We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay in Port Vila”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Island Magic Resort
Ranked #18 of 47 Hotels in Port Vila
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 January 2013

Stayed a week in a two bedroom self contained unit with friends in September 2012. Each room had its own ensuite. The units were immaculate with everything one could need and David was super helpful. The resort itself was so quiet we had the small pool and amazing barbecue area to ourselves most of the time. Highly recommended if you want somewhere you can self cater (we had a free provisioning trip to Port Vila included in our rate which was handy as is some way out of the main town). Probably the best place around Vila for snorkelling as well although beach was rocky so not so good if you are wanting pristine white soft sand to lie on or walk along. We loved it and hope to return.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leeanne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (174)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

97 - 103 of 174 reviews

Reviewed 15 January 2013

Stayed 5 nights at Island Magic, and no negatives come to mind. Great bungalows, great views and great service. Jane and David are super helpful in organising tours and transport for you, and even gave us a lift on a few occasions! Bungalows are private and the resort's distance to Port Villa means that everything is really peaceful and laid back. Saying that, be aware that you will have to travel in to town for places to eat - but 400 vt per person for a friendly beachside 15 minute bus ride is fine.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nigel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2012

We arrived in Port Vila late at night a couple of days before Xmas - Jane and David organised all of our transfers and made sure we had a tropical breakfast waiting for us and our 4 year old. They could not have been more accommodating - sorting out bus rides and transport, booking us in for Xmas lunch and giving us tips as to what we should see with our 5 days.

The bungalows are spacious, clean and well appointed and the lay out of the property is such that it is private and quiet - perfect for a getaway. The jetty is awesome, the views are outstanding and the grounds are lush, pretty and well maintained.

Would recommend a stay at Island Magic any day!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2012

We (my wife & I sans kids!) are just back from our second visit to Vanuatu and Island Magic. First time in March this year and both times as part of a conference group. Another fantastic stay. The previous reviews really nail all the details. No exagerations there. This really is a piece of paradise in the paradise that Vanuatu is. Certainly Dave & Jane (and all their staff) ensure that any problems are resolved and questions are answers, B buses rung, restaurants recommended ... All very seamlessly. We visited some great restaurants ... Élan, Havana, Erakor, Wahoo Bar. And the American Saloon on the road in to Pt Villa. Pt Villa well worth visiting to soak in the hustle & bustle and experience the locals. All part of the gig but good to avoid "cruise ship day" ... Or not! Weather this time around not so great but that means more time to listen to the ocean and the birds, read a book and drink Tuskers!! Recommend the walk up to The Summit first thing of a morning and kayak/snorkeling with Charmaine & Terry @ Kayaking Vanuatu. We will be back, might even bring the kids??

Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
3  Thank Brendan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2012

It was perfect. The weather was pretty good. The accommodation just right. Two big bedrooms self contained eat in or go out. Great BBQ facilities. Spotlessly clean. What a relaxing time. Great for families or larger groups or honeymooners who want privacy. It tick all the boxes. Not that far from town but far enough away that it was you felt the peace and quiet

Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
Thank Rosey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2012

Time stops still a week feel like a year
A good place to relax & chill
Bungalows clean roomy and very well set out
I would go back location best looking out over Mele bay. The snorkelling was fantastic. Better than hideaway island where we went diving lots of coral and fish
The only thing is getting into / out of the water from the Jetty needs a fair bit of care. Can be a bit dangerous but that begging said is well worth the effort
The 2 bedroom 2 bathroom was fantastic as we're holidaying with young adults
A little bit out of town but that was good away from the hustle and bustle of port villa
Swimming pool was magic
The grounds we beautiful the staff very friendly and help full
A beautifull place in the world !!!!

Room Tip: Any bungalow are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Kerri C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2012

After the hustle and bustle of Port Vila, Island Magic is a quiet and pleasant oasis. Situated about a 15 minute drive from downtown Vila on the seafront of Mele Bay. As a word of caution, we got ripped off by a taxi driver at the airport. Island Magic is not mentioned on the list of accomodations at the airport that taxi drivers refer to too charge a fare charge. We got charge 3500 vatu to go from the airport to Island Magic. The actual cost of transfer to the Bengor Resort that is further up Devils Point Rd from Island Magic is quoted as 2700 vatu. This however was an isolated incident as we found all the other taxi drivers we dealt with to be very honest. By contrast our return transfer to the airport only cost us 1500 vatu. Jane at Island Magic is great at giving good advice on all aspects of tourist activities. The vila was luxurious with everything provided. The Mele Express shuttle is fantastic. For 1000 vatu a day you can jump off and on the shuttle at all the local attractions. The resort is very relaxing and great for kids. The fish at the end of the jetty are a daily attraction to one and all, as they are great to feed. Snorkelling is awesome. In the evening take a short 10 minute walk up the road to the Bengor Resort for dessert. I really recommend the Ugly lemon tart or chocolate souffle....yummy. The Coongoola sailing cruise is really wothwhile as it takes you to a superb remote beach on Tranquility Island. If you want a great supermarket with a good selection of food, take the Mele Express into town and get a taxi driver to take you to Au Bonmarche numba two...cost 500 vatu. We got 4 days supply of food for 8000 vatu and returned on the Mele Express. For comparison, most main meals per person cost about between 2000 and 2700 vatu. Dining out in Vanuatu can be expensive, although it is yummy but hard on the wallet. We wished we had stayed longer at Island Magic....soooo...much better that our Le lagon Resort experience. Get out of Vila and savour the Island Magic experience...you won't be disappointed.

Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
4  Thank Graeme D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Vila hotels
5.7 mi away
CoCo Beach Resort
CoCo Beach Resort
#22 of 47 in Port Vila
220 reviews
6.8 mi away
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
#12 of 47 in Port Vila
1,545 reviews
5.8 mi away
Grand Hotel And Casino
Grand Hotel And Casino
#20 of 47 in Port Vila
548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Chantilly's on the Bay
Chantilly's on the Bay
#25 of 47 in Port Vila
199 reviews
6.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
#14 of 47 in Port Vila
704 reviews
5.7 mi away
Iririki Island Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island Magic Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Magic Resort

Address: Devils Point Road | Mele Bay, Port Vila, Efate, Vanuatu
Phone Number:
Region: Vanuatu > Efate > Port Vila
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Port Vila
#11 Luxury Hotel in Port Vila
#17 Romantic Hotel in Port Vila
Price Range: £84 - £174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Island Magic Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury resort with self-contained apartment accommodation with ocean views, tropical gardens, guest bbq areas, swimming pool, and jetty to access spectacular snorkeling. Ideal for wedding and family groups. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Island Magic Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Island Magic Hotel Port Vila
Island Magic Resort Vanuatu/Port Vila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing