We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Can we bottle the Eratap experience?”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Eratap Beach Resort
Ranked #2 of 47 Hotels in Port Vila
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Can we bottle the Eratap experience?”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2011

Hands down the best holiday we have ever had. Expensive? Hardly. Find me a small luxurious resort in Fiji or Tahiti for the same price. Impossible! My husband and I stayed with our 5 year old daughter for 7 nights in a one bedroom villa. She was on a rollaway bed but the villas are so huge they are like a mini house. Kids are only permitted certain times of the year, and as there are only 12 villas the place is never crowded. Service? Can we please take all your staff home with us to Australia so they can teach our hospitality industry about service? Could not fault the service and anyone who states otherwise would be proved wrong via a jury of past guests. Food? Maybe Fiona should be a judge on Masterchef. Her meals were amazing. Thankyou Fiona for continually serving the freshest food available. No wertern style buffets here and we really appreciated that the kids meals were healthy, like fresh fish. Oh, and did I mention that you can eat where you like when you like? Some resorts make you sit for dinner at certain times, eat when they say. Not here. One night we didnt feel like eating at the restaurant so we called and asked for dinner at our villa. Holy smokes, we came back from the pool to see 3 staff members setting up a private table, complete with fire torches mind you, right out the front of our villa on the sand! Then when we decided we wanted to eat they came back and forth from the restaurant to serve us. Extra cost? ZERO! Thankyou Andre, Melanie, Roslyn, Mac, Seil, Robert, Tony and Louisa and all the staff.
Oh yes, we will be back, for sure.
If you want the most amazing holiday experience ever this is it guys!
So again I ask can we bottle up the Eratap experience and sell it? We would all be sure millionaires if we did.
Simone, Richard and Charli x x
July 2011

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Simone G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

592 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    541
    47
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
139
399
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
83 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2011

There's a reason Eratap is number one on TA and has received numerous awards over the years! Believe all the hype, this place truly is a gem.

We spent our final 4 days in Vanuatu at Eratap after traveling around Efate and upto Tanna, the idea was to finish the holiday with a few days of pampering, and that is just what we got. Staying a night in the 2 bedroom bungalow number 10, and 2 nights in Honeymoon Villa 12.

To stay here is not cheap, and there is an expectation that for that money you'll be getting somewhere special, and it is. It's difficult to appreciate just how much work must go into creating and maintaining accommodation of this standard in a relatively remote part of the world. The villas, gardens, communal areas and pool are all maintained to a very high standard, and fitted out with everything you could need.

But for me it was the little things that really stood out, having Tony, the owner, give you a personal tour and welcome chat on arrival, having the reception answer your phone call by name, we constantly found ourselves saying 'wow, look what they've done here' or 'they even thought of this'. Nothing was too much trouble and arranging boats to nearby islands and picnics etc was efficient and hassle free.

Most people have mentioned all the activities you can do at Eratap so I won't go into it again, suffice to say that you can do as much or as little as you like and will be equally well catered for.

The food here is of a very high standard, the best we ate in Vanuatu. Working our way through the breakfast, lunch and dinner menus was a delight. There are plenty of options and there are usually a couple of daily specials at lunch and dinner to supplement.

All in all the few days we spent at Eratap were fantastic and I would return in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: Honeymoon Villa 12 is amazing, private and extremely spacious, worth the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WanderSmog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
california
Level Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2011

We had a great villa- 2 bedroom, 2 bath with a sitting area. We were right out in front of a snorkel reef and we went snorkeling twice in the boat on reefs at the adjacent islands. It was easy to arrange the boat. The snorkel gear was clean and organized. We also took a kayak out one day. The property is great- spread out and even though the villas are close together- you have a lot of privacy. The breakfast was great- a lot to choose from-eggs/fresh muffins/fruit etc.. All the staff were very friendly and accommodating. Roslyn was fun to talk to and a great bartender. We went on a long walk with Mark- he was very knowledgeable. Annie gave a fantastic hot stone massage. Tony and Louisa were really nice and helpful. Basically- we didn't want to leave.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HR2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Traralgon, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2011

We have just returned from a week at Eratap and have to say it is the best resort we have ever stayed at. It has a great balance between elegance and casual.
If anything we were busier than we planned to be and the week just flew by despite the weather being not quite what we had hoped for.

No review on Eratap would be complete without mentioning two things. The staff and the food. Both were fantastic. Breakfasts were really good with the fresh fruits a highlight for us. Although the fresh baked muffins were pretty close behind.

We often had one of the evening specials and worked our way through the rest of the menu with pleasure. Servings were generous and some evenings we just had entrees and desert. Certainly kept the food bill down and after breakfast we never felt like we needed more. The wine selections were very good as well. We never felt like the service was running on island time and the friendliness of the staff was terrific.

Was interesting to read the reviews from people who were there at the same time as us :) A previous reviewer mention bugs and insects . We were in the Villa next door and didn't see one for the 7 days apart from the numerous but cute geckos. I can see how kids might be a pain but certainly whilst we were there it was not an issue and in fact was quite fun to see them interact with the activities staff. It should be noted that Eratap does not run a kids club Fiji style. Watching Mac shimmy up a tree to collect coconuts or wandering around one of the close by islands whilst he threw a cast net for small fish ( To feed the baby turtles ) was even better. It is more an occupy yourself style resort but we found that there was more than enough to keep the mind and body either occupied or rested. And the spa whilst basic gave a great massage.

I was very keen to fish whilst I was at Eratap. Whilst the weather didn't help I did get out in the small boats to cast lures for trevally. Caught a few fish and certainly enjoyed it..
We also waded around the offshore Isalnds and got a few fish again on small metal lures. Tony a keen fisherman himself was really helpful and took the time to point out the best fishing options. Unfortunately we couldn't get offshore trolling whilst there but I had booked a charter up past Port Vila with Sportsfish Vanuatu and had a great day catching a dog tooth tuna and more trevally.. Missed on the wahoo but maybe next time .

The villas are as expected for the price and the only thing we could pick on was the small sized of the coffee cups which most resorts and motels have . We bought some coffee mugs in Port Vila and all was good. Next time we will just pack a couple..
I did find the bed too firm but the others in our group said it wasn't that bad.

Previous reviews mentioned the road and I didn't think it was terrible but just a typical; dirt road. Smoother than the main highway really :) Rumor has it that you drive on the right hand side of the road in Vanuatu. In practice its more like which ever side of the road has least amount of pot holes.. Quite hilarious at times

All in all a fantastic place to stay and we will be saving to get back.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank gdphotog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2011

We celebrated my 60th birthday at Eratap Resort and it was a perfect choice - perfect in every imaginable way. The resort itself is small, secluded and absolutely delightful. There are only a small number of bungalows spread out around the little peninsula. We were delighted with our two bungalows - each very spacious with two bedrooms, two bathrooms and a living area ... plus a magical view. The food was great, and the staff set up a table right on the beach for my birthday dinner, surrounded by flares. While it's possible to do nothing but lie around and enjoy the glorious surroundings, we crammed in a lot of interesting activities, including snorkelling on the reef right in front of our bungalow, paddling kayaks over the to a nearby island and around the lagoon (including a magical 6am sunrise paddle), visiting the nearby village of Eratap and the school, and attending Sunday morning church in the new (purple!) village church where we were uplifted by the glorious voices of the choir. Our only regret was that we did not have longer at Eratap Resort. It offers everything you could possibly need for a perfect holiday, whether you want to enjoy the many activities that are available, or simply relax and absorb the island beauty.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LindaPurple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2011

The title says it all. If you want to get away from it all, relax on a beach, swim, snorkel, or just laze about by the pool this is the resort for you.

Eratap is about 20 minutes drive (some of it on a fairly dodgy road) from Port Vila (about a AUD15 cab fare) and is surrounded largely by bush. It is set on a peninsula so even when the wind blows there is always somewhere protected to go.

The staff can't be more helpful. Whether organising one of the resort boats to run you out to a deserted island, sending food to your cabin or booking flights or car hire nothing is too much trouble.

Can't recommend this resort more highly for a relaxing getaway.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Happy_Traveller_1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque, NM
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2011

Just returned from 7 nights at Eratap on our honeymoon. Stayed in Villa 7, a one bedroom villa, which was extraordinary. The villa itself was a very good size, the manicured lawn is beautiful and the beach right outside our villa was gorgeous. The villa has a small flat screen TV with DVD player and there are DVDs for use at the reception area which were a nice perk. The bed was very comfortable, although just a little firm for our taste. The sheltered nakamal with the lounge chairs on the beach were amazing as were the lounge chairs on our patio outside the living area of the villa.

Be aware: since this is a tropical region, there were a fair amount of bugs (spiders, wasps) in the villa--there is a can of pesticide supplied for use in the villa which was nice. The sink/tub area is open with no door, so if you need privacy to dress you must close the curtains to the bedroom area completely. Also, the curtains in the bedroom area are total black out curtains so there is no way to enjoy the amazing view and still have some privacy. The shower and tub area are all in one area (so someone cannot be in the shower and using the toilet at the same time, unless privacy is not an issue). The shower spray ends up getting the whole area wet which is not that fun when you need to use the toilet--we put a towel on the floor at the base of the shower to try to avoid this.

We did not do the food plan while we were there and do not feel it is necessary unless you are big eaters. We had a late breakfast everyday around 1000 and only needed a small snack in the afternoon before we had dinner. The menu has a fair amount of options and with the daily specials there was variety enough, but by day 8 we were pretty tired of the food. The food itself was SPECTACULAR, my husband and I each ate one thing we didn't love the whole time we were there. We did the dinner on the beach, and although it got rained out in the middle of dinner, the food was warm on arrival and the decoration on the table was beautiful. The service in the restaurant was amazing, everyone always had a smile and seemed really happy to be there.

Taking the day trip to Castaway Island is a must and one of our best memories of the trip. The snorkeling off this island was the best we have ever done, including other resorts in the South Pacific.

Caveats: Villa concerns as discussed above. As has been mentioned elsewhere, the ability to swim off the main beach is dependent on high/low tide which put a bit of a damper on our time there. You can still snorkel in other areas but you have to make arrangements to have someone take you out on the resort's boat. Making the arrangements was very easy and the boats seemed to be available all the time. I believe you can swim off the honeymoon beach regardless of tide but we did not do that. The beach is very rough and reef shoes are a must. I believe the resort has reef shoes you can borrow, but we had brought our own. We went during a time when children were allowed at the resort and would not do this again. The resort says their policy is not to allow children less than 5 years old but we saw numerous children that were toddlers (one of which was running around naked on the beach on more than one occasion). The children next door to our villa were running around our villa grass/beach and were very loud first thing in the morning. Definitely not romantic and would not go to this resort again when children are allowed. We did get a couples massage while there but unfortunately my husband's massage bed was covered with ants and he spent his massage time focusing on the ants instead of enjoying the massage. I loved the massage and the price was very reasonable. We really missed not having Wi-Fi in our villa, can use wi-fi in the restaurant and the reception area only.

Overall, this resort is a piece of paradise that we will not forget soon. The staff at the resort was amazing, always available and more than happy to take requests. We were truly sad to be leaving at the end of our trip and can't wait to return someday.

Room Tip: Try to get a villa furthest out on the point if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank toxypharmgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Vila hotels
17.0 mi away
The Havannah, Vanuatu
The Havannah, Vanuatu
#3 of 47 in Port Vila
5.0 of 5 bubbles 526 reviews
3.5 mi away
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
#13 of 47 in Port Vila
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,434 reviews
0.8 mi away
Aquana Beach Resort
Aquana Beach Resort
#10 of 47 in Port Vila
5.0 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
#15 of 47 in Port Vila
4.5 of 5 bubbles 645 reviews
4.7 mi away
Iririki Island Resort & Spa
5.3 mi away
Paradise Cove Resort
Paradise Cove Resort
#1 of 47 in Port Vila
5.0 of 5 bubbles 527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eratap Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eratap Beach Resort

Property: Eratap Beach Resort
Address: PO Box 3037, Port Vila, Efate, Vanuatu
Phone Number:
Region: Vanuatu > Efate > Port Vila
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Port Vila
#1 Spa Hotel in Port Vila
#2 Luxury Hotel in Port Vila
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Port Vila
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Port Vila
#3 Family Hotel in Port Vila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Eratap Beach Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Eratap Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eratap Beach Hotel Port Vila
Eratap Beach Port Vila
Eratap Beach Resort Vanuatu/Port Vila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing