No elevator and stairs are not equally spaced so I recommend that you ask for a ground floor room.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Betty G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2013

The hotel is nicely situated, nearby the airport. The hotel has a big entrance hall and a restaurant that seems a little bit old and not of this time anymore. The rooms are clean and okay, the people are nice and the swimmingpool is okay. But the food was Aziatic orientated, that means as an European like I am, you have to help yourself by finding another place and thats a pitty.
Furthermore Palau isn't an island were you should be when you're not a diver, because there is not much to see, I rented a car and in 2 days i've seen everything that there was to see, when you go of the main road, the roads were very bumpy, but on the other hand quite nice.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank André de R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2013

This hotel turned out to be better than I had expected. It was a long way from downtown and ok if you had a car. The hotel had a free shuttle for down town and for airport pickup and drop offs.
The hotel itself is a very tired building and needs a good paint job and internal renovations.
Our room was on the third floor and with steep stairs and no elevator to get us there we were getting fit. The room was clean with an odd configuration with a step and platform to get to the wardrobe, which one had to be mindful of.
The bathroom had been renovated not that very long ago, it was clean with a lot of hot water. The air conditioner worked well.
Our breakfasts we ok and changed most days..
The hotel surroundings were well maintained the pools in excellent condition. There was no access to the beach but from our room we had a good view of the ocean, the view was spectacular.
Staff were friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Our room was 326 excellent views from here. The room was quiet.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Helen N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013 via mobile

Terrible standard.Dingy hotel with no access to the sea. Insects running around in the rooms, air conditioning is not decontaminated and smells, as well as carpets. Moldy shower. We booked over the internet and this fool us ... keep away from them!

Stayed: October 2013
3  Thank AsiaJa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Koror hotels
4.6 mi away
Palau Royal Resort
Palau Royal Resort
#2 of 30 in Koror
447 reviews
3.0 mi away
Palasia Hotel Palau
Palasia Hotel Palau
#9 of 30 in Koror
241 reviews
3.0 mi away
Palau Central Hotel
Palau Central Hotel
#4 of 30 in Koror
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Garden Palace Downtown Koror
0.0 mi away
Palau Vacation Hotel
Palau Vacation Hotel
#18 of 30 in Koror
7 reviews
3.2 mi away
Palau Paradise Hotel
Palau Paradise Hotel
#6 of 30 in Koror
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Airai Water Paradise Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Airai Water Paradise Hotel & Spa

Address: PO Box 8067, Koror, Koror Island 96940-0871, Palau
Region: Palau > Koror Island > Koror
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Koror
Price Range: £80 - £122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Airai Water Paradise Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
*Antique Palaun Castle 2010 Whole New Renovation--The most traditional hotel with the newest facilities! The largest Story Board and the magnificent history exhibition highlight the cultural wonder of the paradise.*Largest Water Park--720 degree slide, speedy slide, spa pools and Olympic pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Airai Water Paradise Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Airai Water Paradise Hotel And Spa
Airai Water Paradise Hotel Koror
Airai Water Paradise Hotel & Spa Palau/Koror, South Pacific

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing