We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Felt like millionaires....”
Review of Villa 25

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Villa 25
Certificate of Excellence
Sunshine Coast, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
79 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Felt like millionaires....”
Reviewed 22 December 2011

I have been very slow in writing this review as I wanted Villa 25 to sink in before I started writing about it. There are so many great things about this place. It is not far from town by taxi ($2). Kendrick our driver was a really nice guy and always on hand to pick you up on request using the mobile provided in the villa. The villas are in an idyllic location and are truly 5* in design and comfort. I loved putting all our dirty washing from our Tanna trip in the basket and finding it clean and folded on our bed at the end of the day and at no charge! The communal outdoor kitchen was a great place to keep wine and nibbles to watch the sun go down. The snorkelling right in front of the villas was great but a bit hard to get in the water with the rocky reef. No problem-walk out the front turn right past 2 houses and there is a jetty was was perfect and very close to some marked and first class snorkelling.
We had the villa with the view across the infinity pool to the ocean which was the best located. I would think that if you were a large group of friends or family and that you hired the entire place it would just be fantastic.
We were here for our anniversary and although only 2 of the villas were occupied at the time we were there I would think that if they are all occupied then some of the romance may be lost.
I am going to be very picky here and mention some very small negatives-no bathroom smellies provided at all which i was surpised at and the promised bottle of champagne never arrived.
One other thing to bear in mind if bringing kids(actually even for yourself) is that the tiling around the pool is VERY slippery when wet. I really do think that they should re-coat the area in anti slip finish. The owners may have fixed this already.
Aside from these pretty insignificant negatives, we absolutely loved Villa 25 for the luxury and isolation in a world class location. We would go back in a heart beat.

Room Tip: Choose the villa that looks directly across the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank thesprouts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KrisShepherd, General Manager at Villa 25, responded to this review, 10 January 2012
Thank you so much for your wonderful review. Your stay here was in Nov/Dec 2010 so there have been many changes since then. The owners have stepped back from Villa 25 management to enjoy Vanuatu in a more leisurely manner, and have employed myself as the General Manager.

You’ll be pleased to know that the slippery tile situation is finally being resolved; after many months of extensive product testing trying to find the right solution, we have at last identified a product that will withstand this environment. We have also put up signs warning of the problem.

We now have soaps and our own branded shampoo and conditioners in the bathrooms which everyone seems to love.

I am so sorry that you did not get the bubbles you were expecting, I’m sure it was an oversight – hopefully one day you will be back and we can rectify that situation.


Again thank you for your feedback.

Kind Regards
Kris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    146
    8
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
57
45
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 October 2011

Dear Kris & the Villa 25 team,

Our stay in Vanuatu was truly magical due to the outstanding accommodation at Villa 25. Having the coral reef right at our doorstep allowed for daily access to some of the best snorkelling on the island! Loved the free and easy access to the reef shoes, snorkelling equipment, and both single and double kayaks.

Kris made all the little luxuries possible including chilled champagne in the fridge on arrival and a pre order of breakfast groceries (eggs, bread, juice, fresh fruit etc). She was also on hand to organise heavenly massages with Lin, mini bus transfers with Willie (on $10 AUD to/from dinner with the use of a villa mobile), friendly housekeeping from Helen who kept our rooms immaculate, and a fantastic 3 course meal by Chef Fiona. Fiona arrives the morning of your dinner to consult on what you would like and discuss what’s in season at the markets. The homemade lemon preserve yoghurt on the chicken main was to die for. Special mention must also go to the fun loving foursome in our neighbouring villa that joined in for Fiona’s dinner party.

During the day we looked after ourselves with breakfast and lunch, enjoying use of the communal kitchen, bbq and undercover lounge area. Being able to drink the clean water straight from the tap is also another plus in Vanuatu.

Our favourite restaurant by far was Vila Chaumieres. Kris ensured we were given a great table on the deck over looking the fish. Loved the ambience, music, service and food. Seafood pasta, beef wellington and affogato with local coffee were all amazing!

A visit to the Cascade Waterfalls is also very worthwhile if you can drag yourself away from lounging by the beautiful swimming pool!

Villa 25 provided our ideal luxury stay – SIMPLY WONDERFUL!

Room Tip: All rooms have excellent views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ciaraxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2011

The rooms are appointed with everything you could ask for, premium appointments and appliances. Beautiful pool view and snorkeling on your doorstep. The in-house dining option with the amazingly talented and charming Fiona was the pinnacle of an amazing place, it was close to perfection

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GraemeB1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2011

This is a sanctuary away from Port Vila itself. Beautifully appointed villa with huge shared chef's kitchen overlooking the water. Snorkelling is only a few steps away from the infinity pool. Hosts are lovely and Kendrick the bus driver a gem. We checked out quite a few hotels, including ones that our families had chosen - by far Villa 25 was the most luxurious and peaceful. The photos on the website truly reflect how lovely this location is. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank howieandchau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sydney
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

Villa 25 is stunning, nothing can beat the serenity of the place and the gorgeous sunsets!

The communal kitchen is well stocked and the view to die for, it makes cooking a pleasure.

Kris is very attentive and so helpful. Everything from keeping the wine fridge stocked, to organising car hire, bus and taxi pick up to and from town.

We stayed for 4 nights with our 14 month old son and he loved the place. Its not so child friendly in the sense that we needed to keep our eyes on him at all times with the pool and ocean and being paranoid about keeping him quiet and away from the other guests who are there for peace and quiet.. Would be a perfect place to stay with kids if you booked out the whole place.

The villas are about 10 mins out of town, its a gated community lined with beautiful holiday homes. The villas are about 1.5km from the gate.

There are a few kayak's to head out to the snorkle spots which is fantastic and many lounges to lie in the pool.

There are ample DVD's and books to keep you entertained.

On the way to the villas, we stopped at the supermarket (Bon Marche) to get all our goods, it is stocked with all well known brands. There is also a 24 hour fruit and veg market that the locals run is cheap.

Overall we had a great time.

Room Tip: All villas have a great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank neat78Sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bribie Island, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2011

Stayed in Villa 25 for three days as part of our trip to Vila ....This is an amazing Holiday Rental and the attention to detail is excellent...It is situtaed in a locked Housing Estate a little way from Port Vila...but it is easy to get a ride..this can be organised by the manager...you can walk into town ..it is long but a great experience....we did it. easily .. went to the Supermarket then got a cab back..Dont shop in town...go to the local supermarkets and you can purchase amazing fresh fish beef, salad and french breads etc...we did not find it expensive...we had the Villas to ourselves so I think we were spolit... if you want a family Holiday this is magnificent....I am sure it would still be wonderful if there were others there....there is a communal Kitchen where you can cook and sit and just watch the sun go down...or there are kayaks snorkelling gear...we also did lots of walks to the villages and around Pango if you are so inclined... The owners of Villa 25 have thought of everything...they have a music selection a dvd selection that would keep anyone happy and the quality of everything from the sound system to the plates and cutlery is exceptional....the manager was away at the time of our stay but another lady was close by if we needed her...The Villa is quiet and the position overlooking the water is beautiful....I really do not have any negatives about this accomodation....the bed and pillows were very comfortable...we really loved it...and would have loved to have stayed longer.....totally recommend....

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SASH44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2011

We stayed in Villa number 3 from 20th-27th August. We had two 7.2 magnitude earthquakes and about 26 aftershocks during our stay! We took advice from the locals and decided we were in no real danger! And, in any case, you couldn't wish for a more luxurious place to experience your first earth tremor!! I can't really add much more to the universally excellent results this place gets. We had massage and spa treatments from Dolores, evening dinner and cooking classes from Fiona and efficient taxi services from Kendrick. We went kayaking on the lagoon and also had a fantastic morning jet-skiing (George's Jet Skis on Iririki Island). We came her to relax and enjoy and that's exactly what we did!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pazzee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Vila hotels
1.7 mi away
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
#12 of 47 in Port Vila
1,466 reviews
13.2 mi away
The Havannah, Vanuatu
The Havannah, Vanuatu
#3 of 47 in Port Vila
546 reviews
0.5 mi away
CoCo Beach Resort
CoCo Beach Resort
#25 of 47 in Port Vila
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Iririki Island Resort & Spa
1.3 mi away
Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu
1.5 mi away
Nasama Resort
Nasama Resort
#7 of 47 in Port Vila
478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa 25? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa 25

Property: Villa 25
Address: Dream Cove 25 | Wharf Road, Port Vila, Efate, Vanuatu
Phone Number:
Region: Vanuatu > Efate > Port Vila
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 28 Speciality Lodging in Port Vila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Villa 25 4.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just five minutes drive from Port Vila’s bustling shops, food markets and exciting fusion of French, Pacific and Asian restaurant flavours you can enjoy the sumptuous seclusion of Villa 25, a boutique oasis where the sound of the sea laps on the warm white sand.The configuration of three spacious, beautifully-appointed two bedroom villas, a large swimming pool flanked by a pavilion on a sheltered beach, in an exclusive gated location, is tailor-made for groups of friends or a family celebration. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Villa 25 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa 25 Hotel Port Vila
Villa 25 Vanuatu/Port Vila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing