We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great day rooms after diving” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cliffside Hotel Palau

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cliffside Hotel Palau
Ranked #26 of 30 Hotels in Koror
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great day rooms after diving”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013

We booked the Cliffside after coming off the Tropic Dancer for a week. The staff was really friendly, the rooms were ready at 9 am and were clean and nice. The a/c was great, free bottled water and very slow wifi in the lounge only. We had a great dinner at their restaurant and enjoyed the free pass to Palau Pacific Resort facilities in the afternoon and the Cliffside pool and bar afterward. I recommend this for a short stay and definitely for a day room. This is not on the beach, but does have a sweeping view of the bay.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Scuba_Sensei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    30
    17
    9
    8
See reviews for
9
30
11
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level Contributor
133 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2013

If we had an unlimited vacation budget, we'd stay at Palau Pacific Resort (PPR). But, we don't. Cliffside is the best possible alternative. We stayed on their summer special pricing, which included a rental car, and that was a great way to get around the island ourselves. It also includes a free shuttle to and from the airport (you get the rental car at the hotel). The price includes free passes for each day to PPR's beach for 2 people, which if you were to buy it, costs $50 per person per day. We thought having these passes was a great feature, and we used them each day we were there. The beach at PPR is great, the best on Palau, and has really good snorkeling right off of the beach (we saw an octopus, tons of kinds of starfish, giant clams, lots of fish, etc).

The service at Cliffside is good--the only issue was scheduling our airport transfer which caused some confusion. We had room service from the restaurant one of the nights, and it was pretty good, but we liked being able to drive to places around the island, and having the car is really the best way to do that. If you don't have the car, you are much more limited with restaurant choice. See our other reviews for recommended restaurants. The hotel has free wifi in the lobby only, and also a computer in the lobby which you can use. We stayed in the cheapest room with no balcony but it was a nice size. The rooms are basic, not luxurious, but we spent most of our time out of the room swimming at the beach at PPR anyway (and of course Jellyfish Lake)! There is a mini-fridge in the room which is nice.

We can't wait to go back to Palau and wouldn't stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PoorestTourists
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chino hills, ca
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2013

We stayed for two nights, May 10 and May 11, 2013. Arrived late, 9pm Friday night. Greeted by front desk staff..no problems checking in. All went very smoothly. Checked in room. Weak air conditioner and quickly moved to another room. Very clean and basic room. During the night, the air conditioner sound like it was going to fall apart or just explode. After breakfast, I informed staff of the A/C noises. Without question, I was moved to another room. Excellent customer service. Danielle at the Front Desk, Sharrise, F/B supervisor, Kelau at the bar and Anson, the cook. Thank you all for making my stay pleasant.
The Cliffside hotel is a clean basic hotel. The pool was stunningly clean and felt great to swim in. The view from the room is fine. It is a view of mountains and ocean/sea. I did use the the pass to the PPR and the shuttle service to the PPR.
Regarding the food...breakfast is breakfast.....Dinner was tuna and it was cooked great. A lot of food comes on the plate.
As I write this review on May 25, 2013, I still have NOT received three postcards I bought at the hotel and paid for the postage. Front desk staff said they would be mailed on the 13th of May. I left the hotel the afternoon of the 12th. Hopefully, it is just a long mail service or maybe someone forgot to mail the postcards. Sure hope the postcards were mailed.

Room Tip: bottom floor rooms seem more spacious Check A/C unit before settling into room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank scubajim1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2013 via mobile

I heard it belongs to the landlord of where palau pacific resort is located, this is why they offer a free pass to PPR. Prices are better than others considering it offers shuttle from to the airport, scheduled free shuttle to PPR. Free breakfast included, but Food isn't good. If you go diving I think this is a good option, as you won't need to be there a lot of time and if any spare time can go to PPR. Service is ok, you can see they are making a big effort to polish it. We arranged a tour to north of the island in our last day and the manager really made a great effort to find a knowledgeable person to take us around. Price was also good for this, we were 100% satisfied with the service.

Hotel facilities are a little bit run down, I think it needs some improvement. Rooms are big, some with a nice balcony. Bathrooms are older and a little smaller. It still was clean.bed isn't that comfortable and not very big. I think I would stay here again if the bed and breakfast are improved. I liked the location, and service were ok. Of course don't expect anything amazing, because price is much lower than others.

Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank ad2828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2013 via mobile

Good hotel for divers. Staff are nice and room was large and clean. Food is a miss - better off going to town, lots of good stuff there. The pool at Cliffside has been taken over by the locals, very noisy and not a good atmosphere. Beware taxi drivers who claim the $7.00 ride town is per person - what an obvious attempt to rip off tourists. Wireless is non existent except when the moon is full! Overall Cliffside is basic but good.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank moshuman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2013

We stayed here for four nights right around Christmas time. One of the biggest advantages of staying here is that you are within a half mile walk of PPR and the Cliffside will give you a voucher to use PPR for the day each day you are there (without the voucher, you will pay $50 a day PER PERSON to use the beach at PPR). The other great quality of the Cliffside is the genuinely warm and helpful staff. Our room (4th floor) was okay, nothing special. The shower never got really hot, though it wasn't a big problem given the tropical climate. Great views from the room and from the restaurant. The bed was a little soft for me, and the pillows were flat as pancakes. They should go and check out the pillows at the Airai Water Paradise Hotel, because those were very comfortable. They must have satellite TV at the Cliffside, because there were tons of channels on the television. Breakfast came with the room and was simple, but quite good and thoughtfully prepared. Good coffee. We also enjoyed eating dinner there. The lasagna was delicious. The hotel has a charming little pool and bar area across the street and up the hill. We didn't use it, but it looked inviting. There was a large, LOUD party there Christmas Eve, but the way the hotel is designed (rooms facing the view on the other side of the building), we didn't hear a sound from the party, though it was really loud if you walked out the front door of the hotel. Given the voucher use of PPR, I would highly recommend the Cliffside which is about a third of the cost of the PPR.

Room Tip: We had two rooms. I chose to pay more for one room with a balcony, thinking that would be a nice pla...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tenzing58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silicon Valley, CA
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2012

This is a tough review given the different dimensions we experienced over our week diving in Palau. My ratings by dimension:

People 5: Most friendly, helpful, problem solving staff I can remember. Thank you to them all!

WiFi 2: It's there, it's free, but slow and often wouldn't let us on (guessing too many other guests trying to connect. This may be a deal breaker in the future.

Rooms 4: All tile, big, nice balcony though other guests could be a bit noisy moving chairs. Our room even had a large jet tub with its own area in the room (didn't try).

Location 3: it is a cab ride to other food, sites, and the shop (NECO Marine - is affiliated with the Ciffside) runs a clean, new set of shuttles to get you back and forth to the shop). Cabs are generally just 5 minutes away and $5-7 from place to place, but I like to be able to walk after a long day of diving. ... that said, the location (Cliffside) makes for great views of the water.

Pool ?: I never made it up to the pool bar (long days of diving), but others said it was nice. Could have been a good meeting place rather than the relatively small lobby.

Again, the people are awesome. Breakfast was tasty and quick, the blackened sashimi was also good.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EclecticE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Koror hotels
1.8 mi away
Palasia Hotel Palau
Palasia Hotel Palau
#8 of 30 in Koror
3.5 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
1.5 mi away
Palau Paradise Hotel
Palau Paradise Hotel
#5 of 30 in Koror
4.5 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
0.0 mi away
Palau Vacation Hotel
Palau Vacation Hotel
#14 of 30 in Koror
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Airai Water Paradise Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Palau Royal Resort
Palau Royal Resort
#2 of 30 in Koror
4.0 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
1.9 mi away
West Plaza by the Sea
West Plaza by the Sea
#17 of 30 in Koror
3.5 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cliffside Hotel Palau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cliffside Hotel Palau

Property: Cliffside Hotel Palau
Address: Koror, Koror Island 96940-0129, Palau
Region: Palau > Koror Island > Koror
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 30 Hotels in Koror
Hotel Class:3 star — Cliffside Hotel Palau 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Cliffside Hotel Palau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cliffside Hotel Koror
Cliffside Hotel Palau Koror, South Pacific

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing