We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Two nights in Tonga” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Little Italy Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Little Italy Hotel
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Nuku'alofa
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Two nights in Tonga”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

After coming from the Cook Islands (Rarotonga), Nuku'alofa was a little disappointing in that it was quite dirty in and around the capital.

Little Italy is supposedly the best hotel on the island, but it's still quite basic. It has a nice restaurant at the bottom where you also have breakfast, and all the staff were polite and welcoming.

I would really recommend hiring a car (we did, even for two nights) to get around the island to see what there is as there is nothing much to do in the centre itself. Note: You need to get a Visitor's Driving Licence from the Police Station which costs $40, but it's easy to do.

Room Tip: Try to get one on the upper floor and facing the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Willowsinoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    104
    83
    39
    3
    2
See reviews for
24
82
29
89
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

We stayed last night (22 July) our anniversary. Everything fine and also had dinner in the restaurant. We checked out today at 10.30 am and left our bags for return and taxi booked 12 noon to take us to the airport. While waiting I asked to use the bathroom but no I was not allowed into the restaurant to use the bathroom. This hotel should provide toilet facilities for people waiting for transfer. Not a good exit at all. The staff were lovely and the attendant who gave me the bad news was obviously embarrassed. He was very gracious.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bufi2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
99 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

We stayed 9 nights in this hotel. The rooms are clean, beds comfortable and the staff are friendly and helpful. Sometimes there English is not too good and you certainly have to wait for things you order as they are never in a hurry. We hired a car from little Italy which is very handy. Also worth going on day trips to other Islands and resorts. Ten minutes walk to Nuku'alofa but you do have to dodge pig and dog poo. There are always many dogs and pigs roaming around the roads and beach. Sadly to say some are very very skinny and some get hit by cars. One thing we were not warned about is that everywhere on Sundays are closed little Italy did provide a box with juice milk cornflakes dry toast, some fruit and noodles. Normally the breakfast is very good buffet style eggs bacon cereals yogurt fruit toast etc. I would say that it is one of the best hotels in Nuku'alofa. The restaurant does do nice pitzas and fresh fish but was not impressed with there pasta dishes. This hotel maybe 4 star for Tonga but really 3 stars comparing it to many other places I have stayed.

Room Tip: Have a room with a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank busylizy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
75 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

Nice and quite hotel in Nuku'alofa. Very clean rooms and nice breakfast. Very friendly staff. Pizzas are great. WiFi works very well. We spent just one night since there is not much to do in this town.

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jesus M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

We spent one night here after arriving on a late flight. At 10pm the staff were friendly and welcoming and helped settle us in, although there were no restaurant or bar facilities open. Room was clean and tidy and adequate for the one night stay. Very good breakfast and worth having. Close enough to walk into town.

Room Tip: If we were staying longer than one night we would choose a room overlooking the ocean. The rooms at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KLB_MCB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

Nuku'alofa in Tonga runs on Pacific Time, and there is nothing wrong with that.
The Little Italy Hotel also operates in the same time zone but given that they are rated as a 4 star hotel, they need to lift their game. The rooms are clean, the staff friendly and the food fair.
It is well located, with wonderful views of the coast and outer islands. It's only a 20 minute walk into the main town, circumnavigating the impressive Royal Palace and gardens.
Plan your Sundays well as there is nothing to do, except go to church. On Sundays the hotel only provides a boxed breakfast, the dinner offering is limited and lunch is non existent.

Room Tip: Book a balcony room and the roosters, pigs and dogs won't keep you awake at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MrTache
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

We stayed 5 nights at this very cute hotel.
The staff were very friendly and helpful, a little slow at times but that is Tonga.
It is really the best hotel on the island at the moment so there is nothing else to compare it with.
The food in the restaurant is good basic italian.
The rooms were very clean but basic. The hot water could come and go.
It is only 3 floors high and I suggest you try and go for the 3rd floor if possible as power lines are in your face with others and you can be seen by the passers by on the pavement across the road.
You can walk into town in about 15min or you can hire a cab if you are in a hurry.
You can rent cars from the hotel but if it is a sunday book the day before as you cant get petrol on sunday and you can only get a car that has petrol in it.

Room Tip: Go for a room on the top floor and facing the lagoon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Valerie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nuku'alofa
0.4 mi away
Seaview Lodge
Seaview Lodge
#1 of 13 in Nuku'alofa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
1.1 mi away
Tanoa International Dateline Hotel
1.8 mi away
Waterfront Lodge
Waterfront Lodge
#2 of 13 in Nuku'alofa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Friendly Islander Hotel
The Friendly Islander Hotel
#8 of 13 in Nuku'alofa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
9.1 mi away
Scenic Hotel Tonga
Scenic Hotel Tonga
#1 of 1 in Fua'amotu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
9.2 mi away
Liku'alofa Beach Resort
Liku'alofa Beach Resort
#1 of 1 in Kanokupolu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Little Italy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Little Italy Hotel

Property: Little Italy Hotel
Address: Vuna Road | Kolomotu'a, Nuku'alofa, Tongatapu Island, Tonga
Phone Number:
Region: Tonga > Tongatapu Island > Nuku'alofa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Nuku'alofa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Little Italy Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Little Italy Hotel offers 22 rooms, all with a different theme blend of Italian style and Tongan cultures surrounded by the warmth of the South Pacific, providing everything you need under one roof. Ocean view rooms have a private balconies with sensational views overlooking the Pacific Ocean make these rooms extremely popular. The hotel features a well-known Italian restaurant offers authentic Italian cuisine, beef fillet steak, lobster, fish and poultry. A great range of rental cars at very competitive prices, Kayaking and Shuttle for Airport transfers & tours. The Royal Palace is just 1 km away, CBD and Talamahu Market is a 20-minute walk or less than 3 minutes drive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your Little Italy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Little Italy Hotel And Restaurant
Little Italy Hotel Tonga/Tongatapu Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing