We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Relaxing Holiday”
Review of Villa 25

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Villa 25
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 June 2012

We stayed at Villa 25 for 8 nights with another couple and we could not believe how much better than the video this place is.
We were a little apprehensive about the distance from town and self catering, but when we realised we were a $10 taxi ride with Willie from town, and he was happy to wait while we went to the supermarket on the return trip, we were pleased we took this option.
We stayed at Le Lagon for 3 nights before we came to Villa 25 and were over the standard hotel type buffets.
The pool was fantastic, and the villa we stayed in, Villa 1, was very well appointed with a great shower, lounge, bedrooms and kitchen. We cooked in our Villa and used the outdoor pool house kitchen as well.
We went out for dinner to Chills restaurant and The Brewery and enjoyed both evenings.
Did the beach buggy, yacht trip with snorkelling and a day trip around the island with Willie the driver, but the best thing we did was a day trip with Air Safaris to Pentecost Island to see the land diving . You get given a mobile phone with your Villa and can use it to call your driver or call up a local operator to organise a trip.
We were fortunate to share the hospitality of the owners who were staying at Villa 25 for half of our nights, and then we had the place to ourselves for the last half of the stay.
This would be a fantastic place to go with a group friends for a week, and if we return to Vanuatu, we will definitely be staying here again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HelenRossI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (176)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

144 - 150 of 176 reviews

Reviewed 3 June 2012

As a sporty professional couple without kids, we always look for unique experiences when we are on leave. We spent a week on Efate and wanted to check out the top resorts on the island: we had lunch at Eratap, dinner at Breakas, stayed 2 nights at The Havannah and 3 nights at Villa 25.

Villa 25 stood out as it truly felt like a home away from home with ultimate freedom to do what we felt like. It is very well built, clean and has top facilities. The outdoors kitchen, pool and entertaining area right on the beach were our absolute favourite. The location is perfect for exploring the south of the island as well as Port Villa. Trying out some restaurants in town as well as shopping in the local supermarket in order to do our own cooking were a very nice variation to the resort-style meals.

One thing to consider is that the 3 villas have a fairly intimate setting, so your 'neighbours' can impact the quality of your stay.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FrandEl10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2012

We are just back from a week at Villa 25 and we absolutely rate this as the best accommodation option in Vanuatu and Port Villa. I've been to Vanuatu 3 times in the last 10 years and stayed at Iririki first and then LeMeridian - this way out classed those options. Villa 25 is just 5 minutes from central Port Villa in a secure gated paradise - we loved that we could pop into town on a local bus - you just order the bus from the villa and they are about $3 each person, we would go in and pick up some amazing produce at the local markets, have a shop around in the local stores and then return to our quiet paradise. The privacy in the villas is good however we loved the well appointed communal pavilion where we enjoyed plenty of meals and meet some other interesting travelers. The snorkeling straight in front of the villa was safe and good with plenty of colorful fish. We swam in the pool and used the kayaks. All up I can't rate this enough and we are planning a holiday next year where we plan to hire all 3 villas between a group of friends.

Room Tip: There is no fitness centre but I my running shoes and ran 6km each morning with the secure, gated an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Trish M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2012

8 days at Villa 25 went by far too fast. Great location, excellent staff, first-class facilities. If you're looking for some luxury and seclusion then this is the place for you. Lovely private beach, fantastic infinity pool, use the full shared kitchen or cook in your room - or take one of the exclusive taxi services to a local restaurant.

Room Tip: All three villas are well located and there's nothing to chose among them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bowering
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2012

DEFINITELY HIGHTLY RECOMMENDED.

Efate island is dotted with “holiday resorts” that are, unfortunately, mostly akin to tacky motels. Villa 25 is a heavenly contrast – 3 self-contained villas on the one property with all the modern comforts and zero tackiness. The only other comparable accommodation that I know of on the island would be The Havannah, but for a detached bungalow at that resort you’d be paying out of your nose and it is located 30 minutes drive away from the city. Villa 25 is definitely better value for money, more intimate, and most probably better quality.

Villa 25 is located 5 minutes out of the main city strip so you get convenience as well as reclusiveness. There are 3 drivers who know the villa well and can be readily contacted for a lift out. The Villa provides a handy local mobile phone pre-charged with VT500 (great touch), which lasted us a good while. Expect to pay a slight premium (compared to local bus prices) but the drivers Willie, Kendrick and Ben are great fun and reliable so we had no issues with paying a little bit more each time.

Villa 25 proved to be our ideal couple’s getaway. We did not want to do too much more than lazing in the sun and wading in the pool or ocean. Being right on its own little beach, the Villa was perfect for this. It is also the spot for staking out whales, dolphins, dugongs, sunset watching and star gazing. You can even feel special by having your scuba operator (I went with Big Blue - professional and friendly) pick you up right from your the villa's own jetty. Kayak, snorkel, and swim – all at your disposal and door step 24/7.

We also did some fantastic site seeing, which was made easy with the drivers on call and the option of hiring a car for a couple of days (must go’s: Blue Lagoon, Mele Cascade, Eton Beach, Erakor Island). H*rtz dropped off and picked up the car from the villa free of charge – another bonus of the villa’s convenient location. We also frequented the city, visiting the local fruit veg market and supermarkets to pick up breakfast items, drinks, and snacks. We always caught the bus back from town – just wave your arm and a privately operated minivan is sure to pull up, agree on your destination and fare, and hop right on – it'll only cost VT100-300 for an easy quick ride back to the villa. If you’re lucky, you might even get to meet some locals en route.

The housekeeping ladies and caretaker of the villa were also very friendly and helpful. Our villa was serviced daily and fresh flowers were a nice touch. The caretaker kept the pool and grounds spotless everyday and even helped ‘handle’ a little snake that fell from a beam in our villa one morning. Come prepared to reside with some harmless insects and be lullabied to sleep with a chorus geckos and crickets – all part of the au'naturale charm, which I for one really enjoyed.

I have incurable acute phobia when it comes to snakes but even I was able to frolic carelessly and nap whenever, whereever around the villa grounds, so don’t be put off with the small snake visit I just mentioned.

Some suggestions to make Villa 25 even more exquisite:

* Grocery service – We actually really enjoyed making our own breakfast everyday and even a lunch. The villa and communal kitchen both have well equipped kitchens with all the modern western appliances, so we think a grocery service would be a useful and natural addition.

* Body lotion – If you sun baked as much as I did, body lotion on-hand would have been heaven sent. Other toiletry items would have been good too, although the villa already provides abundant shampoo and conditioner.

* More shading down at the beach – There are two great deck chairs and a picnic type bench down by the beach. We would have used that area more during the day if it had more shade. The one umbrella didn't do much.

* Room Service – Some basic room service options would have been fully utilised, if reasonably priced.

Room Tip: Villa 1, which we stayed in, had the least direct view of the ocean. Initial thought was ‘oh bummer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank iSmurf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2012

After reading all the positive reviews of Villa 25, I was a bit skeptical about whether a place could live up to this kind of reputation. But, our stay there exceeded all expectations we had, and kudos must go to Kris and her hard working team for creating such an exceptional experience!

Our highlights included the beautiful snorkelling directly out the front of the property, the shared kitchen area (with amazing pool and views), as well as the location - just far enough out of town (5-10 minute taxi) for it to be peaceful but not inconvenient.

I won't repeat what others have said about the rooms, other to say they are perfectly appointed and spacious. The self-serve bar, snorkel equipment and DVD library are nice touches as well.

Thanks Kris and team (and Kendrick!) - the image of sitting by 'that' pool will be burned in our minds for a long time to come!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank computerjules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2011

I have been very slow in writing this review as I wanted Villa 25 to sink in before I started writing about it. There are so many great things about this place. It is not far from town by taxi ($2). Kendrick our driver was a really nice guy and always on hand to pick you up on request using the mobile provided in the villa. The villas are in an idyllic location and are truly 5* in design and comfort. I loved putting all our dirty washing from our Tanna trip in the basket and finding it clean and folded on our bed at the end of the day and at no charge! The communal outdoor kitchen was a great place to keep wine and nibbles to watch the sun go down. The snorkelling right in front of the villas was great but a bit hard to get in the water with the rocky reef. No problem-walk out the front turn right past 2 houses and there is a jetty was was perfect and very close to some marked and first class snorkelling.
We had the villa with the view across the infinity pool to the ocean which was the best located. I would think that if you were a large group of friends or family and that you hired the entire place it would just be fantastic.
We were here for our anniversary and although only 2 of the villas were occupied at the time we were there I would think that if they are all occupied then some of the romance may be lost.
I am going to be very picky here and mention some very small negatives-no bathroom smellies provided at all which i was surpised at and the promised bottle of champagne never arrived.
One other thing to bear in mind if bringing kids(actually even for yourself) is that the tiling around the pool is VERY slippery when wet. I really do think that they should re-coat the area in anti slip finish. The owners may have fixed this already.
Aside from these pretty insignificant negatives, we absolutely loved Villa 25 for the luxury and isolation in a world class location. We would go back in a heart beat.

Room Tip: Choose the villa that looks directly across the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank thesprouts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KrisShepherd, General Manager at Villa 25, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2012

Thank you so much for your wonderful review. Your stay here was in Nov/Dec 2010 so there have been many changes since then. The owners have stepped back from Villa 25 management to enjoy Vanuatu in a more leisurely manner, and have employed myself as the General Manager.

You’ll be pleased to know that the slippery tile situation is finally being resolved; after many months of extensive product testing trying to find the right solution, we have at last identified a product that will withstand this environment. We have also put up signs warning of the problem.

We now have soaps and our own branded shampoo and conditioners in the bathrooms which everyone seems to love.

I am so sorry that you did not get the bubbles you were expecting, I’m sure it was an oversight – hopefully one day you will be back and we can rectify that situation.


Again thank you for your feedback.

Kind Regards
Kris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Vila hotels
13.2 mi away
The Havannah, Vanuatu
The Havannah, Vanuatu
#2 of 47 in Port Vila
600 reviews
0.5 mi away
CoCo Beach Resort
CoCo Beach Resort
#20 of 47 in Port Vila
227 reviews
3.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
#13 of 47 in Port Vila
716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
#11 of 47 in Port Vila
1,579 reviews
2.2 mi away
Iririki Island Resort & Spa
1.5 mi away
Nasama Resort
Nasama Resort
#6 of 47 in Port Vila
528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa 25? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa 25

Address: Dream Cove 25 | Wharf Road, Port Vila, Efate, Vanuatu
Phone Number:
Region: Vanuatu > Efate > Port Vila
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 29 Speciality Lodging in Port Vila
Price Range: £220 - £244 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Villa 25 4.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just five minutes drive from Port Vila’s bustling shops, food markets and exciting fusion of French, Pacific and Asian restaurant flavours you can enjoy the sumptuous seclusion of Villa 25, a boutique oasis where the sound of the sea laps on the warm white sand.The configuration of three spacious, beautifully-appointed two bedroom villas, a large swimming pool flanked by a pavilion on a sheltered beach, in an exclusive gated location, is tailor-made for groups of friends or a family celebration. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Villa 25 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa 25 Hotel Port Vila
Villa 25 Vanuatu/Port Vila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing