We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Blue water, white sand and palm trees..what more do you want?”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Eratap Beach Resort
Ranked #2 of 47 Hotels in Port Vila
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Blue water, white sand and palm trees..what more do you want?”
Reviewed 2 September 2011

We spent a wonderful week at Eratap. Our villa was enormous and gloriously situated with full lagoon views from sitting room and bedroom..The high , thatched ceilings were truly a work of art.
It was great to talk with Tony about the history and development of the resort and it is a credit to him, Louisa and the local village of Eratap.
We thoroughly enjoyed all aspects of the resort and the staff were fantastic and so friendly and helpful.
We thought the food was OK but a challenge for the gluten free diet- we picked the week the chef was away! Everybody did their best to meet the special diet needs. The food was fairly expensive but a good choice was available at every meal.
Would recommend a visit to Eratap Village and school.

Room Tip: Villa 10 was 2 bedroom/bathroom and huge. Try to get it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 255100Trish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

601 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    547
    50
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
141
405
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2011

It's all been said before, but we'll say it again - what an amazing resort! Beautiful location, lovely villas that are comfortable and luxurious, fantastic staff and amazing food!

We stayed in the Honeymoon Villa 12 for 6 days as part of our honeymoon and couldn't have felt more pampered and well-looked after. The villa is amazing - beautifully fitted out and the bathroom was just great, especially the outdoor shower option for when you've just been for a swim in the sea. This villa has it's own private gardens with an outdoor pavilion with large circular daybed and outdoor table and chairs. We often ordered room-service lunch to this area and enjoyed lunching in our own private garden setting overlooking the lagoon. The private plunge pool is small but lovely for a refreshing morning dip. Little touches like beach towels and snorkelling gear are also nice.

The staff really make this resort special. They are so friendly and helpful. The food here is also amazing, we really enjoyed the breakfast selection and the fresh fish for dinner. Vanuatu beef is also amazing, make sure you try it when you're there! We also drank far too many Pina Coladas by the beautiful pool!

Can't wait to return.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank IntrepidBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bribie Island, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2011

Unfortuneatley we only could stay for three nights which was not enough time to really enjoy all that Eratap has to offer...Initially I thought that maybe the resort was a tad expensive but when you do the sums...of all the activities and available extras ..it really isn't...Hotel Transfers from Airport...transfers into town...Breakfasts included.... boats ( unless you want to go fishing - extra ) kayaks, etc entertainment all part of the rate....We had a melanesian night and a trip to the local village was was really wonderful...these were included in the rate ...so value for money definitely...The breakfasts were very good and so were the meals ...we did not think they were expensive or boring ( as in previous review) ..in fact they were very large servings...My husband and I shared some meals due to the size.... and he loves his food...

The Service was good...you need to understand the ni vans...otherwise you may get frustrated ...but it is not Sydney or London.....and personally I would not want it to get like that because that would spoil the experience....you can order anywhere anytime...this is great...and it always comes with a smile....
Eratap is naturally a beautiful place...the resort has been built to enjoy the penininsular so you have the option of surf or calm..and .islands . to visit.and explore....there are also a lot of walks which are interesting, beautiful and wild...you feel so far away...Each Villa feels private with your own fenced off area..but you do not feel fenced in...
I want to especially thank Tony and Louisa for our stay here at Eratap...A few years ago my husband became very ill and we could not make the trip because of treatment etc...They honoured our reservation as we did not have Insurance....(.for three years) ...they did not have to do this...but it is noted and very much appreciated...
Apart from this, I travel a lot with my work ..and the beds and pillows become an issue with me ( silly in a way but important to me) They were great here...did not have a problem with sleeping...
I totally recommend this beautiful part of the world especially if you need to recharge those batteries and reflect on lifes priorities. When you visit a place like Vanuatu you need to have respect for the different culture . Remember that it is a very different world to what we live in...Embrace it rather than try and make it like ours. The owners of Eratap try very hard to ensure that we have what we think we need...and mix it with what they have to work with...worked fro me.....
Forgot to mention....massage was wonderful and the setting was beautiful...
Just wished we had longer......

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank SASH44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2011

Hands down the best holiday we have ever had. Expensive? Hardly. Find me a small luxurious resort in Fiji or Tahiti for the same price. Impossible! My husband and I stayed with our 5 year old daughter for 7 nights in a one bedroom villa. She was on a rollaway bed but the villas are so huge they are like a mini house. Kids are only permitted certain times of the year, and as there are only 12 villas the place is never crowded. Service? Can we please take all your staff home with us to Australia so they can teach our hospitality industry about service? Could not fault the service and anyone who states otherwise would be proved wrong via a jury of past guests. Food? Maybe Fiona should be a judge on Masterchef. Her meals were amazing. Thankyou Fiona for continually serving the freshest food available. No wertern style buffets here and we really appreciated that the kids meals were healthy, like fresh fish. Oh, and did I mention that you can eat where you like when you like? Some resorts make you sit for dinner at certain times, eat when they say. Not here. One night we didnt feel like eating at the restaurant so we called and asked for dinner at our villa. Holy smokes, we came back from the pool to see 3 staff members setting up a private table, complete with fire torches mind you, right out the front of our villa on the sand! Then when we decided we wanted to eat they came back and forth from the restaurant to serve us. Extra cost? ZERO! Thankyou Andre, Melanie, Roslyn, Mac, Seil, Robert, Tony and Louisa and all the staff.
Oh yes, we will be back, for sure.
If you want the most amazing holiday experience ever this is it guys!
So again I ask can we bottle up the Eratap experience and sell it? We would all be sure millionaires if we did.
Simone, Richard and Charli x x
July 2011

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Simone G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
83 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2011

There's a reason Eratap is number one on TA and has received numerous awards over the years! Believe all the hype, this place truly is a gem.

We spent our final 4 days in Vanuatu at Eratap after traveling around Efate and upto Tanna, the idea was to finish the holiday with a few days of pampering, and that is just what we got. Staying a night in the 2 bedroom bungalow number 10, and 2 nights in Honeymoon Villa 12.

To stay here is not cheap, and there is an expectation that for that money you'll be getting somewhere special, and it is. It's difficult to appreciate just how much work must go into creating and maintaining accommodation of this standard in a relatively remote part of the world. The villas, gardens, communal areas and pool are all maintained to a very high standard, and fitted out with everything you could need.

But for me it was the little things that really stood out, having Tony, the owner, give you a personal tour and welcome chat on arrival, having the reception answer your phone call by name, we constantly found ourselves saying 'wow, look what they've done here' or 'they even thought of this'. Nothing was too much trouble and arranging boats to nearby islands and picnics etc was efficient and hassle free.

Most people have mentioned all the activities you can do at Eratap so I won't go into it again, suffice to say that you can do as much or as little as you like and will be equally well catered for.

The food here is of a very high standard, the best we ate in Vanuatu. Working our way through the breakfast, lunch and dinner menus was a delight. There are plenty of options and there are usually a couple of daily specials at lunch and dinner to supplement.

All in all the few days we spent at Eratap were fantastic and I would return in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: Honeymoon Villa 12 is amazing, private and extremely spacious, worth the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WanderSmog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
california
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2011

We had a great villa- 2 bedroom, 2 bath with a sitting area. We were right out in front of a snorkel reef and we went snorkeling twice in the boat on reefs at the adjacent islands. It was easy to arrange the boat. The snorkel gear was clean and organized. We also took a kayak out one day. The property is great- spread out and even though the villas are close together- you have a lot of privacy. The breakfast was great- a lot to choose from-eggs/fresh muffins/fruit etc.. All the staff were very friendly and accommodating. Roslyn was fun to talk to and a great bartender. We went on a long walk with Mark- he was very knowledgeable. Annie gave a fantastic hot stone massage. Tony and Louisa were really nice and helpful. Basically- we didn't want to leave.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HR2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Traralgon, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2011

We have just returned from a week at Eratap and have to say it is the best resort we have ever stayed at. It has a great balance between elegance and casual.
If anything we were busier than we planned to be and the week just flew by despite the weather being not quite what we had hoped for.

No review on Eratap would be complete without mentioning two things. The staff and the food. Both were fantastic. Breakfasts were really good with the fresh fruits a highlight for us. Although the fresh baked muffins were pretty close behind.

We often had one of the evening specials and worked our way through the rest of the menu with pleasure. Servings were generous and some evenings we just had entrees and desert. Certainly kept the food bill down and after breakfast we never felt like we needed more. The wine selections were very good as well. We never felt like the service was running on island time and the friendliness of the staff was terrific.

Was interesting to read the reviews from people who were there at the same time as us :) A previous reviewer mention bugs and insects . We were in the Villa next door and didn't see one for the 7 days apart from the numerous but cute geckos. I can see how kids might be a pain but certainly whilst we were there it was not an issue and in fact was quite fun to see them interact with the activities staff. It should be noted that Eratap does not run a kids club Fiji style. Watching Mac shimmy up a tree to collect coconuts or wandering around one of the close by islands whilst he threw a cast net for small fish ( To feed the baby turtles ) was even better. It is more an occupy yourself style resort but we found that there was more than enough to keep the mind and body either occupied or rested. And the spa whilst basic gave a great massage.

I was very keen to fish whilst I was at Eratap. Whilst the weather didn't help I did get out in the small boats to cast lures for trevally. Caught a few fish and certainly enjoyed it..
We also waded around the offshore Isalnds and got a few fish again on small metal lures. Tony a keen fisherman himself was really helpful and took the time to point out the best fishing options. Unfortunately we couldn't get offshore trolling whilst there but I had booked a charter up past Port Vila with Sportsfish Vanuatu and had a great day catching a dog tooth tuna and more trevally.. Missed on the wahoo but maybe next time .

The villas are as expected for the price and the only thing we could pick on was the small sized of the coffee cups which most resorts and motels have . We bought some coffee mugs in Port Vila and all was good. Next time we will just pack a couple..
I did find the bed too firm but the others in our group said it wasn't that bad.

Previous reviews mentioned the road and I didn't think it was terrible but just a typical; dirt road. Smoother than the main highway really :) Rumor has it that you drive on the right hand side of the road in Vanuatu. In practice its more like which ever side of the road has least amount of pot holes.. Quite hilarious at times

All in all a fantastic place to stay and we will be saving to get back.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank gdphotog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Vila hotels
17.0 mi away
The Havannah, Vanuatu
The Havannah, Vanuatu
#3 of 47 in Port Vila
539 reviews
3.5 mi away
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
#12 of 47 in Port Vila
1,450 reviews
0.8 mi away
Aquana Beach Resort
Aquana Beach Resort
#10 of 47 in Port Vila
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
#15 of 47 in Port Vila
653 reviews
4.7 mi away
Iririki Island Resort & Spa
5.3 mi away
Paradise Cove Resort
Paradise Cove Resort
#1 of 47 in Port Vila
541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eratap Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eratap Beach Resort

Property: Eratap Beach Resort
Address: PO Box 3037, Port Vila, Efate, Vanuatu
Phone Number:
Region: Vanuatu > Efate > Port Vila
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Port Vila
#1 Spa Hotel in Port Vila
#2 Luxury Hotel in Port Vila
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Port Vila
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Port Vila
#3 Family Hotel in Port Vila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Eratap Beach Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Eratap Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eratap Beach Hotel Port Vila
Eratap Beach Port Vila
Eratap Beach Resort Vanuatu/Port Vila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing