We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“such a heartful place”
Review of Seaview Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Seaview Lodge
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Nuku'alofa
Certificate of Excellence
Buchs Aargau, Switzerland
Level Contributor
56 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“such a heartful place”
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Once greeted by Gudrun and Franz we were like a part of the family. Every guest can feel at home.
We first arrived for two nights, then went to Ha'apai and came back for one more night. The rooms were in the main clean but for some rarely used items like hairdryer and drawers. They were ornated with passion and heart, but for my taste thy looked to stuffed as the rooms are relatively small.
There was a uniquely beautiful outside area with a carved arbour, a big aviary, open air sitting area as well as covered sitting area, colourful flowers and two lovely horses named Red and Pancacke. To go to the paddock, mosquito repellent was a must, but wich small price for a girl to stroke a horse...
In the morning we were pleasantly surprised by the big breakfast range with tasty coffee, fresh fruits and yoghurt, eggs to your liking, cold cuts, cheese and the list goes on.
Gudrun and Franz were so open, heartily, charming and communicative, what can thoroughly be challenging but is also very dearly and authentic. Also Bianca is a darling, we had a lot of fun with her and some guests and at that time the poor one had broken her leg and some administrative trouble with it, but she was positive, laughed with us and made us feel very welcome. Thank you, Strauss family!

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ConnyGammi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    105
    48
    12
    3
    1
See reviews for
17
68
27
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Although small Seaview Lodge has a great heart. We were made so welcome. Nothing was too much trouble for lovely Vea, who is its heart. Sadly the restaurant was closed when we were
staying in February so cannot coment on food except for a just lovely breakfast with wonderful fruit selection. I had been struggling with WiFi connections all through New Zealand but here in
Seaview I got the best signal of the whole trip! Lovely and comfortable rooms overlooking the
bay were much enjoyed. Thank you Diana.

Room Tip: Rooms on the front are worth the extra cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Nice rooms...big bed..lovely staff...helpful staff..always ready to help with anything..breakfast free and wifi...great location..you can walk everywhere..we used bikes at seaview to ride along waterfront..great fun!! special mention to VEA...wonderful staff who was just welcoming,,and always ready to help with anything..taxis..information...you name it VEA was ready to help! the lodge is cosy and homelike and great to stay at..my first time in tonga so having the lodge to stay at..homely atmosphere was great...yes they are going thru change in management so refurbishments are hapening but the staff..vea, isi, rosy, leka,anna..were awesome! definately would stay here again...restaurants and town are 5 - 10 min away ! rooms clean and tidy! price was 207 top - which was approx 130 nz dollars a night but was worth it and cheaper than some other places! highly recommended.also in april the weather is nice and hot but not humid so cooler in evening which was lovely!

Room Tip: you want a view..go seaview rooms which are upstairs..you want to be close to reception choose rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JENNGUS8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2013

Seaview Lodge one of the best and greatest lodge that you will enjoy one of the greatest moments of laughter and joy with the services they given to my parents and I when we had came to this Lodge. The service is really good with the greetings in morning afternoon and late nights, rooms are clean and really cool when you enter which is good and also breakfast at the lodge is one of the best :D :D To be honest You will find this lodge as your home :D its one of the best to be the 2013 Tripadvisor :D :D

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lovely D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deep Creek, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

My brother,my daughter and I flew into Tonga late at night we went to sea view lodge there was not a problem checking in we stayed 2 nights we had good food and the service was amazing if I ever come to tonga again I will definitely stay there. The room was very clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mackenzie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
259 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013 via mobile

Stayed one night. Was fine for our stopover. A bit of a drive from the airport into the main town. So watch your flight times. Our Room was off main tiled hall and can get a bit noisy from Other guests. But room was clean with air con. Door into room was a bit funny. Restaurant was only open for breakfast. Usual breakfast items. Did the job.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank ozveildancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

We arrived here for one nights stay, there was a kind of strong man competion going on in the area which for some reason meant the restaurant was closed. We then wandered around the town came across a bar which was full and standing room only, couldn't find anywhere else to eat so didn't eat that night. I am not sure for the reasons for closing the restaurant but it may be worth checking they are open if like us you are relying on getting something to eat. The rooms are very nice I am not too sure about the location though, we walked up and down and other than the harbour area and fruit/veg stalls there didn't really seem to be anything to do. I booked it as at the time our flight was arriving late which was changed. It is 30-40 minute drive to the airport. Personally I liked liku'alofa resort better than here which is 45 minutes to the airport.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clairebooey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nuku'alofa
0.7 mi away
Tanoa International Dateline Hotel
0.4 mi away
Little Italy Hotel
Little Italy Hotel
#4 of 13 in Nuku'alofa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
1.4 mi away
Waterfront Lodge
Waterfront Lodge
#2 of 13 in Nuku'alofa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Scenic Hotel Tonga
Scenic Hotel Tonga
#1 of 1 in Fua'amotu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Friendly Islander Hotel
The Friendly Islander Hotel
#7 of 13 in Nuku'alofa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
9.7 mi away
Liku'alofa Beach Resort
Liku'alofa Beach Resort
#1 of 1 in Kanokupolu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seaview Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seaview Lodge

Property: Seaview Lodge
Address: Vuna Rd., Nuku'alofa, Tongatapu Island, Tonga
Region: Tonga > Tongatapu Island > Nuku'alofa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Nuku'alofa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Seaview Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seaview Lodge and Restaurant offers an idyllic waterfront location. The on-site restaurant serves international and local gourmet cuisine. All rooms are air-conditioned and feature a flat-screen TV with cable channels and a DVD player. They offer a refrigerator and tea and coffee making facilities. The private bathroom offers free toiletries, a hairdryer and a shower. Towels and linen are provided. A Continental breakfast WiFi / internet access is included. Located in Nukualofa, Seaview Lodge is just 500 metres from The Royal Palace, and 800 metres from the City Centre, where guests can enjoy a variety of shops, markets, and cafes. Surrounded by tropical gardens, Seaview Lodge features a Restaurant and a Bar. An array of activities can be enjoyed on site or in the surroundings, including cycling and canoeing. The property offers free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Seaview Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seaview Hotel Nuku Alofa
Seaview Lodge Tonga/Tongatapu Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing