We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hit and miss”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Solomon Kitano Mendana Hotel
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Honiara
Dee Why, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Hit and miss”
Reviewed 27 January 2014

I have stayed here for work 4 times over the past few years. The hotel is located right on the Marovo Sound, and in the middle of town, so it's in a prime spot.
I have stayed in the old wing rooms, which are terrible, and the new wing rooms which are great and well-equipped. Internet connectivity in both types of room is very bad and you will most likely need to go down to reception area (which is very nice) to connect.
The pool and surrounding area is in urgent need of an upgrade. The sooner management realises this, the better.
As for the main restaurant - while breakfast and the menu is ok, the staff are clearly very unhappy in their jobs and customer service is really lacking.
The Japanese restaurant is the best thing about this hotel, and is a testament to the Japanese management's desire for real authentic Japanese food in Honiara.

Room Tip: Get a room in the new wing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TimMartin2099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    61
    69
    39
    21
See reviews for
9
24
27
96
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
231 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2014

I came here as part of a work trip and had a great stay. It is a very well maintained, chilled out, beautiful place. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Rooms are amazing. There are two restaurants with plenty of meals to choose, a bar by the pool and location is great just metres away from museum, shops, supermarkets...and not far from the airport. Would really recommend this place as a first stop after arrival.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DiegoUG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2014

Stayed here for a few months-August to December 2013. If you get the renovated rooms facing the sea then you are on to a winner. Unfortunately all rooms have not been done as yet . The rooms are a good size and well done. The WC did pose a problem once a fortnight.
The staff are friendly , service is island style.
Would suggest the Breakwater cafe next door for a good breakfast and take away lunch. The Japanese restaurant is well worth a visit. You can buy Internet access from the gift shop and access the wifi from the lobby. Had Internet charges to my room when I had not used it, this was quickly dealt with and rectified.
Best location in Honiara.The music on Wednesday and Friday evening from the yacht club can keep your toes tapping in these rooms.

Room Tip: Ask for renovated rooms (costs more) all face the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ozland_27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
114 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014

We stayed in the Solomon Kitano Mendana Hotel for 7 nights while diving the wrecks of the Solomons. The rooms were clean and tidy with aircon and bathrooms that all worked. The hotel is also located in Honiara which is good as you can walk to everything you need such as local bars, ATMs, restaurants,etc. The Hotel restaurant was a little disappointing as I was hoping to see more local produce in the meals and the prices were a little expensive, however they were still acceptable. The pool (clean) and bar facilities were prety good.
As a diver, I would like to have seen a wash facility, but as they didn't have any, we had to was equipment back in our rooms.
If you're not on a tight budget I'd recommend considering this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stuart B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013

Part of the hotel has been renovated, part has not. The rooms on the West Wing are quite poor, with some overlooking a car park rather than the sea. We were told our room overlooked the pool and sea but it did not. We eventually managed to change to a much better room but it took some persuasion. The service was OK but not brilliant. For example, the towels are collected for washing about 9:00 am but fresh towels are not provided until much later. The reason given was that there are not enough! The Japanese restaurant is superb. The Capitana Restaurant is good but not as good as the Japanese one.

Excellent gift shop for many varieties of carvings etc. but the staff do not arrive on time to open it and the staff are not particularly helpful or friendly.

Overall an OK stay and we would go back - provided we could get one of the better rooms again!

Room Tip: Go for the rooms directly facing the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wijemanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suva, Fiji
Level Contributor
107 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

I first stayed in this hotel several years ago and after reading some of the reviews for the less expensive rooms, I was hesitant. Earlier this year I stayed in King Solomons. But the "Garden View" room I had at Mendana was fine. It was very clean, had all of the basic amenities you need and had a choice of restaurants in the hotel. Yes, my room did need upgrading, but everything worked fine, and it was quite large. Be aware though, that there are no windows, only a sliding glass door that you can't open in the evening (due to mosquitoes) and there's no fan, so you're left with air conditioning which smells a bit stale and dusty by the morning. Great location, good place to meet, decent bar, good restaurants and the service was good.

Room Tip: Friday nights in the bar next door are quite loud in the Garden View rooms right til 2am
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vatuvia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elanora, Australia
Level Contributor
106 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2013

This hotel by western standards is well below par in pretty much every respect. The rooms are dingy and need a total refurbishment. Hot water often simply stops running as do the ancient air conditioners and believe me you need them in that climate.

Unfortunately the staff are verypoorly trained and the restaurant is very basic at best. The bar is a little behind the times and frequented mainly by locals attempting to sell timber licenses - mainly bogus.

A sad reflection on something that was obviously a much better hotel in days gone by.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jimkirk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Honiara hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Honiara
0.2 mi away
King Solomon Hotel
King Solomon Hotel
#2 of 7 in Honiara
280 reviews
0.1 mi away
Heritage Park Hotel Honiara
0.4 mi away
Sanalae Apartments
Sanalae Apartments
#3 of 7 in Honiara
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Honiara Hotel
Honiara Hotel
#4 of 7 in Honiara
39 reviews
0.0 mi away
Gizo Hotel
Gizo Hotel
#3 of 3 in Gizo
80 reviews
0.6 mi away
Iron Bottom Sound Hotel
Iron Bottom Sound Hotel
#8 of 9 in Honiara
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Solomon Kitano Mendana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solomon Kitano Mendana Hotel

Property: Solomon Kitano Mendana Hotel
Address: Honiara, Guadalcanal Island, Solomon Islands
Region: Solomon Islands > Guadalcanal Island > Honiara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Honiara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Solomon Kitano Mendana Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Solomon Kitano Mendana Honiara
Solomon Kitano Mendana Hotel Solomon Islands/Honiara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing