We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a piece of paradise in paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Island Magic Resort
Ranked #18 of 47 Hotels in Port Vila
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 November 2012

We (my wife & I sans kids!) are just back from our second visit to Vanuatu and Island Magic. First time in March this year and both times as part of a conference group. Another fantastic stay. The previous reviews really nail all the details. No exagerations there. This really is a piece of paradise in the paradise that Vanuatu is. Certainly Dave & Jane (and all their staff) ensure that any problems are resolved and questions are answers, B buses rung, restaurants recommended ... All very seamlessly. We visited some great restaurants ... Élan, Havana, Erakor, Wahoo Bar. And the American Saloon on the road in to Pt Villa. Pt Villa well worth visiting to soak in the hustle & bustle and experience the locals. All part of the gig but good to avoid "cruise ship day" ... Or not! Weather this time around not so great but that means more time to listen to the ocean and the birds, read a book and drink Tuskers!! Recommend the walk up to The Summit first thing of a morning and kayak/snorkeling with Charmaine & Terry @ Kayaking Vanuatu. We will be back, might even bring the kids??

Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
3  Thank Brendan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (170)
There are newer reviews for Island Magic Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

96 - 102 of 170 reviews

Reviewed 9 November 2012

It was perfect. The weather was pretty good. The accommodation just right. Two big bedrooms self contained eat in or go out. Great BBQ facilities. Spotlessly clean. What a relaxing time. Great for families or larger groups or honeymooners who want privacy. It tick all the boxes. Not that far from town but far enough away that it was you felt the peace and quiet

Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
Thank Rosey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2012

Time stops still a week feel like a year
A good place to relax & chill
Bungalows clean roomy and very well set out
I would go back location best looking out over Mele bay. The snorkelling was fantastic. Better than hideaway island where we went diving lots of coral and fish
The only thing is getting into / out of the water from the Jetty needs a fair bit of care. Can be a bit dangerous but that begging said is well worth the effort
The 2 bedroom 2 bathroom was fantastic as we're holidaying with young adults
A little bit out of town but that was good away from the hustle and bustle of port villa
Swimming pool was magic
The grounds we beautiful the staff very friendly and help full
A beautifull place in the world !!!!

Room Tip: Any bungalow are good
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Kerri C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2012

After the hustle and bustle of Port Vila, Island Magic is a quiet and pleasant oasis. Situated about a 15 minute drive from downtown Vila on the seafront of Mele Bay. As a word of caution, we got ripped off by a taxi driver at the airport. Island Magic is not mentioned on the list of accomodations at the airport that taxi drivers refer to too charge a fare charge. We got charge 3500 vatu to go from the airport to Island Magic. The actual cost of transfer to the Bengor Resort that is further up Devils Point Rd from Island Magic is quoted as 2700 vatu. This however was an isolated incident as we found all the other taxi drivers we dealt with to be very honest. By contrast our return transfer to the airport only cost us 1500 vatu. Jane at Island Magic is great at giving good advice on all aspects of tourist activities. The vila was luxurious with everything provided. The Mele Express shuttle is fantastic. For 1000 vatu a day you can jump off and on the shuttle at all the local attractions. The resort is very relaxing and great for kids. The fish at the end of the jetty are a daily attraction to one and all, as they are great to feed. Snorkelling is awesome. In the evening take a short 10 minute walk up the road to the Bengor Resort for dessert. I really recommend the Ugly lemon tart or chocolate souffle....yummy. The Coongoola sailing cruise is really wothwhile as it takes you to a superb remote beach on Tranquility Island. If you want a great supermarket with a good selection of food, take the Mele Express into town and get a taxi driver to take you to Au Bonmarche numba two...cost 500 vatu. We got 4 days supply of food for 8000 vatu and returned on the Mele Express. For comparison, most main meals per person cost about between 2000 and 2700 vatu. Dining out in Vanuatu can be expensive, although it is yummy but hard on the wallet. We wished we had stayed longer at Island Magic....soooo...much better that our Le lagon Resort experience. Get out of Vila and savour the Island Magic experience...you won't be disappointed.

Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
4  Thank Graeme D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2012

We stayed at island magic for four nights. The bungalows are nice, like you would find on a seaside holiday in australia. The snorkeling is right in front of the bungalows off the jetty or just stand on the jetty and feed the fish. The fish are many and plentiful. The location on mele bay is very nice. The tanna coffee shop is a bike ride away, we managed to get there every day for the tanna coffee and the chocolate brownies. The summit garden is a bus ride up the steep hill. Tara beach for swimming, kayaking and snorkelling is about a 15 min walk away. The mele express had just started operating that was good, about $10 per person for the day to go between mele bay and Vila stopping at the summit, hotels at mele, tanna coffee, cascades, beach bar/ hideaway island or mele village, then into Vila at the anchor inn. At night you could fall asleep to the sound of the waves lapping on the coral. Jane and David who manage the place were helpful and responsive to any queries or issues.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kym320
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2012

Jane and David who manage the place go out of their way to make your holiday a success.
The snorkelling is good just in front of the resort and buses are plentiful and cheap. It is very pleasant going to sleep with the sound of the sea. The bungalows are comfortable and well equiped. Would stay again. The restaurant Benjor? up the road is a bit patchy. We had some good meals there but on our last night their oven was broken and they had run out of supplies. T No items on the dessert menu were available. It appears as if they are not made at the restaurant anyway. None of this was mentioned by the staff prior to ordering. The main courses did not come as described on the menu due to the oven failure and lack of supplies.

Room Tip: The studio is the cheapest and the closest to the beach. Great value
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2012

Stayed here for 4 nights with my wife and two small kids. The bungalows are nice and well equiped, and perfectly good for our family, although ours was showing some wear. I think it should really be called 'Island Magic Serviced Apartments' because it's not really a resort, at least as I know it.
The good - the bungalows are good; the common BBQ area is good; the hosts are excellent; the jetty/bar area looks pretty good; if the weather was good (wasn't for us..) the reef right out the front looks great for snorkeling.
The average - it doesn't have any restaurant/food/bar options. Quite a way (20 minute drive) from Port Vila. That might also be a good thing...
If you're looking for a beside the pool, being bought drinks while someone cooks you a feast type of joint, this is not your place. if you want a self contained, quiet place (perfect for multiple groups of friends/family) then this is a terrific option.

Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
4  Thank ARReynolds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Vila hotels
6.8 mi away
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
#13 of 47 in Port Vila
1,504 reviews
6.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
#14 of 47 in Port Vila
679 reviews
0.4 mi away
Benjor Beach Club
Benjor Beach Club
#25 of 47 in Port Vila
358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Iririki Island Resort & Spa
7.0 mi away
Nasama Resort
Nasama Resort
#7 of 47 in Port Vila
495 reviews
7.2 mi away
Erakor Island Resort & Spa
Erakor Island Resort & Spa
#5 of 47 in Port Vila
689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island Magic Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Magic Resort

Address: Devils Point Road | Mele Bay, Port Vila, Efate, Vanuatu
Phone Number:
Region: Vanuatu > Efate > Port Vila
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Port Vila
#10 Luxury Hotel in Port Vila
#17 Romantic Hotel in Port Vila
Price Range: £80 - £177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Island Magic Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury resort with self-contained apartment accommodation with ocean views, tropical gardens, guest bbq areas, swimming pool, and jetty to access spectacular snorkeling. Ideal for wedding and family groups. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your Island Magic Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Island Magic Hotel Port Vila
Island Magic Resort Vanuatu/Port Vila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing