We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“relaxing, romantic getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Eratap Beach Resort
Ranked #2 of 47 Hotels in Port Vila
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 June 2009

Just returned from wonderful 3 nights at Eratap. The villa is excellent. Nothing is any trouble, excellent staff etc. Took advantage of 4 course meal plan: too much food!! When returning again would just pay for what we want. Breakfast not in meal plan but included in night stay is not a buffet, although can order whatever & how many you desire. Also a specials blackboard for breakfast, lunch & dinner

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank eaglebob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (619)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

570 - 576 of 619 reviews

Reviewed 4 June 2009

We have just returned from a magical 7 days at Eratap. What a perfect place to unwind in style. You only need to experience Port Vila when a cruise ship is in port to truly value the seclusion and privacy that Eratap provides.

The staff are just wonderful, starting with Steven who picked us up from the airport at midnight, through to Tony, the owner who greeted us the following day with a beaming Aussie smile. Also a huge thank you to the waiting staff - , nothing was too much trouble!

if you want the opportunity to experience having a deserted island to yourself, arrange a picnic lunch and boat ride (free of charge) to Castaway island. White sands and warm water make for sheer enjoyment for as many hours as you want to have.

We'll be back!

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Travelholic8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2009

My new wife and I recently stayed at Eratap and loved every minute of it.
After a very busy 18 months after returning home from living overseas we wanted a quiet getaway where we could do nothing but relax.
At Eratap we found it.
Don't let the 30 minute trip put you off from this resort. Upon seeing the resort we both said that this is exactly what we were looking for and it remained that for the rest of the week.
When we arrived we were welcomed by the owner/manager and were given an overview of the resort and Vanuatu while drinking our complimentary fruit cocktails (I still reckon a dash of vodka would make them perfect).
Having only the 12 Villas means that you don't have throngs of people to deal with as you do at the larger resorts.
Amazingly you can have an intimate dinner on the veranda of the restuarant while watching the crabs run backward and forward but what is even better is you can have a dinner for two on the beach or under a nakamal (gazebo).
The food is excellent although a bit more of local flavour would be nice but if you can't find something on the menu that appeals to you then you probably would never be satisfied.
The staff are fantastic and probably the greatest assest the resort has, next to the location. Always greeting you with a smile, nothing was ever an issue and mistakes got dealt with quickly when the odd one happend. The relaxed island attitude rubbed off on us and helped in making our time there a very relaxing week.
Spending time by the pool or a private lunch on a deserted island, its your choice and there are other activities do to if you so choose. We didn't so we won't comment on them. There is no TV and radio however you can borrow free dvd's and books which is a fantastic idea as you can truly forget that there is an outside world.
Eratap was truly a fantastic resort it added to our perfect wedding by providing our perfect honeymoon.
If you are looking for a romantic getaway, honeymoon or just in need of relaxation then look no further than Eratap and leave your Western mentality at the airport. This place rocks!

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank brusta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2009

An amazing place to reguvinate after a busy year. A large spacious bungalow with a fantastic outside shower. Very well set up to allow the cool ocean breezes to flow through all day. Can be opened up to give great views over gardens to the beach and lagoon just outside the front door. Very private, usually felt that you were the only people there even though the resort was full during our stay.

The staff were amazing and almost became close friends after our two week stay. Always willing to help make the stay better. They were so friendly and happy always ready with a big smile and a wave. This resort is very well managed. Nothing is too much trouble and the owner/manager, Tony, is always there to make sure every thing runs smoothly.

Plenty of activities to help fill the day, if you need them. The village tour is fantastic as is the snorkelling and kayaking with power boats and kayaks available all day free of charge. Large quiet pool, great massages and spa treatments available as well.

The food was magnificant and you could never complain that the serves were too small. The onsite expat chef has experience at some of the worlds magor hotels and it shows in the food. The staff were very concious of our seafood allergies and went out of their way to accommodate us.

Difficult to find fault with our stay. Will be back again.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Melbournecouple431
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2009

It is truly rare to have a holiday experience exceed expectations, yet our stay at Eratap Beach Resort did. We couldn't help but relax from the moment we checked in. It was so much more than we hoped for - from the welcoming drink on arrival to Andre dancing behind the bar, sharing a few French words with Sergine to Sandy and Paolo providing a spectacular adventure on the reef and then scurrying up a coconut tree to give us a fresh coconut juice in the late afternoon.

We almost don't want you to know about Eratap so that we can return to experience it all over again. However, Tony, Louisa and their staff deserve the accolades. We are frequent travellers and have high standards. So, to say that Tony and Louisa have achieved something quite exceptional speaks volumes about our week at Eratap.

The Villa was magnificent and kept very clean each day by the genial housekeeping staff. The only slight flaw here is that the towels and wash cloths should be of the hotel's luxury boutique standard. The location is breathtaking - and you barely notice the other guests unless you saunter to the restaurant for a meal. Even then, there was a gorgeous hum each meal as everyone relaxed and watched the moonlit sea roll into the shore and out again - and the tiny crabs running for cover on the sand.

You can do as much or as little as you like - and room service, with a smile and no extra cost is just a phone call away - no matter where you are. We were taken to an island one day and dropped off complete with a picnic lunch. Our 'Robinson Crusoe' experience (as we called it) was one of those treats you just imagine you might have some day, but we really experienced it. The staff are very considerate in ensuring that guests have time alone on the island unencumbered by the presence of others. So special!

As tempting as it was to just remain at Eratap throughout our entire visit to Vanuatu, we were determined to venture out and see more of this untouched country. We were surprised to find that we were the first Eratap guests ever to travel to Pentecost Island to witness the incredible land diving ritual. This only occurs on Saturdays in April and May and is the native yam harvest ceremony. Our welcome back to the resort that night was met with a great deal of enthusiasm by the staff, a table waiting at the restaurant and cocktails in abundance!

On our last night at Eratap, Andre suggested that we have dinner at our private pavilion located on the edge of the beach, just a few metres away from our Villa. It was a perfect night with the most beautiful sunset. Andre ensured that every moment was wonderful throughout the meal, even going to great lengths to set a stunning table groaning with local flowers. It was Mother's Day which heightened the joy of that moment as we had taken our two adult children with us to Eratap. We all sat there gazing at the full moon and wondering how we got so lucky to enjoy something so beautiful - it just took our breath away.

The true magic of Eratap is its remoteness. The lagoon is spectacular for kayaking, a dip to cool you off or for spotting the many coloured starfish that crawl along its bed. Eratap is luxurious but real value for money. Our bar bill – and we enjoyed ourselves fully on this score – did not blow our socks off.

The people of Vanuatu are wonderful. They smile, say hello and everything they do for you comes from the heart. It is a credit to Tony and Louisa that they have harnessed this spirit into their resort and that it has not be dampened by westerners, like us, who come to savour their country.

Thank you so much Tony, Louisa, Robert, Liz, Renate, Andre, Sandy, Paolo, Carlo, Walter, Stephen, Sergine, Georgina, Clifford, Sharon and Wendy and the many others who waved hello. You all have given us wonderful memories to hold in our hearts forever! Happy Long Life to you all! D. C. K and C.

  • Stayed: May 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank CeCeDe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2009

My husband and I recently returned from a weeks stay at Eratap. We thoroughly enjoyed every minute of our time. The staff are lovely and Tony the Manager/Owner is the perfect host. We never expereinced anything other than efficient and friendly service and had no problems with our bill as per the other reviewer's comments.

We loved the outlook of the villa's - when they say "beach front" they mean it. Incredible views of the ocean from your living room and bedroom. Lying on the deck chairs on the terrace and watching the ocean was so relaxing. We never really left this vantage point unless it was to go swimming/snorkelling or for meals. The only small gripe that we had in relation to the cleaning/villas was the quality of the towells. On a few occassions they were very ratty and looked like bleached out rags.

We found the food to be more than acceptable, especially for an island location and incredibly good value with the meal plan. The only small gripe I had was that they seemed to be out of a lot of entree options, which I can understand given that a lot of ingredients need to be flown in, but no replacements were available on the daily specials which seemed to concentrate largely on main meals.

It was wonderful to be able to so easily arrange for a boat to take us to nearby islands for snorkelling/swimming and that there was no extra charge for this. Unfortunately there were very strong currents when we were there and the main beach off the resort was not really usebale which was very disappointing as the reef off the resort would have been wonderful to snorkel. The massages we had at the spa were great and the price of treatments very affordable.

We'll definately be back to Eratap - the location, staff and price point make it hard to beat!

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Oceans1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2009

We (2 adults and 2 children) recently spent 5 nights at Eratap. After a long cold European winter, we were very much looking forward to enjoying some time in the sun - swimming, snorkelling, kayaking and generally taking it easy. We were not disappointed. Eratap was truly idyllic.

Having now been there it is easy to agree with the overwhelmingly positive reviews that precede this one. They provide a comprehensive insight into what makes Eratap a unique and fantastic holiday experience.

For us there were several things which made our trip great. The big smiling staff and local people, who are all incredibly friendly and accommodating. The location is also ideal, situated between a lagoon that is perfect for kayaking and the sea with easily accessible coral reefs for snorkelling. Better yet, there are few other people around except for local villagers. The ability to simply jump into one of the resorts two run-abouts and skip across to one of the small uninhabited islands close by for some swimming, snorkelling or surfing is a huge benefit. Every day we were always doing some sort of activity, including a couple of afternoons of surfing which the kids loved. And, of course, the food (and wine) was terrific - breakfast, lunch and dinner.

With only 12 villas, despite it being full, at times it felt like we were the only people there. We were however fortunate to meet some fantastic people during our short stay.

Eratap is an informal, relaxed and unpretentious resort that fits perfectly into its surrounds. Owners Tony and Louisa have created a really fantastic place and the recently won awards are well deserved. Our only regret was that we didn’t stay longer to relax a little bit more.

PS While some others have commented about the drive in, we felt the 30 minute trip from the airport, the later part through thick jungle on a fairly bumpy track, was all part of the charm and appeal of Eratap.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ashandjb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Vila hotels
17 mi away
The Havannah, Vanuatu
The Havannah, Vanuatu
#3 of 47 in Port Vila
576 reviews
3.5 mi away
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
#12 of 47 in Port Vila
1,543 reviews
4.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
#15 of 47 in Port Vila
704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Aquana Beach Resort
Aquana Beach Resort
#10 of 47 in Port Vila
310 reviews
4.7 mi away
Iririki Island Resort & Spa
5.3 mi away
Paradise Cove Resort
Paradise Cove Resort
#1 of 47 in Port Vila
578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eratap Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eratap Beach Resort

Address: PO Box 3037, Port Vila, Efate, Vanuatu
Phone Number:
Region: Vanuatu > Efate > Port Vila
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Port Vila
#1 Spa Hotel in Port Vila
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Port Vila
#2 Luxury Hotel in Port Vila
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Port Vila
#3 Family Hotel in Port Vila
Price Range: £301 - £370 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Eratap Beach Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia and Ebookers so you can book your Eratap Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eratap Beach Hotel Port Vila
Eratap Beach Port Vila
Eratap Beach Resort Vanuatu/Port Vila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing