We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous, intimate holiday resort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Eratap Beach Resort
Ranked #2 of 47 Hotels in Port Vila
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
“Fabulous, intimate holiday resort”
Reviewed 24 October 2013

We loved this place. Recently we travelled with our 5 year old, the team is all great, the number of villas is great, the facilities all you need. It never felt crowded even though the resort was full. Team was all lovely to us all, especially to our daughter. It is expensive but we felt good value.

Room Tip: All rooms good
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PhilippaL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

603 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    549
    50
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
143
405
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (226)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013 via mobile

If you're looking for somewhere to spend time with loved ones in an idyllic setting this is the place to visit. We are just back from our 2nd stay at Eratap and we are already planning our next trip.
The owners and their amazing team (especially Pascale) have created a magical place. From the moment you arrive and meet Robert at the airport, you will relax and feel at home. Nothing is ever too much trouble for anyone at Eratap. The hardest part is always returning home and having to return to reality...we still miss our beautiful breakfasts, seeing the smiling faces of all the gorgeous Eratap staff and of course, searching for hermit crabs on the beach!
Although we spent most of our time in & around the resort, we also had a great time visiting Eton Beach & Blue Lagoon as well as doing the Jungle zipline and the amazing Cascade waterfalls.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunedin
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

We spent eight nights at Eratap in mid-October, starting off while the resort was in school holiday mode, and finishing when all of the kids (aside from our teenage son and those of one other family with teenagers) had gone.

Our family fully concur with the overall five star rating accorded Eratap by so many other of a largely Australian and New Zealand clientele.

The things that make Eratap so special from our perspective are as follows:

- The fabulous people: From owner Tony and manager Pascale, through to the restaurant staff, the events staff and boatmen, the kitchen crew, housekeepers, and gardeners, everyone treats you exceptionally, and with genuine friendliness and professionalism. Nothing, really, seems like too much of a bother, and little extra requests that would result in an additional charge on your bill at most places are invariably provided with a smile and free of charge;

- The scale of the establishment: The fact that there are only a dozen bungalows strikes a lovely balance that enables you to get to know all of the staff by name, and they get to know you and your particular preferences. By the same token, with this scale of resort there is a nice vibe between guests, but without feeling that you are being forced together in any artificial way, or that you cannot enjoy a more private holiday if that is what you are after;

- The setting: Eratap is superbly located in a spot that is beautiful, pristine and private. It is also relatively sheltered from the prevailing trade winds, as we found when a minor storm blew up on our final couple of days. Being located inside the reef, it is also very safe for swimming, snorkelling and kayaking. Even so, there's a great wee surf break right at the resort which gets going on the high tide with a bit of a breeze, and other more challenging breaks out at the reef, just a couple of minutes (free) boat ride away.

- The bungalows: The beachfront location of each bungalow, and the space between them gives a great sense of privacy for when you want it.

Lots of guests have also raved about the food. The breakfasts (included in the tariff) are excellent, and set you up for the day. In combination with a changing array of specials, the menu also provides more than enough variety for lunch and dinner. We found the quality of the food consistently 4-star, and sometimes 5-star (my main critical comment in this regard was that some of the seasonings and sauces lacked balance). The portions were generous, and there was also a good kids menu of mains and desserts.

Few reviewers have said much about food and drink prices, which we found very reasonable for an establishment of this quality; lunch mains ranged from 1300 to about 1900 Vatu; dinner mains from about 2700 to 3300 Vatu; deserts up to 1000 Vatu. Beers were 450 vatu, juices about 300 vatu (the fresh lime juice is sensational); wine 750 to 850 vatu by the glass, 2500 vatu or more by the bottle; spirits with mixer 550 vatu, and cocktails around the 950 vatu mark.

We enjoyed the range of optional activities (of which we went to around half), and our son especially enjoyed playing football at the nearby Eratap village one afternoon, which the resort organised even though the kids holiday programme had officially ended. All of these activities, like the use of kayaks, surf boards, snorkelling gear, drop offs by boat on nearby islands and snorkel spots, and the use of books and DVDs was included in the tariff.

We are a family who likes to travel to new places in our holidays; Eratap Beach Resort was easily good enough to challenge us in this view. We would love to return.

Room Tip: We booked quite late, and so had two different units over our 8 nights. We stayed in both a single b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank KiwiCriticDunedin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Ditto to all the previous reviews.... It IS REALLY that good!!!

We travelled with our 12 year old son during the child friendly time.

The location - perfect, remote, but not too far from Port Vila (30mins by car on dirt road)

The accommodation - absolutely amazing. We stayed in Villa 2. As said by many before, the room was well laid out, bedding comfortable, clean and tidy, beautiful toiletries in the bathroom. 20 steps to your own private Cabana, and another 10 steps to the beach.

The staff - genuinely polite, helpful, friendly, not intrusive. Eveyone was great - too many to name them all, but the standouts were Robert and his wonderful happy commentary whilst transporting us everywhere, Andre and his bottomless fruit cocktails, Inith and her great massages, and Yvonne and Rose and Sharon and all the others with their smiles.

The food - Excellent quality and price, no need to go offsite as there was definately enough choice and there were daily specials. The seafood was absolutely wonderful.

The activites were varied and you could do as much or as little as you like - there was a kids club that had activities suitable for young and older kids, and adult activities as well - from kayaking, snorkelling, visiting the local village to see how they live, playing a game of footy with the local kids to a couple of hours walk around the local area.

I cannot find any fault with our entire stay and we will definately be back.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Duncanson_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 13 October 2013

We are two weeks from our 3rd holiday at Eratap and can't wait to get back there. All the reviews tell the story. The resort is 5 star, the staff are wonderful, we couldn't ask for anything more from a holiday. You feel truly spoilt from the moment that Robert picks you up from the airport to the moment you leave.
I recommend taking advantage of the tours that are offered each morning (these are complimentary). Mac is a fantastic guide. We especially loved the kayaking trip and the excursion to the local village. We had the privilege of going to the village church on Sunday and were made to feel very welcome.
The menu offers great variety and the meals are delicious. The cocktails are divine, the "Nabawan" is our favourite. You can request to have your meals by the pool or at your Villa if you prefer, nothing is a problem. We took advantage of having an evening meal in our private gazebo one night, the table is set up beautifully and tiki torches provide a romantic light.
The Spa is definitely worth a visit, Annie will take wonderful care of you.
Many thanks to all the staff enough for looking after us and making our holiday so special - Robert, Melanie, Annie, Walter, Rose, Yvonne, Jenny, Andre, Sharon and Pauline (apologies if I've missed anyone).
Thanks to Tony, Louisa and Pascalle for such a perfect holiday resort. We can't recommend Eratap highly enough
We look forward to seeing you all soon.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frances1304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

If you are looking for a great getaway for a special occasion, the Eratap resort is the place to go. You'll be in love with the place from the moment you set foot in, you just won't want to leave. From the beautiful villas to the multiple water activities, this place is absolute luxury. You'll feel like the only ones there. Make use of the boat drivers and get them to take you out to the to small islands within eyesight from the resort. Have a picnic on castaway island and do the big island walk. There's snorkelling on coral reefs, stand up paddle boarding, and even a fire acrobatic group that visit the resort to give a show one night during the week while you eat dinner. You just can't beat this place.

Room Tip: If you want to make the trip just that little bit more special, get a helicopter transfer from the a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KieronD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 6 Contributor
429 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 223 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013

Magnificent, nothing else to say other than that really. This is a must stay at resort if you ever get the chance, and dinner on the beach is one of the great life experiences which should be added to everyone's bucket lists.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank dunbro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Vila hotels
17.0 mi away
The Havannah, Vanuatu
The Havannah, Vanuatu
#3 of 47 in Port Vila
546 reviews
3.5 mi away
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
#12 of 47 in Port Vila
1,465 reviews
0.8 mi away
Aquana Beach Resort
Aquana Beach Resort
#10 of 47 in Port Vila
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
#15 of 47 in Port Vila
662 reviews
4.7 mi away
Iririki Island Resort & Spa
5.3 mi away
Paradise Cove Resort
Paradise Cove Resort
#1 of 47 in Port Vila
546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eratap Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eratap Beach Resort

Property: Eratap Beach Resort
Address: PO Box 3037, Port Vila, Efate, Vanuatu
Phone Number:
Region: Vanuatu > Efate > Port Vila
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Port Vila
#1 Spa Hotel in Port Vila
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Port Vila
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Port Vila
#2 Luxury Hotel in Port Vila
#3 Family Hotel in Port Vila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Eratap Beach Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Eratap Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eratap Beach Hotel Port Vila
Eratap Beach Port Vila
Eratap Beach Resort Vanuatu/Port Vila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing