We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent choice at center of town”
Review of Penthouse Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Koror
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Penthouse Hotel
Ranked #13 of 30 Hotels in Koror
Reviewed 14 March 2013

It is not Palau Pacific, but also less than half the price and much more convenient right at the center of Koror. It is a fine hotel with all the basics covered. Unit 200 is the most unique room in a relatively secluded location with its own frig and kitchen. Request it if available!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nanjingren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (70)
There are newer reviews for Penthouse Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 70 reviews

Reviewed 22 December 2012

If you ask for a few hours late check out you will be charged $60 without notification. Also, beware that they will try and get away with an early check in scam by charging you an extra day. This is the treatment we got after staying six days in a hotel that was largely empty when we arrived and when we departed. They need to treat customers as valued guests and not as walking wallets to be siphoned.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank OceanicToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2012

Koror is blessed with some of the best hotels in the Pacific Islands region, including two resorts. If those are full, or if you are on a budget, then I suppose you could consider the Penthouse. Overall, this dingy place is appointed with wobbly wooden tables, chairs, bumpy mattresses and pillows. Its dark hallways, corners and nooks should make your sense of security go on red alert. The in-knob lock on your room door does nothing to improve this situation, and your sense that someone simply pushing the door hard could break-in while you slept is correct. Massage parlors in the hotel's environs do not help. One partied until 3am or so my first night, its sound system enough to make any disco proud, and my room shake.

Each room does have a small AC unit, although mine was not strong enough to cool the bathroom at the other end of the room. Cable TV and internet are free. My room reeked of cigarette smoke. Free coffee and tea can be brewed in the bathroom.

The attached (Chinese) restaurant is "okay". They were gracious enough to let me order stir-fried vegetables off-menu. The result was "fine".

Airport pick-up/drop-off was nice, although I had to search a bit for the driver when I arrived. He was on the far side of the arrival hall, away from the exit from customs, away from the other hotel/resort drivers.

Overall, if the other resorts/hotels are full or if you are on a budget then the Penthouse will be "okay" - but nothing more. I have rated the location as "terrible" due to proximity to the massage parlors and noise. The Penthouse is central to the little center of town, but so is the nearby Palasia Hotel, which is much nicer. You can save money staying here - maybe $20-$50 per night. The staff are friendly, but this is not a family vacation hotel, nor a business person's hotel. It's something else.

Room Tip: Scuttlebutt has it that the third floor has new mattresses.
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SuvaExpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2012

I've stayed further out of town before in prior visits in more resort-y hotels but found this the Penthouse to absolutely perfect for my needs. Overall - It's convenient, the staff is helpful and nice, the restaurant is great. I probably wouldn't get another pedicure in the attached salon again, though. It is usually filled with UN, NGO, students, and consultants.

Room 307 - The rooms are clean. Although I was a little worried because the carpeting on the stairs heading up to the third floor were filthy! Probably from shoes and scuba gear being hauled up and down. My bedspread was changed 3 times in 10 days, so you know even the bed covers get cleaned regularly - Not usual in a value hotel. The TV gets the same 5-10 channels they all get, sports, news and Sony & Warner TV. And the AC in my room was great, which you're going to need in Palau. There is a large closet and regular sized bathroom with a tub and shower. My room had a mini-fridge and a hotpot. The view from the front of the hotel, third floor even has a sliver of an ocean view.

Hotel - There was a microwave down in a common room on the second floor (room 201) , which also housed a treadmill and a non-operational vending machine. There is a laundry with a washer & dryer, ($1.50 each). Not much of a workout room, if that matters. Food in the restaurant was quite good, although I'd pass on the burger - a little dry & overcooked. I had the House breakfast most mornings, fried rice, over-easy egg & sausage. The basic green salad was always fresh and loaded with cucumbers and other veggies. When they had lettuce, that is. It is very popular with locals. The bakery provides cookies & cakes for events & family functions. I brought some cookies home for my family - they were great!

Location- Perfect, right in the middle of town, across a parking lot and the main road from the WCTC - which has a drugstore, grocery and mini-walmart (called Ben Franklin), 1/2 block from Surangel's grocery. It's also near a plenty of good restaurants.

If you're in the market for a value-priced room to sleep in (especially for 10+ days) and not looking for a fancy resort, this place is perfect.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cassyt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2012

Penthouse is located in the center of Koror right across the Town Mall. It's a convenient Hotel for those who love to eat where restaurats are just a walk away, whether it be Japanese cusine, Korean, Asian or local favorites like BEM ERMI a burger spot that I highly reccomend. I've stayed in The Penthouse and ate at the restaurant located in the lobby area i got to say their food was awsome. My stay at the Penthouse was a great experience being that the staff members were so friendly, my family and i enjoyed it so much that a return to the hotel is a guarantee on our next visit.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KKKKEL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2012

I have stayed at the Penthouse 3 times now and it is simply a really good hotel for business travelers. The rooms are large and the beds are really comfortable. The rooms are also spotlessly clean. The hotel is very centrally located and is just minutes walk from stores and restaurants. They recently raised their prices but I still stay there. There is a small exercise room. There is free wireless internet which works adequately. The restaurant is not the best but they do room service which is convenient. Staff are friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Large rooms with king size bed at the front of the hotel
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Simon826
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2012

hotel is in a good location, reception is gentle but not "warm". Definately the most comfortable bed I've ever slept on!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melissa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Koror hotels
0.0 mi away
Palasia Hotel Palau
Palasia Hotel Palau
#9 of 30 in Koror
241 reviews
0.0 mi away
Palau Hotel
Palau Hotel
#10 of 30 in Koror
7 reviews
0.0 mi away
Palau Royal Resort
Palau Royal Resort
#2 of 30 in Koror
448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Airai Water Paradise Hotel & Spa
0.0 mi away
Palau Paradise Hotel
Palau Paradise Hotel
#6 of 30 in Koror
100 reviews
0.0 mi away
Garden Palace Downtown Koror
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Penthouse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Penthouse Hotel

Address: P.O. Box 6013, Koror, Koror Island 96940-0841, Palau
Region: Palau > Koror Island > Koror
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Koror
Price Range: £56 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 23
Also Known As:
Penthouse Hotel Koror
Penthouse Hotel Palau/Koror, South Pacific

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing