We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heavenly Holiday at Villa 25!”
Review of Villa 25

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Villa 25
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
“Heavenly Holiday at Villa 25!”
Reviewed 6 August 2013

Villa 25 was like paradise, with its lush grounds, stunning infinity pool & amazing snorkeling. The outdoor lounge, kitchen & dining area was very comfortable & well equipped for our large family group of 12. Villas were serviced daily which was a treat, they included all facilities & super comfortable beds!! Reef shoes, snorkeling gear, DVDs, books, magazines & games available to borrow. When not relaxing, swimming, snorkeling or kayaking we went out on many day trips. Would recommend organizing minibus with Kris as the roads are in very poor condition. Also great to get local info from drivers. Had great fun on buggy adventures-wear old clothes. Threw out lollies to local children. All enjoyed swimming at picturesque “Blue Lagoon”. Went on a round Island day trip, pack own lunch as not many places to stop for food & drinks. Visited Turtle Bay Park –question value for money. Visited “Cascade Waterfalls” –Stunning. Wear reef shoes & take your towel & camera. We also visited a local village &handed out some Australiana gifts. On Thursday night we went to Erakor Island & enjoyed a delicious banquet, traditional dancing & amazing fire dance. Boys participated “Caruso” fishing charter & caught HUGE fish! A special thank you to Kris, Villa 25’s onsite manager, for her friendliness, honesty, good humor & willingness to help us with any of our queries as well as help recommend a fantastic itinerary during our stay. With her easy going nature she is a joy to be around! Villa 25 is an amazing destination that we would highly recommend to a large family or group of friends who appreciate luxury & privacy in a stunning setting. We would love to go again!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Megan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    146
    8
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
57
45
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed 13 July 2013

If total r and r is what you are after, then a trip to villa25 is a must. From the moment we walked in and saw the breathtaking view, we forgot about the hustle and bustle of everyday life. Thanks Kris for your great hospitality and Willie for transport, nothing was a bother. Top of our recommendation list. Mike and Lisa Donsen

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Lsaloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 July 2013

From the minute we arrived we were blown away by the property and the surrounds. Absolutely beautiful. We were picked up by Willy the driver who also looked after us during our stay, being it a trip to the supermarket or visiting places of interest. We were met by Kris the property manager who was very attentive throughout our stay. The location is both serene and beautiful, offering not only peace and quiet but a number of water activities such as kayaking, snorkelling and paddle boarding. We also did a number of walks wich were stunning. The catering facilities are great and we used them just about everyday. Immaculately maintained and serviced. We highly recommend Villa 25

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Alan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed 6 July 2013

Had a wonderfully relaxing break at villa 25. Kris is a fantastic host and makes you feel at home and organises everything for you. The staff are friendly and helpful. Accommodation is first class and kept immaculately clean. View is fantastic. Would easily recommend.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Kerry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somers, Victoria, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 July 2013

Having extensively travelled in Europe, England, Australia, Africa and New Zealand, Villa 25 is the most beautiful place we have stayed. The hostess and staff were excellent. A wonderfully relaxing and beautiful holiday. Leonie H

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leonie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2013

My husband and I have just spent a week in Vanuatu at Villa 25. We wanted a very quiet holiday to rejuvenate the batteries and help to build health after illness, and this was the ideal place. It is a small property, only 3 villa's built close together, but ours felt private. We were in villa #3 and it is closest to the sea and has excellent sea views.

The villa's are very nicely built and decorated, and are very comfortable and spacious. You have sea views and the pool is 10 steps from your private patio. They have wooden slat louvres throughout that are typical island style. but there are no insect screens. Electric plug in mosquito devices are available - we brought our own too just in case, and although there aren't many mozzies there are some every day. Aussie plugs and electricity throughout the islands.

Villa 25 service is good and comes with smiles - you get a daily clean up and bed remake- and Kris the onsite manager checks in to see how you are going from time to time, but not too often. She's very easy to talk with and emails were prompt and informative. The villas have nice thoughtful touches like a mobile phone for your usage, there is a plethora of seasonings, sauces and condiments for you to use in your cooking freely available, and the house keeping staff often put fresh native blooms in baskets or poked into things in the bathroom for your pleasure.

The beds are zipped together singles, but we only discovered this during conversation with Kris! In other words, they are very comfortable and you don't notice that it isn't a King size mattress. They are a little worn in the middle and the pillows were a bit flat and could probably be replaced, but we still slept very well. There is a large library of movies and books to use with recent films too, and there are kayaks and paddle boards as well as snorkelling equipment. You will definitely need to use reef shoes to go into the sea as the coral comes right to the shoreline. They have them, but we elected to bring our own. The colourful fish right off shore are pretty entertaining.

The villa's are self catered, and it is easy to get supplies in town at the Au Bon Marche supermarket. Local beef and chicken is very good quality, expect to have a somewhat limited choice in vegetables locally grown but quite good, and the rest is imported so is not so ripe sometimes. The local produce market is worth a visit and you can make a good meal out of what is available there too. If you are a gluten free eater then it is recommended for you to bring your own bread and crackers etc, because there are no baked goods to chose from in the shops for this kind of eating. I brought in a loaf of GF bread and it was no problem at customs.

We ate out one night at local restaurant Elan - nicely done but flavours were underwhelming - which is a lovely spot on the water and an easy 15 minute stroll from Villa 25. Another night we organised for local Aussie chef Fiona to cook for us at the villa. The food was technically nicely done, but again we found flavours lacking. Important to note here that rather than this being a deficiency on the part of the chefs, it's that produce and ingredients can be very hard to come by so people have to make do with what is available. Fiona is delightfully entertaining and our dinner was as much her food as her stories and wonderful personality and we would recommend it.

Driver Willie was great, on time reliable and a decent guy very easy to chat with. Kris organised our first pick up from the airport with a stop off on the way for a grocery shop, that cost 3000 vatu (approx AUD$30) and his number is programmed into the mobile phone at the villa's. There is another driver Abel, but we didn't meet him. These two drivers are the only ones allowed into that area - there is a gate - and are very reliable and trusted by people in the area.

One of the coolest things we discovered by accident is the glow in the dark mushrooms that are native to the forests here. We walked from Villa 25 to Elan restaurant and part of the way is unlighted with forest on either side of the road ( there is a torch in the villa, and the walk is not at all scary!). We noticed little blue lights in the forest, which seemed to increase in luminescence after we shone our torch at them. Willie told us when we asked him later that they are called 'soopooey' or something like that, and that you can stick them to your head when you walk in the forest so that people can see you and not bump into you! Delightful!

Pro's: Villa 25 is a VERY relaxing and peaceful place to visit. It's quiet, there is a unique sea on your doorstep, pleasant pool to relax in/by, the buildings are well done and elegant, intimate atmosphere, well run accommodation, very safe. Robes supplied, but no slippers.

Con's: There is no actual beach, but Efate doesn't really have this so much, other islands in the archipeligo do. If you want to just walk out into the sea and flop in the water it is not really possible, the coral takes a bit of effort to negotiate. Rack rate price is quite high, and there are small things that would make me not want to pay that price: toilet paper is very flimsy cheap stuff, sheets are not changed in a 7 day period - which in that humid weather would be better changed at least once. Some equipment didn't work so well - remotes for tv/hi-fi didn't work, air-con remote had a 'personality' ; probably because such close proximity to the sea is really hard wearing on equipment so important to take into consideration. No insect screens means that you occasionally have to deal with small critters such as gecko's (cute but poop here and there), mozzies and other flying insects, and the occasional curious crab or spider: air con and electric mozzie plug in are probably essential for a good sleep, no nets over bed. Overall nothing big to bother one, but if you don't get a good price deal then these things could grate in the cost-benefit analysis. Beware the super slippery tiles when wet - apparently a problem all over Vanuatu.....

Overall impression: Villa 25 is a safe bet, you'll have a really good trip and feel great about your choice.

Room Tip: All villas are nice, probably villas 1 & 3 are more private. Villa 1 is has less sea view but mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
5 Thank CCWorldTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
villa25vanuatu, Manager at Villa 25, responded to this review, 5 June 2013
Hi CCWorldTraveller,

Sorry for the delay in responding I have been away overseas. Thanks for your comments, it’s always good to get feedback on things we can improve on - great to hear you enjoyed your stay. Just a couple of things to note – you’ll be pleased to hear the bad batch of super king mattresses are being replaced as we speak, they are currently on a ship to Port Vila from NZ, along with a big supply of great pillows.

We are in the process (as weather and tides allow) of putting in a walking path across the coral to allow easy access for swimming.

The toilet paper we have is, unfortunately, dictated by the container ships that come in and the ordering efficiency of the local suppliers, at the time you were here that paper was all we could get. Thankfully a ship has come in and we are back to our normal supply.

The sheets are changed every three days and I have checked the work sheet for the house girls showing they were in your case, but perhaps there was a slip up - I do apologise and will speak to the girls about it.

To be honest the insects here are minimal considering we are in the tropics, we have very few issues with them. They hate air conditioning and fans (hence no mosquito nets on the beds and much cooler sleeping) and are rarely a problem if one of those are on. To have screens would mean enclosing everything completely and Villa 25 has been designed for maximum airflow to keep things as cool as possible, we do supply insect repellent, fly spray and mozzie plugs in every villa. The geckos are a tropical fact of life and even with screens they still get in as they live within the building structure – we have learnt to cohabitate and enjoy each other’s company even when they get a bit raucous! Crabs come in the open doors but again they are to be expected on the waterfront in the tropics on the waterfront.

I was not aware that the remotes were not working, they were fine when I tested them all yesterday, however I have put new batteries in all of them today so hopefully this will alleviate any random problems.

Thanks again for coming to stay – we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2013

From reading other reviews we knew we had booked something special; however, we had no idea how great it would be. From the moment Willy picked us up from the airport not long after our flight had landed (way ahead of schedule - no idea how Willy knew it was early!) it was off to the supermarket to get some supplies and onto Villa 25. The Villas are well stocked with milk and condiments, and all the cooking utensils, bowls, cups, glasses etc. you will need. And that's just the Villa. The common area has even more with a full size oven and BBQ etc. for those really BIG cook-ups with family/friends.

The Villas themselves are a great size; high ceilings, quad/bi-fold doors and slat windows make for an open air experience that can be shut up in the evening to keep the bugs out. The bathroom is lovely, towels are provided (one set for the bathroom and one set for the pool) with modern toilets and a MASSIVE shower head and instant gas hot water that never runs out! Each of the two bedrooms has a ceiling fan as well as air conditioning. The Villas are cleaned each day but make sure you don't leave food out as the local ants (which don't bite like Australian ants) tend to wander in for some free food. It's worth noting that we left the slats/doors open well into the evening and didn't have any mosquito issues (lucky maybe?!); but there is insect repellent and fly spray in each Villa anyway.

We cooked for ourselves and ate out mostly, although we did get home delivery Pizza (1450vt for a large) one night when it was pouring with rain (ask Kris about this as they need a code for the gate).

Kris (the manager) is lovely and is able to book tours etc.; although one would be forgiven for spending their entire stay at the Villa as there is plenty to do right at your doorstep. You can: relax to the sounds of the waves by the infinity pool; use the ipod/iphone (30 pin) docking station (in the Villa or in the common area) to listen to your favourite tunes; grab a kayak and paddle out in search of turtles; go snorkelling (a popular snorkelling spot for island tours with guaranteed clown fish is not far from the Villas) using the supplied mask/snorkel/goggles/reef shoes and flippers (great selection of quality masks/snorkels/reef shoes, but limited selection of flippers - which aren't really needed anyway), watch a new release DVD on the flat-screen TV in the Villa (most DVDs are copies of varied quality, but quite watchable), or lay on the lounge chairs on the sand below the infinity pool and have a snooze (or watch the many hermit crabs go about their business!). The massive cruise ships also pass by the Villas on their way into the harbour which is a sight to behold!

Kris supplies a mobile phone for your stay with plenty of credit with important no.s programmed into the phone book including two different drivers. Kris has hand-chosen these drivers for their reliability and knowledge of the island. We only used Willy for our stay and have to say he is absolutely fantastic. He is a very safe driver, with an unparalleled knowledge of the island and its ways. Ask him about his time in Pentecost (where he grew up) - he has some amazing stories.

We did an around the island tour, where the Villa 25 driver (Willy) helped us decide which things we wanted to visit. Booking directly with the Villa 25 driver is also a lot cheaper than what the cruise ship visitors pay. Although we set off at 9am and returned after 5pm, we didn't get to all of the things on the itinerary as we spent too much time in some places (like Wahoo bar where an amazing chilli coconut crab (5000vt) takes quite a while to eat!). So if there are things you really want to see, make sure you ask your driver how much time you can have in each place to be certain you get them all in; it is not the Vanuatu way to rush people! Of course, you can always do two tours, which we would recommend as you will want to spend quality time at some of the sites (such the absolutely breathtaking Mele Cascade falls).

Room Tip: Villa 3 is closest to the water and has the best sea view, although Villa 1 is set back the most so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank CapitalCitizen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Vila hotels
1.7 mi away
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
#12 of 47 in Port Vila
1,465 reviews
13.2 mi away
The Havannah, Vanuatu
The Havannah, Vanuatu
#3 of 47 in Port Vila
546 reviews
0.5 mi away
CoCo Beach Resort
CoCo Beach Resort
#25 of 47 in Port Vila
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Iririki Island Resort & Spa
1.3 mi away
Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu
1.5 mi away
Nasama Resort
Nasama Resort
#7 of 47 in Port Vila
478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa 25? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa 25

Property: Villa 25
Address: Dream Cove 25 | Wharf Road, Port Vila, Efate, Vanuatu
Phone Number:
Region: Vanuatu > Efate > Port Vila
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 28 Speciality Lodging in Port Vila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Villa 25 4.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just five minutes drive from Port Vila’s bustling shops, food markets and exciting fusion of French, Pacific and Asian restaurant flavours you can enjoy the sumptuous seclusion of Villa 25, a boutique oasis where the sound of the sea laps on the warm white sand.The configuration of three spacious, beautifully-appointed two bedroom villas, a large swimming pool flanked by a pavilion on a sheltered beach, in an exclusive gated location, is tailor-made for groups of friends or a family celebration. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Villa 25 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa 25 Hotel Port Vila
Villa 25 Vanuatu/Port Vila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing