We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“tropical setting”

Billfish Bar & Restaurant
Ranked #5 of 35 Restaurants in Nuku'alofa
Price range: US$2 - US$20
Cuisines: Seafood, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch
Description: Billfish Bar & Restaurant.Drink, Dine, Dance, Enjoy.With live music, DJ's and events Billfish Bar & Restaurant has been the number one spot in Tonga since 1995. Open for Lunch & Dinner Monday-Friday and for Dinner on Saturday.The bar is open from 10am-Late Mon-Fri and Sat 4pm-11.30pmWe specialize in Burgers, Seafood and Steaks. They say If you havent been to Billfish, you havent been to Tonga.Dont mis out.
Reviewed 2 May 2012

nice food, excellent setting, good music, friendly staff, can get very crowded

Thank kiwiknul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BillfishTonga, General Manager at Billfish Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2013

Thank you for your review,
Enjoyed it. Glad to have it. Hope You come back.

Malo,
Robert.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (180)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

161 - 165 of 180 reviews

Reviewed 21 March 2012

probably the busiest nitespot in tonga on a friday. a lot of talent around
but i wouldn't eat there ever again
bad fish x 3, but this place is right on the waterfish and with a name like billfish i expected better
not many people eat here so i think the food doesnt turn over but they still serve it

Thank samgoldstein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BillfishTonga, General Manager at Billfish Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2013

Thank you for your review,
It is unfortunate that you had bad fish times 3, was this the Fish n Chips, Ota Ika, Pan Fried Fish, Wrapped Fish, Fish Curry or the Fish bites in your seafood basket?
We will check with the Kitchen to see.
The name Billfish derived from all the Fisherman presenting their "Bills" from the various marlin they have caught to be hung on our wall, also the magnificent Sailfish we have hanging over the bar.
We do appreciate your review and that there is a lot of talent around.
Malo,
Robert.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2012

A major hangout along the water front, very busy on the weekend with both foreigners and locals. Good food and excellent service. Often a venue for parties and group gatherings.

Thank Sunnyguy61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BillfishTonga, General Manager at Billfish Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2013

Thank you for your review,
Staff & Management enjoy your comments and we hope to see you again in the future,
Malo,
Robert.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2012

All seafood dishes are great, especially the 'Ota ika.

Thank Roberto R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BillfishTonga, General Manager at Billfish Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2013

Thank you for your review,
Billfish aims to bring great food and great drinks with the best service.
We are glad you enjoyed your time at Billfish,
Malo,
Robert.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2012

Food is ok, and you have to watch when ordering mix spirits as you'll never get drunk because its probably watered down..hehe stick to beer and pre-mix bottles and wines, and just pay as you go i.e order small and pay right away or you'll be ripped off.

1  Thank Charsaita M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BillfishTonga, General Manager at Billfish Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2013

Thank you for your review,
We hope you enjoyed your time at Billfish.
I can assure you as General Manger of Billfish since 2007 that our drinks are quality and at a great price.
Thank you for enjoying the bar atmosphere, we look forward to seeing you again,
Malo,
Robert.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Billfish Bar & Restaurant also viewed

Nuku'alofa, Tongatapu Island
Nuku'alofa, Tongatapu Island
 
Nuku'alofa, Tongatapu Island
Nuku'alofa, Tongatapu Island
 
Nuku'alofa, Tongatapu Island
Nuku'alofa, Tongatapu Island
 

Been to Billfish Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing