We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise in Palau”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cliffside Hotel Palau
Ranked #24 of 29 Hotels in Koror
Prague, Czech Republic
Level 6 Contributor
287 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Paradise in Palau”
Reviewed 19 January 2014

Cliffside Hotel has free transport from/to airport about 20 minutes. Location is nearby town Koror and place is very quite. Hotel has restaurant, bar and swimming pool. Continental breakfast is including price. I reccommned tropical drink Blue Belau in this bar!
Swimming pool is good for relaxation. Hotel has agreement with Palau Pacific Resort. Transport is free. In the resort is beach and some water sport, perfect Sunday brunch and pool. But wifi is only for resort guest.
Cliffside Hotel has free wifi, but very slow. Price for quick wifi 3G is 10 USD per 5 hours.

Room Tip: Rooms 201-210 are in the ground floor. There is not lift!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JanJonas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    31
    17
    9
    8
See reviews for
10
30
11
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2014 via mobile

My husband stayed at Cliffside for a day between leaving our liveaboard and catching our flight home.

The pluses? The room was relatively clean, there's free (if slow) wifi in the lobby and they provide a day pass to Palau Pacific Resort.

The minuses? The hotel is very worn, there was no air conditioning in the lobby making the free wifi on a 45 Celcius day kind of moot, our bags were left in the lobby for us to carry up the three flights of stairs by ourselves, the shuttle to Palau Pacific Resort was 'out of service' that day, and the time for the shuttle to the airport ($5) was changed twice necessitating a last-minute mad dash to collect our things so we could make our flight.

We did make the trek to PPR on foot, which was well worth it, even in the heat. And, a word to the wise - find somewhere other than the hotel restaurant to eat. We had some exceptional food on our trip both before and during our liveaboard, but our last meal in Palau, at the lobby restaurant was inedible. My husband ordered the pasta and I ordered the bulgogi and BOTH of them contained so much sugar that we couldn't bring ourselves to choke the food down.

In closing, while our brief stay at Cliffside was, at best, sufficient for our needs for that one day, I would suggest those needing a longer stay look elsewhere.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jodie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Koror hotels

Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2014

My husband and I stayed at the hotel for three days after our liveaboard. The hotel was nice, it seemed a bit pricey for what you got, but then again everything on Palau is expensive. The best part about this hotel is your access to PPR's beach and outdoor activities. The room was clean, the air conditioning works, free bottled water, inexpensive restaurant in hotel,and shuttle service to PPR are the positives. We would stay here again if we came back to Palau.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lauren S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarasota, FL
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Cliffside Hotel prior to departing on a week long scuba trip and upon our arrival back. Service was friendly and efficient. Beds were so-so: A little hard and skimpy on the pillows and towels but upon request, we received more. Breakfast of corned beef hash was delicious!!! Outside pool and bar is lovely. Wifi in lobby worked but slow. Front desk staff very helpful on arranging car rental and airport transfers. AC did not work so well in 402 but in their defense, we did not complain until we left and staff was very apologetic. Request a lower floor if you have a lot of luggage as there is no elevator. We took a drive around the island, beautiful, easily a 2-3 hour drive. There are no restaurants on island except in Koror so plan accordingly. (There was a deli on north of island but closed Sundays! It was Sunday!) The Capitol building is worth a drive by and we heard the waterfalls were too all though we didn't find as map was not entirely user friendly.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank mlsearles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2013

We stayed here a few days before joining a live aboard boat and another day after the trip. We stayed in 2 different rooms, one was smaller but had been refurbished, the other was older but huge for the 2 of us. Comfortable beds and clean rooms though. Nice view over the islands, especially from the pool area and pool bar which was a great place to hang out. We ate most main meals at various restaurants around the town but the snacks we ate at the hotel were good. We would stay here again for a short stay. Service was good and all email correspondence prior to our trip was reliable.

Room Tip: Ask for a refurbished room as the bathrooms are a bit nicer than the older rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RLanWA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herndon, VA
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2013

After a week on the Aggressor liveaboard, we got a day room at the Cliffside Hotel. Well worth the money!

We were delivered here with our luggage and had a very large twin room for the three of us to hang out for the day before our 1:45am flight.

With the day room, you can get a pass to the Palau Pacific Resort. They are supposed to have a shuttle, but it was not available. We took a cab both ways - it was $2! We enjoyed wandering thru their grounds, especially their Orchid Greenhouse.

We enjoyed a laid-back dinner and drinks in Cliffside's bar - not feeling rushed at all.

It was just great to have a place to nap and shower before our marathon flight back to the East Coast of America. Around 11pm, they shuttled us to their airport along with two other guests. The shuttle was included in the price of the room.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fergusonjlf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

We stayed here for a week and found this to be a good, solid hotel for the price. While not a luxury hotel like the Palau Pacific Resort (PPR), the room was clean, the beds were moderately comfortable and linens clean. The AC unit worked well and wasn't too loud.

The view is spectacular, though not all room have balconies. And to bring it up a notch, the room rate includes access to the beach and facilities at the PPR! It is a short walk on a two lane road or a quick shuttle ride away.

The shinning stars of this location are the staff. From reservations, to the front desk, to the food services, to the shuttle drivers, all were friendly and intent on meeting your needs and wants. I will stay here the next time.

A couple of notes about Palau (not the Hotel).

Palau's water supply has had a few challenges recently and sometimes there is a boil order in effect. Check with front desk as they will know and they have bottled water.

Being a small remote Island, be prepared for internet speeds that will remind you of the days of dial-up modems. While the on-island network is high speed, the connect between the island and the internet is currently copper wire undersea cable and is a shared resource. For example a Facebook update with a picture in the States might take 3-4 seconds from your phone, here it could take up to a minute or longer. I expect that to get better as the island is exploring options like satellite and undersea fiber.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kirk J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Koror hotels
0.2 mi away
Sea Passion hotel
Sea Passion hotel
#15 of 29 in Koror
206 reviews
0.3 mi away
West Plaza Malakal
West Plaza Malakal
#19 of 29 in Koror
68 reviews
1.9 mi away
West Plaza by the Sea
West Plaza by the Sea
#18 of 29 in Koror
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Palau Royal Resort
Palau Royal Resort
#2 of 29 in Koror
438 reviews
1.2 mi away
West Plaza Desekel
West Plaza Desekel
#21 of 29 in Koror
54 reviews
0.0 mi away
Palau Vacation Hotel
Palau Vacation Hotel
#17 of 29 in Koror
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cliffside Hotel Palau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cliffside Hotel Palau

Property: Cliffside Hotel Palau
Address: Koror, Koror Island 96940-0129, Palau
Region: Palau > Koror Island > Koror
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 29 Hotels in Koror
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cliffside Hotel Palau 3.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your Cliffside Hotel Palau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cliffside Hotel Koror
Cliffside Hotel Palau Koror, South Pacific

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing