We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Distinctly basic and uniquely average”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Pacific Casino Hotel
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Honiara
Reviewed 27 June 2013 via mobile

Everything worked - hot water shower worked 4 out of 5days in a country where 80% of homes do not have access to clean water - everything was old and worn-down. Still, the staff are friendly. Internet is expensive (25 Euro for 250 MB over 7 days) but it was pretty fast. Take bus to center (0.30 euro, 3 Sol dollars) or walk in 35 minutes. Korean restaurant next door is excellent.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jwdlvw_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (57)
There are newer reviews for Pacific Casino Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

35 - 41 of 57 reviews

Reviewed 8 October 2012

OK for 1 night. 1 small room with a small double bed and a shower that had seen better days! Air con was a bit smelly and noisy plus afew night critters flew in and flew out!!
Just as well as this was only a stop over to the Islands.
Reception wasn't the best! Alot of people buzzing about but really only 1 person who seemed to know what was happening!
We kinda new what to expect so our spectations were not high! We didn't know that Pacific Casino Hotel caters not only for travellers but for locals also. We met a lady who came for a holiday 6 years ago and has never left!
The room overlooked the pool and a chineese restautant. I totally recommend the chineese for dinner. The owner is also the chief and is great! You can't beat the sweet and sour pork.YUMO!
We only had a total of 2 nights in Honiara. Next time we come we will wing it and book when we arrive. We felt totally safe and we just loved what we did see.
The 1st morning we went for a 2 hour walk. We were amazed at the ships just parked up on the locals sections.The people were really warm and friendly.
Take a heap of water cause you will need it!

Room Tip: Book the rooms overlooking the pool. Might be abit noisy at night but the view is better than the vi...
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BEACHBUMS6770
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2012

There aren't a lot of places to stay in Honiara and this about middle of the road.

A/C worked, bathroom needed a good clean, staff were friendly and very helpful when asked. The dining room needs to be seen to be believed as it is decorated with large abstract tropical murals on all walls as well as a huge Grecian themed frieze.

We spent one night there on our way elsewhere and for that it was fine. If I was staying longer, I'd want something more comfortable.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jennifer L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2012

Friendly staff, clean rooms, budget comfort but good value for money long term. Ask for rooms along water which are newer and are fully tiled, have separate lounge rooms, and overlook ocean. Restaurant has great meals at cost.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Robyn-and-Rob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2012

We were put up in this hotel for one night after a travel issue. Room was clean, cool and spacious (twin room). A/C worked well and much appreciated in the Honiara humidity! Pool was very clean as was the deck/dining area around it. Reception staff are wonderful and there is a cheap internet room. Restaurant food was great. Wouldn't want to spend more than a few days here, but was more than suitable for our needs.

Room Tip: If you don't like VERY long dark hallways, ask for a room closer to the middle of the hotel!
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cazoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2011

We landed in Honiara and we supposed to fly to Seghe, but our plane was delayed until the next day so Fly Solomons put us up here for the night.

Room was quiet large with air conditioning in both the lounge and bedroom area but had to borrow a remote from another room as the batteries in our remote were flat.

Encountered the "shower of a thousand needles" in the bathroom - hard water had blocked a number of the holes in the shower head so the resultant streams from the shower head were kind of painful.

Generous menu selection and good service from the Asian restaurant. Drinks were cold and readily available.

Decent night of sleep on clean and comfortable bed.

Lots of cats around - one group were looked after by a lady at the hotel - skinny little island cats - just laying around kind of adds to the atmosphere.

Didn't get breakfast the next day as we had to leave at 6.30am - nothing was organised for this but we had to get the plane at that time.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank geminikitty66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2011

So this was the third hotel I stayed at and finally feel comfortable. The Iron Bottom Sound was a little expensive for having lots of little problems and the west wing of the Honiara Hotel was jus disgusting. Sure I could spend four times more for the Heritage park but I am on business not a honeymoon. Not much to look at from the outside, rooms are basic but clean, I didn't notice any lingering smoke but did notice that many of the people who stay here do smoke. Food is decent, try the cheese sticks. Large pool patio area with bar open till 10, upstairs Captains bar open until 1A. It is a little out of of the town central and takes about 5-10 minutes for a cab ride (20SI$, about $3 U.S). Fast laundry service, nice staff and overall good stay.

Room Tip: Bottom floor cheaper but closed windows and no patio. The book up so plan ahead. Discounts for NGO...
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bearabee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honiara hotels
2.6 mi away
Heritage Park Hotel Honiara
2.6 mi away
King Solomon Hotel
King Solomon Hotel
#2 of 8 in Honiara
302 reviews
0.0 mi away
Honiara Hotel
Honiara Hotel
#5 of 8 in Honiara
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Solomon Kitano Mendana Hotel
2.8 mi away
Sanalae Apartments
Sanalae Apartments
#3 of 8 in Honiara
22 reviews
2.9 mi away
Coral Sea Resort & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pacific Casino Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pacific Casino Hotel

Address: Kukum Highway, Honiara, Guadalcanal Island 1298, Solomon Islands
Region: Solomon Islands > Guadalcanal Island > Honiara
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Honiara
Price Range: £92 - £623 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pacific Casino Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located right beside the Solomon Sea with amazing views and a cool sea breeze, the hotel offers 173 spacious, comfortable and fully air-conditioned rooms. It is conveniently located approximately 5kms from Honiara Henderson international airport and 2.4kms to the Honiara CBD (Point Cruise). Suites boast separate lounge areas and private balconies. Rooms include satellite TV with 24 hours in-house movie channels, IDD telephone access, tea/coffee and a mini bar fridge. Wi-Fi hotspots are available throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Pacific Casino Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pacific Hotel Honiara
Pacific Casino Hotel Solomon Islands/Honiara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing