We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Port Vila
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Pandanus Bay Waterfront Apartments
adelaide
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great place”
Reviewed 17 July 2012

Stayed here in July and can't say enough...great views, well appointed, great service, friendly hosts in James and Claudine, nothing was too hard for the hosts or the cleaning ladies. The little touches mean a lot, local fruit and flowers decorated the table, the rooms were serviced daily, Claudine arranged a massage for us and both she and James were always happy to help.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jargent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    5
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
24
8
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2012

Recently stayed at Pandanus Bay, the apartments are very well appointed and exceptionally clean. The cleaning ladies are fantastic and everyday on our return from exploring we returned to a totally clean apartment. Jeremy the owner is very helpful and friendly and went out of his way to replace the broken TV which is not easy in Vanuatu. A great place to stay with a large group or a family.
Snorkeling out the front is quite good, you need to get yourself over the drop off to be rewarded, head left up the reef as there is better fish there. It is easier to go at low tide as you can walk to the drop off and only need to swim about 10 meters, at high tide it is a 150m swim. No need for fins as there is no current but reef shoes are an essential.

The location is a little far out of town but being out by the locals is fantastic, there was always friendly people around to offer advice on here to go and have a chat about their lives. If you stay here please make a visit to Pango daycare just up the road, they receive no funding and rely on visitors to donate toys or sports equipment. A small donation to the day care is received with huge thanks and you will leave feeling just a little better about yourself.

Room Tip: All the apartments are the same size, Units 2,4,5,7 are closer to the pool so maybe a little nosier...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bevan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hervey Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2012

Yes we have been back to pandanus waterfront apartments second time this year.With a 12 mth old baby this is the perfect holiday,only a 2 hour flight and the perfect apartment with high chair and cot waiting for you.If you compare staying at pandanus to a resort with a tiny room you will be
paying about half the price .Thanks to all the staff for making our holiday so relaxing,again.
all the best Trevor Lisa and Phoebe Isabella.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pixet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2012

In January we stayed at the wonderful Pandanus Bay Waterfront Apartments. These apartments are HUGE and contemporary, and the service and hospitality was second to none. Claudine and James organised an Island tour, massages and looked after us totally for the duration of our stay - we were sad to be leaving after our week-long vacation at Pandanus. The location is just a little way out of town (although we did walk the whole way into Port Vila one day in the pouring rain... fun at the time) but the scenery is gorgeous and meeting the lovely local people along the way made our holiday very special. The road into Port Vila was badly in need of repair, but the buses are fairly frequent, inexpensive and friendly. I can't praise James and Claudine enough for the way in which they looked after us. To top it all off, I had a mini crisis when I discovered at the airport that I didn't have my passport... but James to the rescue! Not only did he manage to find the bag I had left behind in our room, but he also drove all the way to the airport to get it to me!!! We are full of praise for Pandanus Bay and for the exceptional hospitality from our hosts. It's people like this who make holidays memorable for all of the right reasons.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MittyatMowhanau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HERVEY BAY
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2012

These apartments are huge and new, fully equiped, full size fridge with icemaker, eski supplied. All 3bdrms and lounge/Kitchen are airconditioned. All apartments have wonderful ocena views between the coconut trees. Cot and high chair were supplied for our 11mth old.
The owners and staff were wonderful (no housework) .Good idea to hire a car, driving is really easy, nobody speeds and almost impossible to get lost. You must do the drive around the island, we did it 3 times and took our lunch, many places to dive off the beach [INCLUDING AT PANDANUS]. Love Vanuatu and Pandanus are larger apartments than Villa 25.

Room Tip: The local friendly neighbours burn of leaves,this is good because it keeps the bugs away
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank TREVLIS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 December 2011

My friend & I stayed at Pandanus Bay Waterfront Apartments with our 2 daughters. From the moment we stepped out of our rental car and onto the property we knew we had made the best choice in accommodation in all of Port Vila. The apartments are super clean, well laid out, beautifully decorated and furnished and had everything you could possibly need to make a home away from home comfortable & relaxing. We stayed in the ground floor apartment which was great for our kids to just wander & play right in front of us while we sipped pina coladas as the sun set before our eyes.. James & Claudine were the most attentive and welcoming hosts, no request was too much for them and the Local Staff were super friendly. We even got to go into their village to meet the families. Definitely going back - might take the husband next time. Or not!

Room Tip: Ground floor apartments are great choice if you have kids, so that you can just walk out your patio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shellebelle1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2011

My husband and I stayed at Pandanus Bay Apartments for our Honeymoon in August and cannot speak highly enough of the accommodation. I must admit I was a little concerned when our airport transfer van hit the “Bumpy Road” which runs through the small village of Pango, but when James the owner opened the door to show us were we would spending the next 10 nights, my breath was taken away by the rooms magnificent view of the ocean, which is only about 10 meters away from the balcony.
Our apartment was spacious, clean, modern & homely ... I could of happily moved in permanently.
We enjoyed waking up to the gently crashing of the waves and the laughter of the local children playing in the ocean each morning, instead of the “toot toot’ of the Taxi’s and Buses and busyness in Port Villa. A quick trip in the Bus (Van marked with a B on the number plate for $150-$200 Vatu) along the bumpy road, and we were in the middle of town, it didn’t take us long to get used to the trip. The families in the Village next door were so friendly always waving, smiling whenever they see you.
James and Claudine were very helpful, welcoming and very knowledgeable about the Island. If we ever return to Vanuatu we will stay at Pandanus again without question.
We saved allot of money on food as it is quite expensive in Vanuatu. We brought our Fruit and Vegetables from the Local Fruit markets & shopped at the Local supermarket for anything else. We brought some of the best steak we have ever eaten from the Local supermarket butcher at a very reasonable price, which we cooked on the lovely BBQ on the beach back at the Apartments.
The attractions enjoyed while staying on the Island are Cascade Gardens – Take your swimmers. Hideaway Island - Take an underwater camera and a pair of reef shoes, you can hire snorkelling gear there and also have lunch @ the licensed bar. Azimut round Island tours with Gilbert – the loveliest Islander we meet, who showed us all around the island and explained the history and customs of his people which was very interesting, James organised this tour for us. It was good to do the island tour early in our trip as we got our bearings of the island and seen which places we wanted to spend more time at. After a day out on the island it was so nice to return to our apartment, where we could kick back on the balcony overlooking the water or have a soak in the Spa bath.... Bliss !

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DarrenandNicki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Vila hotels
1.7 mi away
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
#12 of 47 in Port Vila
1,448 reviews
3.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
#15 of 47 in Port Vila
652 reviews
0.7 mi away
Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Nasama Resort
Nasama Resort
#7 of 47 in Port Vila
469 reviews
0.8 mi away
Paradise Cove Resort
Paradise Cove Resort
#1 of 47 in Port Vila
539 reviews
0.2 mi away
Vale Vale Beachfront Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pandanus Bay Waterfront Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pandanus Bay Waterfront Apartments

Property: Pandanus Bay Waterfront Apartments
Address: Pango Road, Pango, Port Vila, Efate, Vanuatu
Region: Vanuatu > Efate > Port Vila
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 27 Speciality Lodging in Port Vila
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique, luxury, and spacious waterfront apartments. Just steps to the beach. Watch the sunset from your patio overlooking the ocean. All apartments absolute waterfront, airconditioned, wireless internet, TV/DVD players. Pool and beach. Quality finishings and furnishings. Fully serviced with on-site management. Surfing, diving and snorkelling. Full kitchen with dishwasher, microwave, icemaker, big fridge but there are also 5 restaurants at nearby resorts if you wish to eat out. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Pandanus Bay Waterfront Apartments Hotel Port Vila
Pandanus Bay Waterfront Apartments Vanuatu/Port Vila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing