We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay in executive suite” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Solomon Kitano Mendana Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Solomon Kitano Mendana Hotel
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Honiara
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great stay in executive suite”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2013

Just recently have stayed with a girl friend in one of the exectutive suites prior to her wedding which was also at the hotel. We had a lovely room on the second floor which looked out to sea, great size room with good bathroom which has a slat shutters which you can slide back and view the sea while in the bath!!. Lovely decor and a really comfortable bed. For Honiara this is one of the best places to stay. Staff were very helpful, would recommend the Japanese restaurant for dinning. The hotel did a great job on the wedding night, the venue was perfect for anywhere up to 200 guests, the hotel also did the catering which was excellent. I highly recommend the Honiara Hotel.

Room Tip: Try the executive suites 506 & 507 are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kelly-Solomons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    61
    68
    38
    21
See reviews for
9
24
27
94
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Burleigh Heads, Australia
Level Contributor
147 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2013 via mobile

This is robably the best hotel in Honiara but by international hotel standards it still has a way to go. The location is convenient in the heart of the CBD close to ANZ & Westpac and the National Museum. I would recommend the Japanese restaurant , that's very good. Otherwise the hotel is ok although the lighting in the rooms is a bit poor. If you can definitely try to get a room facing the sea and overlooking the swimming pool. The 'Garden' rooms are not as nice. In the context of the general conditions on the ground in Honiara then this hotel is doing a great job - striving to raise standards in what can be a chaotic and difficult operating environment. You should remember that Honiara is still very much a frontier town with all the challenges that entails. So yes if you are in Honiara I recommend this hotel but be realistic with your expectations!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JEAN MARC M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
73 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2013

The room itself was pretty good, especially when you consider that it is in Honiara. Our room had everything that we needed, it was clean and fairly new. We did not get many chanels on TV, however we always had BBC and CNN. There was a very strange banging noise though throughout the night (every night) that came from the roof somewhere and was extremely loud - woke us up in shock every time. No idea what it was, but it was a real let down for the hotel.
The food at the hotel wasn't the greatest. Breakfast especially was a let down. I say this because the people cooking the eggs didn't really know how to cook eggs. Scrambled eggs for example would take about 30 minutes to make, and would arrive half raw.
There is a Japanese restaurant at the hotel and this was excellent! The food there was fantastic! We ate there 4 out of 5 nights that we were at Mendana.
Also, the drinks menu at the hotel lists a number of cocktails that they serve - however everything we tried to order cocktails, we were told that they don't make them - either take them off the menu, or make them!
If you're going to Honiara, I would recommend this hotel, however be realistic with your expectations.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vessi D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2012

The hotel is one of two prime destinations downtown Honiara. The few new rooms at the waterfront section are modern and comfortable, but the many refurbished rooms are just average. There is no way to reserve a new room, as it seems “first come, first serve”.
Service is very friendly, but as everywhere in the country, still lacking consistency (e.g. towels removed but not changed). Food at the hotel is acceptable, but it is not the top place to eat. Overall, the hotel is as good as it gets, but it might certainly benefit the day it becomes part of a prime international hotel chain.

Room Tip: Try to get a new waterfront room (room numbers 501 - 514)
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CESLB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The World
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2012

For Honiara this hotel it's pretty good. Newly refurbished rooms are clean and comfortable, although only the suites have a decent sized tv and use new linen. Internet is extra and the reception not good in some of the rooms, I had to sit either in the lobby or the restaurant outdoor area for connection.
A little disorganized at reception, as each time they charged me for the room, which had been pre-paid (but the staff accepted my word and changed the bill without fuss).
The restaurant bar service is slow, and often you'll have to ask for a drink a few times before getting it. Breakfast is very average and overpriced.
Again, for this region, this hotel is good, so remember where you are and the different standards to other parts of the world.

Room Tip: Definitely request a new room, the upper levels are better if you need internet. Breakfast at Lime...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Romy100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
452 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2012 via mobile

I haven't stayed in the hotel but I've used it's Catalina dining room for both lunch and dinner. The food here is well-priced and the staff are very friendly and attentive. It is not a huge choice but the meals were good quality, although it seems that some items are sometimes not available.

Honiara has a limited number of restaurants. This one is worth visiting.

By the way, the hotel also has a really good shop that sells high-quality souvenirs (especially carved wood products) and some are just as cheap, if not cheaper, than those available in the local open-air markets. Well worth a visit.

Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank aberdeenangler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2012

Not a lot of choices and over priced. Great Japanese food at their Japanese restaurant so use that. Location excellent - on main drag. Make sure you request an upgraded room. Have been there many times and the staff are warm and friendly and welcoming.

Room Tip: Ask for an upgraded room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jam1150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Honiara
0.2 mi away
King Solomon Hotel
King Solomon Hotel
#1 of 7 in Honiara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
0.1 mi away
Heritage Park Hotel Honiara
0.4 mi away
Sanalae Apartments
Sanalae Apartments
#3 of 7 in Honiara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Honiara Hotel
Honiara Hotel
#4 of 7 in Honiara
3.0 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
0.0 mi away
Gizo Hotel
Gizo Hotel
#3 of 3 in Gizo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
0.0 mi away
Agnes Lodge
Agnes Lodge
#1 of 2 in Munda
3.5 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Solomon Kitano Mendana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solomon Kitano Mendana Hotel

Property: Solomon Kitano Mendana Hotel
Address: Honiara, Guadalcanal Island, Solomon Islands
Region: Solomon Islands > Guadalcanal Island > Honiara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Honiara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Solomon Kitano Mendana Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Solomon Kitano Mendana Honiara
Solomon Kitano Mendana Hotel Solomon Islands/Honiara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing