We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic”
Review of City Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
City Lodge
Reviewed 24 August 2009

We stayed 2 nights upon arrival and made our further plans from here. It was a very basic but good stay. The hotel is right opposite the Port Vila Market and thus in the most crowded places of town with loads of traffic during daytime, overfilled vans and trucks, but in a colorful way and as friendly as everything in Vanuatu.

Luckily, our room faced away from the street. Our room did wasn't air conditioned, but there was a ceiling fan to make the temperatures bearable. It was very small and we could just maneuvre about once inside. The bathroom door was sliding at best, and often not at all, so the handyman must have left the building.
The staff did their best to keep ants out, apparently that is a problem so close to the market. It never felt untidy.

Stay here anytime, but two days is enough.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank globeteller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (44)
There are newer reviews for City Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

37 - 43 of 44 reviews

Reviewed 6 July 2009

City lodge is kind of an upmarket no-frills place just opposite the market in Port-Vila. I stayed there for 3 nights whilst waiting for a plane back to Brisbane on my way to the UK. I was quite sad to be leaving the amazing place which is Vanuatu so I decided to treat myself to somewhere more comfortable.

The rooms are comforatable, clean and air conditioned. Bathroom has hot water (usual for Port-Vila but believe me not so usual for Vanuatu).

I would recommend staying here for a short stop-over. Any longer and you really should stay on Iririki or at the Sebel (which of course cost about 10x more than City Lodge!!)

I had one problem with negotiation of the price. I speak the local language and the reception girl told me my entire stay would cost 4000VT. I asked her to check and confirm this wasn't per night (in the local language and in English just to be safe) and she said it was. When I checked out I was presented for a bill for 12000VT, as obviously she was quoting me the price per night!

Otherwise - a flawless and comfortable stay!

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nickbrazel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2009

we stayed there for a couple of nights recently.

The rooms are tidy, the bathroom is clean. The price was a bit expensive (not including breakfast), but we appreciated the location, right infront of the market, and the supermarket. Windows have a good proof against mosquitoes. There is no cooking facilities.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sre_jbb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vanapong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DON KOBE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2015 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2015, travelled solo
Thank Solene P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank い あ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Vila hotels
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel And Casino
Grand Hotel And Casino
#17 of 47 in Port Vila
533 reviews
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
#14 of 47 in Port Vila
681 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Melanesian Port Vila
The Melanesian Port Vila
#26 of 47 in Port Vila
303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Poppy's on the Lagoon
Poppy's on the Lagoon
#24 of 47 in Port Vila
396 reviews
0.7 mi away
Moorings Hotel
Moorings Hotel
#29 of 47 in Port Vila
146 reviews
0.6 mi away
Vanuatu Holiday Hotel
Vanuatu Holiday Hotel
#41 of 47 in Port Vila
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Lodge

Address: Lini Highway, Port Vila, Efate ., Vanuatu
Region: Vanuatu > Efate > Port Vila
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 29 Speciality Lodging in Port Vila
Price Range: £24 - £34 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your City Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Hotel Port Vila
City Lodge Vanuatu/Port Vila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing