We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Off the beaten track”
Review of Beachcomber Lodge

Beachcomber Lodge
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Port Vila
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Beachcomber Lodge
Ranked #45 of 47 Hotels in Port Vila
Reviewed 7 August 2011

Great oasis far north of Vanuatu. Sparkling clean hot water pools, best snorkling and diving not far away. Beaches where turtles really do come and lay their eggs - we saw them. White coral sands. Perfect for windsurfing or kiting. Kids and oldies find the pools more than enough (hot indoors / warm closer to the sea / cool waves from the ocean).

If you want a resort go someplace else. This is just batching with the (clean) basics. Bonus is a bar and cafe by the poolside.

Alan is a fine host. No complaints re food, cost or our very own absolute water frontage sea side batch. We loved it.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Horekegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (18)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 15 of 18 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2011

I would not recommend this accommodation. Alan, the owner, is not nice nor helpful. We had no suggestions on where to go or what to visit. The room is big but rather basic. We had no hot water in the shower despite this is a zone of hot natural springs. The facility is old. If you are looking for a budget accommodation it’s better to go to some bungalows run by locals.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank APEZ_25_06_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2011

We decided to break up our drive around the island of Efate, Vanuatu by stopping off at the Beachcomber Lodge for a nice relaxing lunch and swim in their thermal pools.
Unfortunately, we ended up in a heated argument with a staff member who was unable to communicate in English and an owner/manager hiding in the kitchen yelling at said staff member.
Allan, if you are reading this, please take note that if YOU send a meal to the WRONG table, then it is basic PR to apologise to both tables involved. Instead we were basically accused of stealing the other table's meal and were quite rudely told that we would have to pay for the meal that was actually placed on our table and that we had ordered anyway.
Apart from the fact that the food was so revolting and inedible anyway that it was a shame we had to eat any of it. I quite baulk at the thought of paying AUD$13 for the most basic toasted cheese and ham sandwich - but at least that was edible. The garlic calamari and seafood omelette made the unlucky ones of us who ordered this to wish we had instead ordered the over-priced sandwich. It was a long drive back to our hotel in a bus on winding roads feeling sick all the way.

I would recommend by-passing this shambles of an establishment totally and drive on to the Wahu Bar in Havannah (about 10 minutes).

If you want the experience of the thermal pools then just run the hot tap in your bath in your hotel and have a nice long soak instead.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank apatasaurus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2011

We stopped by this place for lunch on the way round the island and it has a bad vibe. we felt uncomfortable when we walked in. paid over 2000 vatu each for warm soft drinks and terrible food. i asked for the fish and got a frozen crumbed patty eeewwww

out of date condiments were on the tables, the place was dirty, pools were empty. it was not welcoming at all. wish we hadnt stopped past, relieved we didnt decide to spend the night!!

just thought we should post this in case people thought it might be a nice place to stay... keep on driving. We were much happier in the places we stopped that were ni-vanuatu owned and operated.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jcbcgb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2011

We decided to stay at Beachcomber overnight as a stopover when we drive around Efate.

Although the location is beautiful along the coast line with their famous hot springs, that's pretty much all they can offer. The room was filthy and the bed and towels were disgusting. We didn't find any hospitality there and they even have a sign by the toilet says, "Pay 100 vatu to use a toilet if you're not a guest. If you don't want to pay, dig a hole and find a banana leaf." The owner is walking around half naked all the time wearing really dirty bordies which made us quite uncomfortable. When we stayed we were the only guests and the owner told us he will shut down the generator after 9:30pm although the electricity should be running 24/7. However it didn't. The ceiling fan in our room stopped after 1 hour in a pitchblack room, forced us to hardly sleep. We paid 7500 vatu for the night but I still find it expensive for the quality.

Few days later we bumped into someone who also stayed there and she said the owner was so kind and nice, driving her around, showing places to her and all. We couldn't believe it's the same guy we were talking about. Then there was a catch. He asked her to write a nice review in Trip Advisor... well, what does this tell you?

I cannot possibly recommend anyone to stay there.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Vanuatu2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2009

We stayed at Beachcomber for a total of 5 nights, and we were lucky enough to get a late booking discount of 40% on our stay there. Even with that discount, it is impossible to consider Beachcomber good value. For us it was tolerable; without the discount we would have probably left.

The base rate for the room was AUD$140 before the discount, and this included very little by way of service. When asked, the staff gave us a tray to carry back to our room for tea and coffee, towels (which should have been in the room in the first place), and after 3 nights of insect infestation they gave us fresh sheets. At no time during our stay were the rooms serviced, and even when the fresh sheets were requested they only offered to change them for us rather than simply sending somebody to service the room.

The room itself is large, but very poorly maintained. The bathroom window would not close properly, the doors didn't close properly if at all, and the mosquito nets on the windows were torn and ill-fitting. The light in our room was failing, as it flickered on and off constantly, and was too dim to read by. The shower in the bathroom was very poorly laid out from a safety point of view, requiring us to take a significant step down onto a slippery surface. The walls of the shower were heavily cracked and unsealed, allowing millipedes and other bugs to accumulate to the point that we had to wear sandals while showering. When we commented to the staff about the problem we were having with the bugs, their response was to give us a can of bug spray and assume that would fix the problem.

The accomodation aside, the restaurant was excellent and not overly expensive for food of that quality in Vanuatu. The swimming pools sourced from the nearby hot springs were a nice touch as well, providing a good alternative to the disappointing beach. The views from any part of the property are lovely, particularly when the cloud cover allowed for a proper sunset. We got the distinct impression that the focus for the staff was on the restaurant rather than the accomodation.

Don't expect to swim off the beach either; even at high tide it is far too shallow to safely get over the coral into deeper water, and the coral is almost entirely dead or dying. We would definitely recommend visiting the area and the restaurant, but staying here should be avoided, especially if you can't get any kind of discount.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IbnCattuta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2009

We stayed here for a night in late December, and had the place to our selves. We found the owner Alan to be a nice fella and he was maticulous about keeping the pool clean and tested while we were there. I will be honest in saying the bungalow was not what I had expected, and more of a granny flat - but still clean and comfortable. The meals were reasonable and local village people were very friendly. If you are not fussed with five star then this would be an okay stay. We drove from PortVilla up through Eton to here, if doing the same make sure you hire a 4 WD jeep as there was some dirt tracks along the way. We spotted a couple of times for a swim and it still only took a few hours. The thermal pools on offer here were fantastic and as previous stated in other reviews they range in temperature from hot, moderate, to cool. one indoors and two outdoors.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AussieGC72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Vila hotels
0 mi away
Iririki Island Resort & Spa
0 mi away
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
#12 of 47 in Port Vila
1,545 reviews
0 mi away
Pacific Paradise Motel
Pacific Paradise Motel
#43 of 47 in Port Vila
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Nasama Resort
Nasama Resort
#6 of 47 in Port Vila
515 reviews
0 mi away
Grand Hotel And Casino
Grand Hotel And Casino
#20 of 47 in Port Vila
548 reviews
0 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
#14 of 47 in Port Vila
704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beachcomber Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beachcomber Lodge

Address: Takara Springs | PO Box 94, Port Villa, Port Vila, Efate 4670, Vanuatu
Region: Vanuatu > Efate > Port Vila
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Port Vila
#24 On the Beach Hotel in Port Vila
Also Known As:
Beachcomber Lodge Vanuatu/Port Vila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing