We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“basic and clean in the middle of Vila”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of City Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
City Lodge
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
54 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“basic and clean in the middle of Vila”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2013

Room with bathroom and fan for 4,800 Vt (Room 103).

This lonely planet hotel is located in front of the city market. The place is not a resort, however, the room even simple was clean and comfortable. City lodge is ideal if you are travelling around Vanuatu and you have one or two days in Vila.

To get there from the airport, the budget way is to go to the Domestic terminal (3 min walking from the International one) and pick up a van/bus for 150Vt each person.

If you are carrying carvings or other wood stuff, you can fumigate them in the Quarantine centre close to the airport (5 walking in the direction to Vila). They also have an office in the International terminal, nevertheless it is not always open. It cost 1400Vt for all the carvings (we had 7 units) and 500 Vt per night if you need to keep them there, which is a good option if you are moving to other islands.



. The hotel has simple rooms but comfortable

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sastals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    8
    20
    6
    4
See reviews for
Families
0
17
15
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2012

City lodge has cheap rooms just opposite to the fruit and vegetable market. The room I had was just perfect - it was small but clean and had everything I needed. I spent there 10 days and the room was cleaned every second day. During my permanence, it happend only once that the staff put some loud music in the evening. I asked them to lower the volume and everything was sorted out.
For the rest, the location is just amazing. You go down the stairs and you are in the heart of Vila. The staff is always there so it is a very safe place where to stay. And you pay 4 times less than the average price of hotels in Vanuatu. It's a no brainer (if they are not fully booked)

Room Tip: Get the rooms facing the back side (quiter)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mario M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2012

Accomodation is pretty expensive in Port Vila - if you are looking for somewhere on the cheap side to stay and you are not worried about a lot of atmosphere or character, then this is a good option.

The room is basic. Just a bed really (also a TV, which we did not bother to even try) small bathroom which was useable, nothing fancy. Id suggest asking for a room that is not overlooking the main street - that side appears to be very noisy - the other side was fine.

There is free wifi aswell - it's a little slow, and you can really only use it near the front desk - but it's free! :) The location is great, you are right in the middle of everything.

If you are looking for something a little nicer, then look elsewhere - but this is more than adequate for those who want the basics.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank stellaslove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2012

What could you really expect when you are paying such a minimal amount each night? For what we paid, I think it was great value. The location was convenient being close to the supermarket and right in the heart of Villa and we found the rooms, though simple, to be comfortable. The common room was untidy, with other travellers leaving their breakfast things about etc. and the furniture was quite old and needed replacing. It could be quite noisy in some rooms due to the markets being directly opposite, given its location on the main road. The wi-fi only worked in the reception area. The staff were friendly and very helpful. The rooms were serviced daily with fresh towels. Hot showers were a bonus as they weren't always hot. It was exactly as expected for the price we paid.

Room Tip: Rooms on the road side are noisier. Some rooms are air conditioned. Take a bottom bunk if staying in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dreamingofaholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamborine mtn QLD
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2012

For us this was just an overnight stopover before going to Tanna,its simple just dont book there unless your a backpacker and dont care where you sleep or if you sleep,rooms are dirty, the whole place needs to be bulldozed and start again, sorry but this is how it is.Noisy all night, with phones ringing and people walking up and down the corridore.The photos are definatly misleading, and the staff are not helpfull at all.Try somewhere else.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chrissy41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Port Vila hotels

Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2012

Don't be fooled by the smart-looking photos on their website. There might be one or two bits of modern furniture, but overall this place is dire. It's dirty and rundown, staff were less than helpful (notable in as friendly a place as Vanuatu!), there was an ant colony marching up the bathroom wall, and we weren't game to use the shower lest we catch something.

Good points are its price and location, and I'm sure like many others we used it as a one-night stopover before continuing on elsewhere. Even given that, I'd suggest paying a bit more and staying elsewhere.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank akatkinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuremberg, Germany
Level Contributor
210 reviews
209 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 244 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2012

I stayed at the City Lodge for 1 night on my way from Tanna to Noumea.
The location is brilliant right in the center of Port Vila. The market, taxi stand and a supermarket is across the street. A couple of restaurants and bars are nearby. Reception staff was friendly and helpful. Wifi only worked at reception area, but that was good enough to check my eMails and the news in the evening and in the morning. Room was clean with a large bed. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laendersammler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Vila hotels
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel And Casino
Grand Hotel And Casino
#19 of 47 in Port Vila
4.0 of 5 bubbles 507 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Melanesian Port Vila
The Melanesian Port Vila
#27 of 47 in Port Vila
4.0 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
0.7 mi away
Poppy's on the Lagoon
Poppy's on the Lagoon
#23 of 47 in Port Vila
4.0 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Moorings Hotel
Moorings Hotel
#24 of 47 in Port Vila
4.0 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
0.7 mi away
Chantilly's on the Bay
Chantilly's on the Bay
#26 of 47 in Port Vila
4.0 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
0.3 mi away
Iririki Island Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Lodge

Property: City Lodge
Address: Lini (Kumul) Highway, Port Vila, Efate ., Vanuatu
Region: Vanuatu > Efate > Port Vila
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 26 Speciality Lodging in Port Vila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your City Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Hotel Port Vila
City Lodge Vanuatu/Port Vila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing