We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Refurb makes it good”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Solomon Kitano Mendana Hotel
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Honiara
The World
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“New Refurb makes it good”
Reviewed 30 November 2012

For Honiara this hotel it's pretty good. Newly refurbished rooms are clean and comfortable, although only the suites have a decent sized tv and use new linen. Internet is extra and the reception not good in some of the rooms, I had to sit either in the lobby or the restaurant outdoor area for connection.
A little disorganized at reception, as each time they charged me for the room, which had been pre-paid (but the staff accepted my word and changed the bill without fuss).
The restaurant bar service is slow, and often you'll have to ask for a drink a few times before getting it. Breakfast is very average and overpriced.
Again, for this region, this hotel is good, so remember where you are and the different standards to other parts of the world.

Room Tip: Definitely request a new room, the upper levels are better if you need internet. Breakfast at Lime...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Romy100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    61
    70
    40
    21
See reviews for
9
24
27
98
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
475 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 217 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2012 via mobile

I haven't stayed in the hotel but I've used it's Catalina dining room for both lunch and dinner. The food here is well-priced and the staff are very friendly and attentive. It is not a huge choice but the meals were good quality, although it seems that some items are sometimes not available.

Honiara has a limited number of restaurants. This one is worth visiting.

By the way, the hotel also has a really good shop that sells high-quality souvenirs (especially carved wood products) and some are just as cheap, if not cheaper, than those available in the local open-air markets. Well worth a visit.

Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank aberdeenangler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2012

Not a lot of choices and over priced. Great Japanese food at their Japanese restaurant so use that. Location excellent - on main drag. Make sure you request an upgraded room. Have been there many times and the staff are warm and friendly and welcoming.

Room Tip: Ask for an upgraded room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jam1150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2012

I enjoyed my stay at this hotel. I was fortunate enough to have one of the newly renovated rooms which was clean, modern and had a great view of the ocean.
I stayed at this hotel with a number of other business travellers who had separate rooms who had varying opinions of their rooms so I think there is a varying degree of quality of the rooms.
The pool area is clean and basic but was a comfortable place to have a beer after a long day with good views of the sea.
We had the buffet breakfast each morning which had a good selection of hot and cold breakfast foods that you would expect.
Staff were friendly and happy to assist.

Room Tip: Ask for a newly renovated room with ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kymbowats15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
59 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2012

I have been into this hotel several times and find it very comfortable and clean. Don't expect allot of 5 Star service however it is basic services. The sea View Rooms 3rd floor are as good as any in the city and have wonderfull views of the sea and the sunrise.

Room Tip: Try rooms 301-306
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dunnekk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monterey
Level Contributor
138 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2012

Over the last 20 years I have stayed here a number of times. Honiara doesn't have a lot of accommodations. Mendana has garden views, sea views, executive rooms, and suites. The price on all the rooms seems way too high to me. The suites, executive rooms, and sea view rooms have been redone and have a much more updated appearance. The garden view rooms are dated but functional. Be sure to check your room before unpacking. Some of the rooms do not have functional air conditioners. And some of the rooms do not have adequate water pressure for the toilet or the shower.

There are two restaurants. The food at both is good whether you like fish and chips or Thai green curry or sashimi. I thought the breakfast buffet (no ordering from the menu) was expensive so I opted to wait for the lunch menu when I could order ala carte.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the East wing of the building, the plumbing seems to work better on that side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 2mchfn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2012

I can't remember the name of the Japanese restaurant there, but the food there is really delicious. I lived in the Sols for six months and went there a few times for business meetings. Lovely sashimi, extremely fresh and good service. The hotel reception was always very friendly too, and the souvenir shop is lovely to visit.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank emma_jane10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Honiara
0.1 mi away
Heritage Park Hotel Honiara
0.2 mi away
King Solomon Hotel
King Solomon Hotel
#2 of 7 in Honiara
287 reviews
0.0 mi away
Honiara Hotel
Honiara Hotel
#4 of 7 in Honiara
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Sanalae Apartments
Sanalae Apartments
#3 of 7 in Honiara
22 reviews
0.0 mi away
Evis Resort at Nggatirana Island
0.6 mi away
Iron Bottom Sound Hotel
Iron Bottom Sound Hotel
#8 of 9 in Honiara
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Solomon Kitano Mendana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solomon Kitano Mendana Hotel

Property: Solomon Kitano Mendana Hotel
Address: Honiara, Guadalcanal Island, Solomon Islands
Region: Solomon Islands > Guadalcanal Island > Honiara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Honiara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Solomon Kitano Mendana Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Solomon Kitano Mendana Honiara
Solomon Kitano Mendana Hotel Solomon Islands/Honiara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing