We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great for short stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
West Plaza by the Sea
Ranked #14 of 29 Hotels in Koror
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
37 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great for short stay!”
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Stayed one night prior to a dive trip. Arrived late in the night, the room was ready, clean, and comfortable. Perfect to catch up on sleep after a very long flight. This place is nothing fancy but perfect for the one night stay we needed.

Since we arrived so late, they allowed us to have a late check out. We ate breakfast at the restaurant and it was fine. The staff was very friendly and allowed us to store our luggage after we had to check out while we wondered around before we were picked up by our tour operator.

Recommend for a one night stay, but not a multi-night stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank acj1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3
    52
    25
    9
    2
See reviews for
8
26
17
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Quezon City, Philippines
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2013

Since this was a dive trip, we really didn't stay most of our day in the hotel. It was homey for most of us because a lot of their staff are Filipinas. The rooms are clean, but they do not really clean the rooms everyday, except if you request them to clean it. The location is near the museum, and downtown. I personally liked the idea that we can see the sea/ocean when we go outside of our rooms :)

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yzQaLo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
84 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2013

Remember that you are in Koror. Not tons of choices. There are a few much more expensive places that cater primarily to the Japanese. This hotel is staffed completely with Filipino's, the worker bees of the islands. All very friendly and respectful. The rooms are super clean and basic. A couple channels on the TV and rock hard beds. The restaurant is pretty good and open until 10pm. Wifi in the lobby and the restaurant only. Not free, have to buy a card. 2 hours for $5. Think dial up speed. A little off the beaten path. I was only here for a couple nights but wouldn't want to stay a week if vacationing.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike_in_Tampa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Charles, Illinois
Level Contributor
87 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2013

We had to stay at West Plaza by the Sea a couple of nights until our rooms at Palau Pacific Resort were available. About all I can say is the place is cheap and the rooms seemed clean. It is a very dark and dreary place to stay so if you are going to have to stay there plan on not spending too much time at the hotel. We ate breakfast at the restaurant located in the hotel, not bad except for one meal I had was served with a hair in it. They corrected it right away so things like that can happen anywhere. We had a Deluxe room...not sure what that meant. You cant drink the water out of the tap so you have to buy water downstairs at the front desk, usually I would expect bottled water to be provided when the tap water isn't potable. Nice thing was we were close enough to town to walk to restaurants at night.

Room Tip: Dont have any expectations.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Koror hotels

colorado
Level Contributor
90 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2012

This hotel isn't fancy, but since we were there to be in the ocean the whole time, it was great. It is convenient to walking downtown or to restaurants. The room was large and kept clean. It was quiet for sleeping. Front desk was helpful and responded quickly to requests. Totally adequate for a stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank terry21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2012

My husband and I stayed here for 2 weeks while on a scuba diving holiday. This property worked out very well for us. We had a deluxe room, which was large and with a kitchenette. Bathroom had a tub & shower, and lots of toiletries were included. We had a sea view, and the location, on a quiet peninsula, was peaceful. Town, with restaurants and grocery shopping, was a 15 minute walk away. There were common terraces with tables, overlooking the water on either side of the hotel. Staff was extremely friendly and accommodating in every way.

Room Tip: There are a variety of rooms; we enjoyed having the kitchenette after a busy day of diving.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DayDiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oceanside, California
Level Contributor
68 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2012

We waited too late to obtain lodging at any of the resorts and were a little worried about what we would find when we got to the WP by the Sea. Fortunately we were pleasantly suprised. While definitely not in the same class as a newer hotel nor a resort, it fit our needs perfectly.

The staff was super friendly and always willing to help us with directions, taxis, and suggestions for food and shopping. We stayed in the Penthouse and there are only two rooms on that floor (the 4th). Our room was HUGE with a really big semi-covered patio. The patio had outside lights, but unfortunately no furniture. The bed is only a full size and there is a futon bed in the living area. We had a fridge, stove top and kitchen sink which made breakfast easy. The bathroom was really big with a jacuzzi tub. The room also had a lot of storage space that is nice for people staying awhile.

There is wireless internet available in the lobby; you must buy an access card (they are sold in increments of $5/2hr or $10/4hr). The internet on Palau is REALLY slow, so don't plan on doing gaming or graphics. We were there to dive, so this did not bother us at all.

The location was perfect for us. It was only a short walk to the middle of downtown and all the shops without being right in the middle of the town. And if you want to snorkel, the end of the road was pretty nice. If you are missing your "coffee shop" fix.. up the road on the main street is a nice coffee shop, only about 3 blocks or so.

Okay.. now drawbacks:

There is not an elevator, so if you do not like stairs.. pick a ground floor or 2nd floor room. There IS a luggage elevator though, so you do not have to haul gear or luggage upstairs.. just yourself.

When we made our reservations, we were not told that the restaurant was closed for renovations. If our room had not been equipped with the fridge and stovetop, this would have caused a major problem for us. They did offer a free shuttle to one of their other locations that had a restaurant, but that would make for a REALLY early morning. If you don't want to cook, make sure that the dive shop you are going through offers breakfast.

The only negative about the room was that the floors could have been cleaner.

Room Tip: If you need an elevator, don't stay here or stay on the 1st floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank xanaduyas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Koror hotels
1.7 mi away
Palau Royal Resort
Palau Royal Resort
#2 of 29 in Koror
4.0 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
0.4 mi away
Palasia Hotel Palau
Palasia Hotel Palau
#9 of 29 in Koror
3.5 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
2.8 mi away
Airai Water Paradise Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Garden Palace Downtown Koror
2.0 mi away
West Plaza Malakal
West Plaza Malakal
#16 of 29 in Koror
3.5 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
0.5 mi away
Palau Paradise Hotel
Palau Paradise Hotel
#4 of 29 in Koror
4.5 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West Plaza by the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Plaza by the Sea

Property: West Plaza by the Sea
Address: PO Box 280, Koror, Koror Island 96940-0280, Palau
Region: Palau > Koror Island > Koror
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Kitchenette Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Koror
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — West Plaza by the Sea 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Features 36 rooms overlooking the ocean lagoon and nearby islands. Rooms range from standard class to deluxe rooms with kitchenettes, and a penthouse suite on the roof deck with a large private veranda, whirlpool bath, kitchenette, and plenty of spacious living area. West Plaza By the Sea also features the Red Rooster Cafe. The cafe offers a wide selection of Japanese Cuisine, open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. The nightly happy hour features Palau's only locally brewed beer on tap, Red Rooster Draft. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your West Plaza by the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West Plaza By The Sea Hotel Koror
West Plaza By The Sea Palau/Koror, South Pacific

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing