We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic place to stay in Nuku'alofa”
Review of Nerima Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nuku'alofa
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Nerima Lodge
Ranked #8 of 20 Nuku'alofa B&B and Inns
Tallebudgera, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic place to stay in Nuku'alofa”
Reviewed 13 July 2013

Nerima is wonderfully located just a short walk to the centre of town. We couldn't have asked for better hosts. Paul and Ta went out of their way to welcome us, take us to the local shops and were fantastic in helping us to resolve a potentially very difficult travel situation where our daughter was almost stranded in Fiji on her way to Tonga to meet us. Rooms were very clean. Domu's breakfasts were delicious. Nothing was too much trouble. When we needed to leave early they offered to make us an early breakfast (heaps of food and delicious too). Thanks so much to everyone at Nerima lodge - you made our stay in Nuku'alofa so enjoyable. We would definitely recommend Nerima.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    13
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
4
14
15
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2013

The thing that I liked the most about this great value option is that our hosts were friendly and so helpful when we had a near disaster with our flights. Paul and Ta were like very good friends to us despite not knowing us. They went out of their way to help to smooth out our problems and we had some great evenings just chatting about their interesting lives and experiences.
Rooms were good, recommendations they made for food and tours were excellent, and the location is perfect, right in town. Breakfasts changed every morning and were interesting and delicious (love that Papaya spread!) and they just went out of their way to make our stay perfect. We liked them so much that we came back at the end of our trip and went out to dinner with them!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2013

Fantastic accommodation that was in a great location - a 5min walk to the centre of town, and far enough away that it wasn't too busy and noisy.
The accommodation was spotlessly clean and breakfast in the morning was delicious!
The staff and owners were wonderful and gave us some great tips of things to do and see while we were there.
Would definitely recommend!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Laura a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2013

Nerima Lodge is tucked away just outside the town center, but within walking distance to everything! Very affordable and seemingly basic yet more than enough!! Probably the best place to stay and we'd definitely stay here again!!
Breakfast is included and so delicious! The house manager and owners are very friendly and helpful. The lodge is very clean and well looked after. Such a pleasant place to stay!

Room Tip: The closeby animals arent really that noticeable - or at least they werent when we were there!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emwi89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2013 via mobile

It was great! Only a short walk into town, nerima lodge was so convenient it was a fantastic place to stay! Everything was so clean and well cared for, and the noises from the city outside were barely a problem. Very friendly staff,great breakfasts every morning and a generally great value place to stay!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clairec3190
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 July 2013 via mobile

It is probably the best place to stay not only is it cheap and clean but it is definitely a great quite place to rest and relax. If it wasn't for Tomu the House Manager and her son George I don't think we would've enjoyed our Holiday.
They were so nice to all the guests, assisting where they could and always making sure we were well looked after. I would say George was the man of the house always looking out for his guests making sure we in smiles before starting a new day. I really do hope I return to Tonga soon and if I do it will be Nerima Lodge thanks to Tomu and George.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tommytaufa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2012

Tonga is somewhat unusual as a destination for backpackers/b&b as there is not a lot to see and do - in comparison with so many other Pacific destinations.

Therefore having a clean and comfortable place to stay, and with helpful and friendly staff, is a real bonus.

And, as others have mentioned, the excellent pre-sales and pre-stay service they provide via email is excellent.

Recommended for anyone who wants to be close to town and on a reasonable budget.

PS: Although I am a deep sleeper and don't wake for anything, there is a lot of noise in Tonga. The church bells at 4:00am, 5:00am and 6:00am (and often two or three competing), the loud roosters at similar times, plus frequent dogs barking and squabbling. If you are a light sleeper be sure to bring your preferred sound-blockers!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nuku'alofa hotels
0.0 mi away
Seaview Lodge
Seaview Lodge
#2 of 13 in Nuku'alofa
173 reviews
0.0 mi away
Noa Guest House
Noa Guest House
#3 of 20 in Nuku'alofa
145 reviews
0.0 mi away
Little Italy Hotel
Little Italy Hotel
#4 of 13 in Nuku'alofa
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Dayspring B&B Lodge
Dayspring B&B Lodge
#2 of 14 in Nuku'alofa
30 reviews
0.0 mi away
Villa Ishadora
Villa Ishadora
#10 of 20 in Nuku'alofa
2 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Black Pearl Suites
The Black Pearl Suites
#6 of 13 in Nuku'alofa
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nerima Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nerima Lodge

Property: Nerima Lodge
Address: Nuku'alofa, Tongatapu Island 1767, Tonga
Region: Tonga > Tongatapu Island > Nuku'alofa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Nuku'alofa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Nerima Lodge Tonga/Tongatapu Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing