We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sweet and sour prawns that were cheap and very tasty”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
MK Chinese Restaurant
Ranked #56 of 89 Restaurants in Port Vila
Cuisines: Chinese
Description: new chinese restaurant onthe way to Pangos in Port Vila. Very good!
Restaurant details
Description: new chinese restaurant onthe way to Pangos in Port Vila. Very good!
Auckland NZ
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Sweet and sour prawns that were cheap and very tasty”
Reviewed 29 June 2013

We were the only couple for most of the evening until another couple arrived.
the ambience is a bit stark. There are separate rooms for groups, so assume it is well patronized.
The service was prompt and friendly, but they weren't into casual conversation.
The fried wontons were burnt, but sauce served with them was delicious.
We shared sweet & sour prawns which were really nice and had chicken fried rice also shared. The portions were more than ample. The price at under $20 per head with beer and soft drink was excellent value for the price we paid and we will certainly return.

We don't have a huge budget as others might.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    7
    6
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Terrible service- boring food”
Reviewed 8 July 2012

Staff are pushy and rude, non-attentive and not accommodating to the most basic requests. Food is nothing special.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HHH255060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
40 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Pleasant service but plain food.”
Reviewed 7 October 2011

We went for dinner on a Monday night and the place was all but deserted. Entree was spring rolls, fried chicken wings and satay beef. Mains were sizzling beef and sizzling chicken and a rice side. Service was prompt and friendly, and presentation was good, but the food seemed to lack flavour. We found ourselves mystified by the positive reviews. I would rate the restaurant just adequate on my experience there.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wabster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Best Chinese Foord in Port Vila”
Reviewed 1 June 2011

Tried all chinese restaurants in port vila and this was by far the best. Fantasric food, great service.

This place is well above the Habourview Chinese that everyone raves about.

  • Visited May 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank frek62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level 5 Contributor
33 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Oh dear!”
Reviewed 16 April 2011

This restaurant professers to serve both Cantonese and Szechuan food, hence the reason we chose it. There is only one Szechuan item on the limited menu, that was Tofu.The 13 entree's were all deep fried, so we skipped these. We chose a chicken, pork and beef dish. They were all exceedingly bland. The sauce on both the chicken and pork were one and the same. All dishes were exceedingly salty.
The positives were (1) we took our own wine (2) the meat in the 3 dishes were tender (3) the plates were quite substantial. After saying that, we would not return. Life is too short to eat bland and salty fodder.

  • Visited April 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Princessbrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed MK Chinese Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to MK Chinese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing