We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect honeymoon at a beautiful location, Eratap Beach Resort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Eratap Beach Resort
Ranked #2 of 47 Hotels in Port Vila
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Perfect honeymoon at a beautiful location, Eratap Beach Resort”
Reviewed 1 August 2009

My husband and I loved Eratap Beach Resort. From the moment Robert picked us up in the bus, the interesting ride out to the beautiful resort, the warm welcome by Tony (the owner) and his staff, the fantastic, lovely, private, spacious, spotless Villa's and a view too beautiful to forget.

We loved Eratap so much that we cancelled our booking we had at another place. Thanks to Tony for his kindness in making it possible for us to stay on. We'll loved Fiona (the Chef's) cooking, (Jacob hasn't stopped talking about the magnificent breakfasts)! The staff are lovely, always gentle and helpful. The "couple's massage" is a must, it's so relaxing and soothing. Thanks to Robert, Stephen, Andre, Carlo, Walter, Sharon and Wendy to name a few for making our stay so wonderful.( It's taken me ages to get to writing this review so some staff may have changed).

The pool is really nice, everything you'd expect from a tropical island but we loved the ocean. Paddling around in the (free of charge) canoes, where we explored nearby little islands with private pretty beaches, tropical plants and gorgeous shells. The water is a splendid turquoise blue and you can see the tropical fish and even the odd Sea Snake (they can't really hurt you)! You can use the snorkelling equipment and literally a hop step and jump into the sea to explore the amazing sea life.

A trip to the nearby village is a must. The children are so happy and they squeeled with delight at having their photo taken! How refreshing to see unspoiled children munching on fresh coconut and laughing at simple pleasures. We were even given a whole hand of fresh bananas to take with us when we left. Some of these people from the village work at the resort and it amazed me to see the way they look after the tourists, it's a credit to them, they are lovely people, initially shy, 100% trustworthy and happy huge smiles!

Some people whinge and whine if everything is not "what they think perfect". My suggestion is to approach Vanuatu in a relaxed, carefree and modest manner and you will enjoy your experience.

I highly recommend Eratap Beach Resort, you'll be glad you stayed there. We are & it's a holiday we will always remember with a smile.

  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Love-Having-Fun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

587 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    537
    46
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
137
396
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Australia
1 review
Reviewed 27 July 2009

We were so lucky to get this resort recommended to us! The guys at "Sure Thing Vanuatu Travel" put the package together for us with flights from Australia... The trip was nice and simple and Fantastic Value! It's exactly how I pictured it in my mind, nice sandy beaches and no surrounding hustle and bustle.. a great get away :)

The staff were great, and Tony at the front desk was helpful. I'd recommend our holiday package to ANYONE!

Enjoy :)

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria036
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
106 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 290 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2009

We loved a lot of things about Eratap but the accommodation was the standout because it was sooooo spacious and wonderful. Our two-bedroom bungalow had a huge master bedroom with a really comfortable bed; modern and spacious ensuite, living room with flatscreen TV and DVD; massive second bedroom, two bathrooms, three showers including one outdoors and a deck with two sun lounges to take in the ocean view. By far and away the nicest resort accommodation we have stayed in as a family. Loved falling asleep listening to the waves lap the shore.
Service was good - really appreciated that our bungalow was cleaned so well by mid morning and nice to find that housekeeping were generous with the beach towels. We found the waiters were prompt taking orders and our meals always arrived in good time.
The food was very good. Breakfast was included in the tariff and the menu options were many and varied. My husband and I found that we could go through until dinner with no lunch it was so substantial. They had a good kids menu and made wonderful milkshakes that were a big hit with our kids. Dinners were great – a la carte restaurant food; good wines lovely setting on an open verandah looking out the to beach (weather permitting).
The resort is located 20 mins from Vila and the last 6km is dirt road. We took advantage of the courtesy bus into town and back a couple of times to visit the markets. A lot of people when we were there seemed to stay at the resort vs venturing out and there were definitely a couple of days when we did the same. The snorkeling off the beach is very good; there are kayaks to use and a picturesque pool with heaps of sun lounges and an efficient food and drinks service. The resort offers two activities per day e.g. village visits, nature walks. We loved the boat trip over to the island across from the main beach. The Eratap activities guys were fantastic with the kids teaching them how to open coconuts, catch and cook fish and heaps of other activities.
We hired a car for a couple of days and used it to travel to Blue Water Resort to see the sharks and turtles. An interesting experience but not one I can really recommend – the resort is very run down. We drove to Mele Cascades Waterfall and wow did it live up to its reputation. We went in the afternoon and had the rockpools to ourselves for 15 minutes. The kids had a ball. We also did the Buggy tour which was fun and enjoyed the stop at Tara Beach for snorkeling – right up there with the best fish and coral we’ve saw in Vanuatu. We ate at Wild Ginger one night and enjoyed it and planned to try Chill but were too tired to drive after a big day of adventures. Unfortunately the weather stopped us diving with Karl from Vaughani Shores (he is endorsed by Eratap)……next time.
During our stay there was a mixture of couples and families. Eratap worked hard to look after both e.g. ensuring couples were seated at one end of the restaurant and families at the other. Kids are only allowed at the resort during designated school holiday periods.
Walking into that gorgeous bungalow was a real treat after a day of adventures.
There is sooooo much more to do on Efate and we will definitely go back and stay at Eratap again.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank JodieTravel01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
92 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2009

visited eratap in july 2009 school holidays with our three boys (11,8,3).
the resort was an even mix of both families and couples and is one of a few times per year where kids are welocme.
it is a small resort ( 11 one or two bedrrom villas) and this was an advantage.
its everything it looks on the web site and we enjoyed 7 days of great weather.
best way to summarise;
Location
- 30minutes from airport & 20minutes from PT vila. Shuttle bus ( free ) once per day. Plenty of shops in town for tshirts,dvds and supplies and places to eat if required.
- the last few kms are down a very bumpy road which adds to the sense of adventure and exclusiveness of the place
- sits on a natural lagoon and ocean with plenty of islands and reef to explore
The Resort
- boutique and brilliant
- the main features are the main building housing bar, restaraunt and reception ( wireless internet too) beautifully presented with timber and stone and the pool area which is larger than it looks ont eh web site.
- day spa is in a villa and very good value for money ( 60m massage $40aud)
- jetty area had two long boats on call for island hops or just a ride ( the kids though this was great) and kayaks of various sizes.
The rooms
- huge! i can vouch for the two bedroom villa ( we stayed villa 5).
- each bedroom had its owns amenities and there was even and outdoor hot/cold shower
- big loungeroom and dvd/lcd tv. ( plus a big dvd collection to use from the resort each night)
- spotless and cleaned thoroughly each day ( 3 boys put this to the test)

Activiites
- as little or as much
- pool area huge
-kayaks great
- boat rides took people island hopping, fishing or just for a ride on call
- snorkeeling gear supplied and plenty of reef just outside your villa to a 10-15m boat ride for really good coral,fish.
- no kids club as such ( even in school holidays ) but at leat two activites per day ( our kids went on a snorkelling trip, village tour, and island tour, cooked fish etc etc). it helped that our kids found others and they created their own fun at their pace ( sometimes their own thing, sometimes the organised kind)
the Food
- the view is magic, no more than 12 tables - every one a million dollar view at bfast,lunch or dinner
- the food and drinks available at the restaraunt, to your room by the pool - same cost!!
- menu was set but at leat 3 specials per night
- food prices very much at the high end ( mains $30-40aud)
-drink prices as per normal resort costs( $5aud beers, $8-10aud wine by teh glass)
- kids well catered for with lots of choice ( meal $5-10aud)
- qulaity of food very good. lots of fresh produce fish,beef,chicken- the kids did enjoy chips too!
-breakfast was non buffett - a really classy touch - minor issue was maybe the availability of some fresh fruit like apples, bananas to choose from and cut up but no request was refused - bacon egss, muffins,croisants,muesli etc
- service at dinner a little mixed and definetly island style. the staff who were all smiling ,happy and genuinely warm did their absolute best but on a few occaisions other tables received their meals first, food menu items missed, drinks forgotten........this happened when the tables were full or half empty. for parents with kids i reckon the wait for food ranks as one of the big stress tests and it occured a couple times in our stay. i think for the cost at the high end it needed just bit more order ( not formality or stuffiness) with out spoiling hte beautiful relaxed atmoshpere
Service
-Warm friendly and nothing ever too much from the king of the milkshake makers in the bar, boat drivers, reception staff or the waitstaff
Overall
-great stay
-great friendly staff
-great facilities
-great location

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank thefunfive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2009

Just returned from wonderful 3 nights at Eratap. The villa is excellent. Nothing is any trouble, excellent staff etc. Took advantage of 4 course meal plan: too much food!! When returning again would just pay for what we want. Breakfast not in meal plan but included in night stay is not a buffet, although can order whatever & how many you desire. Also a specials blackboard for breakfast, lunch & dinner

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank eaglebob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2009

We have just returned from a magical 7 days at Eratap. What a perfect place to unwind in style. You only need to experience Port Vila when a cruise ship is in port to truly value the seclusion and privacy that Eratap provides.

The staff are just wonderful, starting with Steven who picked us up from the airport at midnight, through to Tony, the owner who greeted us the following day with a beaming Aussie smile. Also a huge thank you to the waiting staff - , nothing was too much trouble!

if you want the opportunity to experience having a deserted island to yourself, arrange a picnic lunch and boat ride (free of charge) to Castaway island. White sands and warm water make for sheer enjoyment for as many hours as you want to have.

We'll be back!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Travelholic8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
geelong
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2009

My new wife and I recently stayed at Eratap and loved every minute of it.
After a very busy 18 months after returning home from living overseas we wanted a quiet getaway where we could do nothing but relax.
At Eratap we found it.
Don't let the 30 minute trip put you off from this resort. Upon seeing the resort we both said that this is exactly what we were looking for and it remained that for the rest of the week.
When we arrived we were welcomed by the owner/manager and were given an overview of the resort and Vanuatu while drinking our complimentary fruit cocktails (I still reckon a dash of vodka would make them perfect).
Having only the 12 Villas means that you don't have throngs of people to deal with as you do at the larger resorts.
Amazingly you can have an intimate dinner on the veranda of the restuarant while watching the crabs run backward and forward but what is even better is you can have a dinner for two on the beach or under a nakamal (gazebo).
The food is excellent although a bit more of local flavour would be nice but if you can't find something on the menu that appeals to you then you probably would never be satisfied.
The staff are fantastic and probably the greatest assest the resort has, next to the location. Always greeting you with a smile, nothing was ever an issue and mistakes got dealt with quickly when the odd one happend. The relaxed island attitude rubbed off on us and helped in making our time there a very relaxing week.
Spending time by the pool or a private lunch on a deserted island, its your choice and there are other activities do to if you so choose. We didn't so we won't comment on them. There is no TV and radio however you can borrow free dvd's and books which is a fantastic idea as you can truly forget that there is an outside world.
Eratap was truly a fantastic resort it added to our perfect wedding by providing our perfect honeymoon.
If you are looking for a romantic getaway, honeymoon or just in need of relaxation then look no further than Eratap and leave your Western mentality at the airport. This place rocks!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank brusta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Vila hotels
17.0 mi away
The Havannah, Vanuatu
The Havannah, Vanuatu
#3 of 47 in Port Vila
526 reviews
3.5 mi away
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
#13 of 47 in Port Vila
1,426 reviews
0.8 mi away
Aquana Beach Resort
Aquana Beach Resort
#10 of 47 in Port Vila
286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
#14 of 47 in Port Vila
643 reviews
4.7 mi away
Iririki Island Resort & Spa
5.3 mi away
Paradise Cove Resort
Paradise Cove Resort
#1 of 47 in Port Vila
525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eratap Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eratap Beach Resort

Property: Eratap Beach Resort
Address: PO Box 3037, Port Vila, Efate, Vanuatu
Phone Number:
Region: Vanuatu > Efate > Port Vila
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Port Vila
#1 Spa Hotel in Port Vila
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Port Vila
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Port Vila
#2 Luxury Hotel in Port Vila
#3 Family Hotel in Port Vila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Eratap Beach Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Eratap Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eratap Beach Hotel Port Vila
Eratap Beach Port Vila
Eratap Beach Resort Vanuatu/Port Vila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing