We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Family Holiday at affordable price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Tara Beach Bungalows
Ranked #2 of 20 Port Vila B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Rotorua
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Fantastic Family Holiday at affordable price”
Reviewed 28 August 2009

Our extended family (6 of us) recently stayed at the beautiful Tara Beach Resort. All the staff made our holiday one to remember, we all had a wonderful time, the snorkelling is excellent, the location is perfect, it was nice to be away from the hustle and bustle of the town. We have been to several Island Nights but the one at Tara Beach was by far the best we have been to, everyone had a great time and the local ladies put on a magnificient feast. If you like spirits to drink it would pay to bring your own as there was not much in the bar. We would have to say it was one of the nicest holidays we have had in Vanuatu and we have been there 4 times, thanks to all at Tara Beach.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank priscillaRotorua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    82
    49
    7
    5
    8
See reviews for
51
50
18
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
rockhampton
1 review
Reviewed 18 August 2009

Excellent family Resort, staff friendly and always helpful.
Rooms great, maybe just suggest putting a toaster or sandwich maker in the rooms.

Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank idream07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Syd
1 review
Reviewed 17 August 2009

Tara Beach Resort is unique. First, the resort is set on 40 acres of
park land. The cabins are a few metres from the beach and the view looks
back at Port Vila - beautiful by day and night. Second, there are very
few places in Vanuatu that are owned and operated by local Ni-Fan people
- in Port Vila and on the island of Efate Tara Beach is the only one.
All staff are local family members from the different islands and all
profits are distributed among these families.

If you stay at Tara Beach you have access to the best of everything. In
terms of local knowledge, Tara Beach can arrange any activity that you
might want. The owners have operated tours in Vanuatu for over 40 years.
They know the best tours, sports, hotels, recreation and dining anywhere
in Vanuatu. And, you will have loads of space inside and out at the resort.

More than anything, Tara Beach staff are Ni-Fan. This means that they
take care of you with a smile!!! What ever you want, when ever you want
it. Tara Beach will do anything they can to help make sure you have the
kind of holiday you want - singles, couples, families, conferences,
anything!!!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank morethanavisit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
1 review
Reviewed 17 August 2009

The Thursday night feast night was quite interesting and unique. Sala (the owner) is ever so happy to accommodate anyone; him and his staff give the place a vibrant and cheerful vibe. The location was a bit of a travel out of Port VIla, but it made it more private than the hectic rush experienced in the town centre.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank willpl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
queensland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 August 2009

the staff are execellent cant do enought to help .beautiful cultured freindly locals with lots of passion .rooms were your piece of paradise looking over the most amaving reef on your door step.the nataral beauty was breath taking of the comerical side of tourism trail peace and quiet locacation. great snorkelling right there fish like yiou never seen before .a real cultral exerience most freindly people. thanks SALA,CRISTINA ,CAPTAIN KARL be back again

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roosterQueensland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2009

We have recently returned from a fantastic two week holiday in Vanuatu staying the entire time a Tara Beach Resort. Tara Beach is in a very peaceful and picturesque bay with beautiful views from every bungalow and snorkelling, kayaking and swimming literally just in front of the resort. The accommodation is simple and certainly not five star (and we weren’t expecting that), but our room was cleaned every day, we had comfortable beds, hot water in our shower and the staff were fantastic. The room was fitted with three ceiling fans (that all worked) and were more than ample in keeping our room cool enough to sleep overnight. There aren’t any screens fitted on the windows however we kept the windows closed at night and having taken a plug in mozzie repellent from home had no issues with mosquito’s or bugs of any kind. The large veranda area at the front of the bungalow was fantastic, providing shade during the day, a great place to relax in the evenings and a fantastic spot early in the morning to watch the sunrise (if you get up that early).

We only ate in the restaurant three or four times and apart from the Melanesian feast night/Island Night (which is held every Thursday and well worth going to) we were really boring and chose fish every time, so I don’t feel qualified to give an overall comment on the food. I can however highly recommend the poulet fish with coconut cream and onion. The meals were a little expensive (compared to New Zealand prices) but they were the same everywhere in Vanuatu. Karl from the restaurant came and asked us each day if we intended eating in the restaurant at night, but we never felt pressured to either dine in or away. Breakfasts were simple with fruit juice, coffee & tea, cereal, toast, tropical fruits and delicious French pastries; this is included in the room rate and was more than ample.

Tara Beach is about 15-20 minutes from Port Vila itself, but transport can be arranged at the resort with the drivers from Tara Beach happy to pick you up again either at an arranged time or when phoned. We bought a local SIM card for our phone for a minimal cost and it lasted the whole holiday. The van into town is 300vt per person one way, half price for children but was still cheaper than a bus/taxi that charged approx 500vt per person.

We can highly recommend the round island trip, Christine is the guide for this full day adventure and has a fantastic knowledge of the island. We rented a car for our last three days in Vanuatu (from Discount Car Rentals, who we can highly recommend also) and returned to some of the places we had been to on our tour to do further exploring.

If you want a holiday at the Ritz, go to the Ritz. Tara Beach doesn’t have all the luxuries of a big resort, there is no pool, no kids club (although babysitting is available) and no beauty spa, but if you want a peaceful and relaxing holiday in beautiful surroundings, where the staff treat you like family and where you can snorkel with the fish and turtles, kayak in the bay, enjoy magnificent scenery and just chill out, then Tara Beach is ideal.

Check out some more of our photos of Vanuatu on Flickr http://www.flickr.com/photos/tony_nz/sets/72157621504490757/ .

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HilaryNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2009

For a group of 21/22 year old guys Tara was great. The resort is a way out of town, which gets you away from the noise etc. of Port Vila and onto a private beach (though of course means that a taxi or bus ride is required to get into town for shopping). The staff were great, and genuinely helped us get the most out of our trip (Carl for example organised a soccer game between us and the nearby village, as well as spending plenty of time telling us where to stay and what to see in other parts of Vanuatu). The kayaks that were freely available were great and we spent a day paddling around the coastline - I should advise caution to anyone who like us thinks they can surf waves with kayaks though! The snorkelling just off the beach was also great.
A highlight for me was the fact that we were able to sit on the beach or on the grass playing cards or reading all day, and to stay there as late into the night as we wanted without disturbing anyone.

Potential issues that were not huge for us, but that some travellers may have - the rooms, which comfortable, were certainly not luxurious. The mattress was quite thin, the toilets were clean workable but not great. The restaurant was quite expensive, but that was the case in most places in Vanuatu. For travellers on a budget (as we certainly were) it is a lot cheaper to buy food at supermarkets in Villa and then do your own thing. The distance from town could perhaps also worry some people. By taxi / minibus Tara is about 15-20 mins from Port Vila. The resort provides a minibus service for 300vt per person (charging per person surprised us at first but the same technique is used by minibuses in town as well).

Basically, for anyone who wants to be a bit secluded, wants a more authentic experience than most places offer and who isn't fussed with just having the basic comforts, I would strongly recommend Tara.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fishonataro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Vila hotels
0.6 mi away
Benjor Beach Club
Benjor Beach Club
#25 of 47 in Port Vila
4.5 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
1.0 mi away
Island Magic Resort
Island Magic Resort
#19 of 47 in Port Vila
4.5 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
8.5 mi away
The Havannah, Vanuatu
The Havannah, Vanuatu
#3 of 47 in Port Vila
5.0 of 5 bubbles 530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Hideaway Island Resort
Hideaway Island Resort
#13 of 47 in Port Vila
4.5 of 5 bubbles 610 reviews
7.4 mi away
Erakor Island Resort & Spa
Erakor Island Resort & Spa
#5 of 47 in Port Vila
4.5 of 5 bubbles 657 reviews
5.6 mi away
Paradise Cove Resort
Paradise Cove Resort
#1 of 47 in Port Vila
5.0 of 5 bubbles 530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tara Beach Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tara Beach Bungalows

Property: Tara Beach Bungalows
Address: Devil's Point Road | Mele Bay, Port Vila, Efate, Vanuatu
Region: Vanuatu > Efate > Port Vila
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Port Vila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Tara Beach Bungalows 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tara Beach is absolute beach front situated on 12 lush acres fronting picturesque Mele Bay, Efate, Vanuatu. With crystal clear, safe waters at your doorstep, we are the perfect spot for snorkeling, kayaking, swimming and getting away from it all for a while. We also have a chilled out open air bar / cafe known as the Beach Hut that is also open to day visitors and locals. Located about 15 mins from town & 10 mins to the airport, we provide free airport transfers for guests. All bungalows have tea and coffee making facilities and a fridge, with ocean views a few metres from your door included as standard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Cancelon so you can book your Tara Beach Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tara Beach Bungalows Hotel Port Vila
Tara Beach Hotel
Tara Beach Port Vila
Tara Beach Bungalows Vanuatu/Port Vila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing