We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Edwin”

The Brewery Bar & Restaurant
Ranked #21 of 91 Restaurants in Port Vila
Price range: US$10 - US$30
Cuisines: Pizza, Steakhouse, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Good food at a good price, Wood Fired Pizza Oven, Gourmet Burgers, Home Made Pasta's. We show all major sporting events on big screens TV's and are located opposite the Grand Hotel.The home to the Nambawan Brewery - Vanuatu's best range of Tap and Bottled Beer's
Cairns, Australia
1 review
“Edwin”
Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

Spent a week in Port Vila and always seemed to find myself back at the Brewery.
Of the beers I prefer the gold and the food was great.
They put a special effort on for State of Origin.
Did the Brewery tour.
I read the comment about the flies.
It is an out door setting.

Helpful?
Thank Buginya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_BreweryBar, Manager at The Brewery Bar & Restaurant, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
Thank you for your comments, yes the Gold is very popular, as is the State of Origin each, unfortunately flies are part of an outdoor environment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

594 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    186
    236
    111
    37
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Food , Friendly Service, Cold Beer & No1 Sports Bar in Vila”
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Made to feel welcome by all staff creating a friendly atmosphere. The many times we frequented The Port all our meals were as ordered, served within reasonable tie & delicious. Numbawan Beer brewed on site is sensational ( Draught & Bitter my favourite), definitely the Best local Beer the Island has on offer & with good selection of chilled white Wines enjoyed by my wife & our friends.
Met the owner Matt during a few of our visits who is a champion bloke & really goes out of his way to look after his guests after a long day of Island exploring.
Be sure to get along to "The Loft" on a Friday or Saturday evening especially through the Rugby Season - It is definitely the best place to be & a True Sports Bar offering plenty for every traveller & a great Family venue...

Any friends or family we know whom may holiday to Port Vila - we Recommend they spen time at The Brewery Bar & Restaurant

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Graeme B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_BreweryBar, Manager at The Brewery Bar & Restaurant, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
thank you for your comments, it is pleasing to see that you enjoyed various styles of beer that we have, LOFT is also very popular for late nights & sports events.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lifting the level”
Reviewed 6 June 2014

I do not understand some of these other reviews. We found the service to be great, and the food to be way better than anything else that we tried.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank EdHenderson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_BreweryBar, Manager at The Brewery Bar & Restaurant, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
thank you for your comments, our aim is to have consist service and consistently quality food
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Overpriced, undewhelming”
Reviewed 5 June 2014

We almost ate there, thankfully we didn't - lots of waiting around, flies hovering and an expensive looking menu. Try Jill's down the road.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank JohnOG57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_BreweryBar, Manager at The Brewery Bar & Restaurant, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
thank you for your comments, I am unsure why you waited 6 months for review the Brewery Bar because you 'ALMOST EAT HERE', but you choose to eat @ Jill's instead but you forget to review Jill's??
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Didn't make us want to stay long. ..”
Reviewed 25 May 2014

We just called in for a cold Nambawan Bitter and the barman was a bit surly, and not terribly happy to be there. We sat on the verandah but it faces a very busy main road, and is directly opposite the Grand Hotel and Casino. Not a nice view, compared to "The Anchor Inn" for example.

We didn't eat at the Brewery Bar, but were told by others afterwards that the food there was good. Most people in Port Vila are pretty friendly, maybe this guy was just having a bad day. We left after our one drink.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JodeeBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_BreweryBar, Manager at The Brewery Bar & Restaurant, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
Thank you for your comments, I have spoken to my bar staff regarding having a 'bad day' and bringing it to work. we also wish we had a very like the Anchor Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Brewery Bar & Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to The Brewery Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing