We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very beautiful views, peaceful, clean, and tropical.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Port Vila
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Pandanus Bay Waterfront Apartments
Ballina, NSW
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very beautiful views, peaceful, clean, and tropical.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2011

We have just spent 10 days at Pandanus Bay Waterfront Apartments. Two couples in our unit. We had our own bathrooms and the units were spacious, clean, and had everything that we could have needed in a fully contained apartment. The BBQ was kept spotless, and so was the lawns and pool area.
The full kitchen in the unit was really handy and it was nice to be able to cook our own meals and have a BBQ during our stay.

James and Claudine, the owners, are only too happy to help with any inquires that you have. They are the perfect hosts.

The snorkeling at high tide is pretty good towards the centre of the bay. We spent many afternoons just sitting on the verandah and looking out at the beautiful view.

We had no problems getting a bus out the front to Port Vila and they charged us between 150 and 200 Vatu. (about $2 each Aust.)
We also walked the 15 minutes to Paradise Cove resort for dinner and lunch and a snorkle, on some days. Paradise Cove resort also provided us transport back at night after dinner.
Honeymoon Beach, a marine snorkling beach, is about a 15 minute walk past Pandanus Bay, and is also a beautiful beach to snorkle at. Cost is 200 vatu to swim here. ($2 Aust. ) Its well worth it.

I would definitely book this accommodation the next time we visit Vanuatu.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank knoxygen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    5
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
24
8
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2011

We recently had 9 wonderful nights at Pandanus Bay. The apartments are very spacious and extremely well appointed! Wifi for the kids, relaxation for us. Perfect pool facilities and bbq on the waterfront. Easy snorkelling from directly outside your room, or fishing too. Only approx a 10 min drive back in to central Port Vila and approx 5 minutes to the local supermarket. Would highly recommend. The owners/managers could not do enough for us. Having travelled the world - this is one of my highlight accommodation stays.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AngelaM2212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2010

We stayed here with two family groups with small children aged 2-6. We occupied two ground floor side by side which was ideal. The apartments are spacious and well laid out with three good sized bedrooms and a modern kitchen and bathrooms. We enjoyed relaxing on the sun loungers on the front lawn or down at the beach while the kids played in the sand or in the pool (supervised of course) and dining at the outdoor table on the tiled deck.
We took advantage of the offer to stock out pantry prior to arrival and had no trouble catching local buses into Port Vila to go to the supermarket and out for day trips. James organized us a bus to go to Hideaway island and The Cascade Waterfalls but we easily caught buses to take the kids to nearby Erakor island (where there is a sandy beach and relaxed waterfront restaurant) and to Le Lagoon for Lunch.
I would recommend these apartments to anyone wanting a peaceful family holiday with the ability to self cater.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BollingerAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2010

We enjoyed this accom immensly. Large villa's, beautiful seafront views, excellent facilities. Kitchen was amazing and we cooked at least 4 meals here and dined on our beachfront. Bathroom was gorgeous. All for a very reasonable rate, would highly recommend. Buses to town available. Wifi available. Books to swap etc.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pinktori71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tassie
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2010

We recently returned from a trip where we stayed 9 nights at these apartments. They are good value for money and certainly spacious, just as described. The view is pretty with some nice sunsets. A lovely place all in all. There were however a few downfalls. There is no real beach, you need reef shoes to even enter the water. The snorkelling is ok however it is a fair way out to the "good" stuff and as the water is shallow not much fun getting the couple of hundred metres out. Also sea slugs, these are somewhat snake like and are around 1-1.5m in length but totally harmless, just not nice. The pool area is nice but rather small so when you get 5 kids (our total) and a couple of others in the area it is quite noisy and congested. The apartments are right next to a village and this was noisy of a night with barking dogs and crying babies, however the other people in our party in other apartment didnt hear anything. The BBQ area is really nice and a great place to sit for afternoon drinks. The other downside is the bumpy dirt road that you must travel each way to get to the apartments. Apparently the chief doesnt want a lot of traffic so he wont have it fixed! It really is an absolute nightmare when you do it 2-3 times a day. Would have to say that I seriously would have to reconsider staying here again just for this reason.
We did a day trip to Lelepa Island which I would highly recommend, a spectacular spot with a great BBQ lunch and some of the MOST BEAUTIFUL snorkelling I have ever done. Again needed to have reef shoes. This is just the norm for Vanuatu as there is just no sandy beaches as such. If you are looking for a tropical "Beach" getaway I would say that this is probably not what you are looking for.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank possnscott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2010

We spent 6 incredible days here in mid May
Every positive thing in all the other reviews is only half what you will find - this place is superb - we did not want "crass touristy resort stuff" - if you want that, put on an iPod and get a sun bed down the road - Pandanus way exceeded our expectations - fully self contained, pick up a few groceries on the way thru, at one of several roadside superettes - easier than backtracking maybe 4km to do so - a stunning gas kitchen to cook in.
Fresh veges and Dairy are expensive - as with most imported stuff - but rice, eggs, and beef are value - but, cooking "in" really saves a fortune over restaurants and Resorts, so Pandanus scored big extra points with us just for that alone. Bring yr max Duty Free as liquor prices will utterly cripple you - buy the mixers and juices at the superettes.

And buy a small can of flyspray on the way too - the very occasional moth

We rented a small 4wd - worth every penny as 2wd rental aren't allowed off the seal - and thats not gonna get you seeing Efate - for local tnspt buses are everywhere tho.
The staff were totally first class and refreshingly friendly, as with James & Claudia, the owners.
Peace, quiet, sun loungers, gently lapping waves - ice cold drinks with the in fridge crushed ice maker

Some humour in 2 women also there - their complaint - the freshwater pool wasn't heated...!!!! - True - they were serious !!! - - life must be perfect for some......

But, to really enjoy, respect that you are on the edge of Pango Village - a real village - not a tourist centre - the local Ni-Vanuatu are genuine when they smile and wave, so if very occasionally a wee bit of leaf burning smoke drifted by - so what.......they were most likely the leaves off our lawn they picked up before we woke.

Coral shoes are a must, and if you have the energy to swim, don't expect to dive into 10ft deep off the white sandy beach - we didn't see anywhere on Efate that happens.

We hated leaving - back to 4 deg C and gale forece southerly in Wgtn, NZ - - you can bet, WE'LL BE BACK......... for sure

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris_KiwiChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
88 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2010

We have recently returned from a 10 night stay at these apartments. They are very new and tastefully decorated. We had a ground floor apartment with a lovely water view. The apartments are serviced daily. They are located on a bumpy stretch of unsealed road about 10 mins walk from Breakas on Pango Rd. It's about a 20 mins walk in the opposite direction to Pango Point where Paradise Cove (resort and snorkelling) is located. Buses do frequent the road out the front of the apartments. The longest we have had to wait (during the day) was about 10 mins for a bus. Some buses from downtown may not want to service this part of unsealed road but we soon learnt that this appeared to be newer-looking buses only (as they didn’t want to wreck their bus on the unsealed road).

You can snorkel at the small beach behind the apartments but there are certainly better places in Vanuatu for seeing colourful coral and fishes. Your ability to swim and snorkel at this small beach is tide-dependent, and is not advisable at low tide due to possibility of coral grazes and cuts. The pool and spa at the apartments were small but were refreshing and clean. There is a large spa tub in the Master bedroom of each apartment which is very nice after an exhausting day of activity. There is also a BBQ and undercover outdoor eating area at the beachfront so you can enjoy the view and fill your tummies.

There is free wireless internet in the apartments but it wasn't working for the majority of the time we were there. We used their office computer at reception instead to check emails. We had a few interruptions to the electrical power in our apartment during our stay but we soon figured out it was the toaster that was the culprit of the power surge.

One annoyance that I think potential visitors should be aware of is that the apartments and the grounds are affected by smoke from the village next door. The smoke tends to be worse in the afternoon and it does seep into the apartments despite having all doors and windows shut and the air-con on.

Overall, we had a great stay and would recommend it to others.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jellytree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Vila hotels
1.7 mi away
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
#13 of 47 in Port Vila
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,430 reviews
0.9 mi away
CoCo Beach Resort
CoCo Beach Resort
#21 of 47 in Port Vila
4.5 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
1.1 mi away
Nasama Resort
Nasama Resort
#7 of 47 in Port Vila
4.5 of 5 bubbles 453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu
2.8 mi away
Iririki Island Resort & Spa
1.7 mi away
Erakor Island Resort & Spa
Erakor Island Resort & Spa
#5 of 47 in Port Vila
4.5 of 5 bubbles 649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pandanus Bay Waterfront Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pandanus Bay Waterfront Apartments

Property: Pandanus Bay Waterfront Apartments
Address: Pango Road, Pango, Port Vila, Efate, Vanuatu
Region: Vanuatu > Efate > Port Vila
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 26 Speciality Lodging in Port Vila
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique, luxury, and spacious waterfront apartments. Just steps to the beach. Watch the sunset from your patio overlooking the ocean. All apartments absolute waterfront, airconditioned, wireless internet, TV/DVD players. Pool and beach. Quality finishings and furnishings. Fully serviced with on-site management. Surfing, diving and snorkelling. Full kitchen with dishwasher, microwave, icemaker, big fridge but there are also 5 restaurants at nearby resorts if you wish to eat out. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Pandanus Bay Waterfront Apartments Hotel Port Vila
Pandanus Bay Waterfront Apartments Vanuatu/Port Vila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing