We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not The Best” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Solomon Kitano Mendana Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Solomon Kitano Mendana Hotel
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Honiara
Elanora, Australia
Level Contributor
106 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Not The Best”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2013

This hotel by western standards is well below par in pretty much every respect. The rooms are dingy and need a total refurbishment. Hot water often simply stops running as do the ancient air conditioners and believe me you need them in that climate.

Unfortunately the staff are verypoorly trained and the restaurant is very basic at best. The bar is a little behind the times and frequented mainly by locals attempting to sell timber licenses - mainly bogus.

A sad reflection on something that was obviously a much better hotel in days gone by.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jimkirk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    61
    68
    38
    21
See reviews for
9
24
27
94
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2013

Room was clean and bathroom well stocked with products. Apart from a bath-tub drain that didn't look like it could cope too well with high-pressure water, everything else functioned in the room. The room looked exactly like the picture on their website and the bathroom was well lit where the mirror also happened to be partially heated so you could still use it even after steaming up the room.

No bottled water/ drinks in the fridge which was a little surprising but bottled water was easy to get next door at the petrol station.

House-keeping staff there were helpful when I had trouble working out how to use the key for the first time and when I requested some bug spray.

Wifi didn't quite reach my room but is a little on the expensive side anyway should you need to access it. The phone didn't come with any instructions on how to dial out, what to press for reception etc.

You have to remind yourself that you are still in a developing country where power outages still occur and the generator kicks in to keep you comfortable.

Overall, it was a comfortable stay.

Room Tip: If choosing the Seaview East rooms try to request a room furtherest away from the generator and/or b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Selina T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013

This was the second trip to the Solomons with the purpose of Diving first time just blokes so quality wasn't overly important but it was acceptable
This year we took our wives so upgraded to east view ocean rooms after hassle on arrival and discussions with management we eventually got the rooms we had requested although one couple had to wait a day and two of the guys had to settle for one of the old rooms
These newly renovated rooms were very nice and except for the argument over the room cost on our bill at departure we were happy with what we had
I would stay there again but only in the new rooms
The Island night was well worth the cost as was the Japanese Restaurant but for breakfast I would recommend walking next door
The diving is brilliant and recommend Neil Yates @ Tulagi Dive for a great safe time

Room Tip: Eastern seaview is what I would suggest
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PeteNichols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

Not a great start to our holiday - let's see - the bed was broken, there was only one towel, our toilet stopped flushing and was not fixed when we asked, and the place was dirty - the dining room was not cleaned between dinner and breakfast the next day. The place seemed badly managed, with staff seeming like they didn't want to be there, and being badly trained (for example, they got drink orders wrong, did not serve cocktails, did not offer to carry bags, and reception tried to charge us for our accommodation for which we had pre-paid ). However the worst thing was that next door was a yachtclub with a VERY loud band that played until 3am. It sounded like it was playing on our balcony, it was so loud. Apparently this happens every weekend, which our agent neglected to tell us (won't be using them again!!).

Room Tip: Avoid Fridays and Saturdays
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JaneMacG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
132 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2013

I have not stayed here for some time, due to the condition of the place last time. Sadly, although I tried other hotels in Honiara they are either hugely expensive(Heritage Park) or under staffed (King Solomon).
So I had read some better reports about the Mendana and decided to give it another go. The overall condition of the hotel has improved a lot, the room was clean and comfortable. The wifi internet was good, and for me that is important!
Restaurant is OK. Same every day though, a limited lunch and dinner menu which is quite easy to go through in a one week stay! Food is well presented and very well cooked.
Staff are good and, mostly, helpful.
The only negative for me, was that there was no cold water in my room for the entire stay. I reported on my first day, that the cold water was only a dribble and that the cold water tap in my bathroom could not be turned off, so that dribble was constant 24 hours a day! To have a shower I had to turn the cold on full and the hot on about 3%and literally move around under the nozzle to get wet. Usually in the Pacific it is a lack of hot water that is common this is the first time I have ever come across a lack of cold water! After 6 days it still was not fixed and only after I filled out the customer form and handed it in on my departure did a manager come and ask what the problem was.
But in the overall scheme of things, for a Honiara hotel this is getting much better.
I had a "Garden View" room which should really be called Satellite Dish and Parking Lot view room :)

Room Tip: East wing "Seaview" are the newer rooms, West Wing and Garden View are older, stay away fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noumea, New Caledonia
Level Contributor
122 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2013 via mobile

I usually stay here when in Honiara. Which room you pick will be based on your budget but I have always gone for the so called Garden view rooms which actually overlook the car park. They are in dire need of a makeover (first to go would be the carpet, then the orange Formica in the bathroom - circa 1960, then the bed spreads, then the ailing air conditioning unit - hell why stop there - you may as well just gut the whole block and start again).
I like the reception area - it's full of promise, but sadly the rest disappoints.
The new wing which has ocean views has recently been finished so that's another option if you have 1350 Solomon Island dollars to part with.
I rarely eat here preferring to take a taxi over to the Honiara hotel and have the best steak in town.
Oh yes the internet, how could I forget - that would be 180 SBD for 24 hours - an utter rip off. On many plans you can switch it off and on and keep the time allowance until you use your MB allowance - not here. I heard quite a few people seeking clarification about terms and conditions of the internet plans or complaining about their internet charges.
I guess none of this matters if you're on expenses/ per diem allowances but for tourists you might find it all rather expensive.
Problem is where else to recommend - have stayed in quite a few other options and nothing much springs to mind.
There is a newish cafe next door, the Breakwater - definitely worth a trip.

Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Globetrotter767
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for work trip for a week. A very big hotel with lots of rooms available, but like most 3.5+ star hotels in the south pacific it is overpriced. Stayed in the old west wing which was okay but old. Airconditioning was a tad bit noisy and found it hard to keep cool and have a decent sleep unfortunately. Otherwise the place is very well located and not too far away from restaurants and township, and only a short cheap taxi ride away from the hospital where I was based for work. Has two resturants, Japanese and European one and both excellent with SolBrew! Staff friendly and polite and always have smiles ready. I have been told that it is hard to find decent accomodation in Honiara so happy enough to stay here again but will aim for a room in the New wing in the future!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank N4V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Honiara
0.2 mi away
King Solomon Hotel
King Solomon Hotel
#1 of 7 in Honiara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
0.1 mi away
Heritage Park Hotel Honiara
0.4 mi away
Sanalae Apartments
Sanalae Apartments
#3 of 7 in Honiara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Honiara Hotel
Honiara Hotel
#4 of 7 in Honiara
3.0 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
0.0 mi away
Gizo Hotel
Gizo Hotel
#3 of 3 in Gizo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
0.0 mi away
Agnes Lodge
Agnes Lodge
#1 of 2 in Munda
3.5 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Solomon Kitano Mendana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solomon Kitano Mendana Hotel

Property: Solomon Kitano Mendana Hotel
Address: Honiara, Guadalcanal Island, Solomon Islands
Region: Solomon Islands > Guadalcanal Island > Honiara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Honiara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Solomon Kitano Mendana Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Solomon Kitano Mendana Honiara
Solomon Kitano Mendana Hotel Solomon Islands/Honiara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing