We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great personal service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Tropicana Lagoon Apartments Resort
Ranked #31 of 47 Hotels in Port Vila
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great personal service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2012

There were many positives to staying at Tropicana, but what stood out in particular was the quality of personal attention given to us by the host and owner Tina. She was always prepared to make a phone call for us to arrange a dinner reservation, a tour or check on any other inquiry we had.

The apartments are spacious and well maintained and about 5 minutes from town by bus - and we never waited more than 2 minutes at any time of day for a bus to pass [flat rate fare 150VT pp, about $1.50]. All apartments have a small but functional kitchen, and supplies like bread, milk, or other groceries can be bought at a store 100m down the road.

And while we tended to go out and explore the island most days, our favourite in-resort activity was sitting on our balcony overlooking the lagoon and the activities of the Ni-Vanuatans on the other side.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the first floor overlooking the lagoon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fahrers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    114
    39
    18
    17
    3
See reviews for
48
78
17
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2012

We, a family of four, stayed at Tropicana for 9 nights and all I can say is ...wow! The resort was situated about 7 minutes from town and easily accessible by bus. The bus service on the island was unlike anything I had ever seen before; you would have to wait no more than 30 seconds and a bus would come along to take you anywhere you wanted to go! I feel that being that little distance from the centre of the town was a bonus as this allowed you to get away from the hustle and bustle of Port Vila and enjoy the quiet and beautiful surrounds of the lush greenery, pool and lagoon which the resort offered. The apartments were very lovely, clean, comfortable and well appointed with a nicely equipped kitchen if you wanted to shop at the supermarket (Au Bon Marche) and have a quiet night in. All apartments had double doors which opened up to the view of the lagoon and/or pool. What a way to relax! The staff are very friendly and do a wonderful job of cleaning the apartments each day and leaving little personal touches of beautiful hibiscus flowers around the apartment.The host Martina was absolutely amazing, she was exceedingly welcoming and made every effort to help make our stay a memorable one. She organised breakfasts, taxis, restaurants, tours and was a source of an incredible amount of local information.

Room Tip: Ground floor apartments are the way to go. One step and you're either at the pool or the lagoon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Vila, Vanuatu
Level Contributor
69 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2012

Tropicana is a nicely appointed, comfortable, clean apartment complex 10 mins drive out of town. It is self contained, which suits people wanting to save money on eating out (which can be expensive in port Vila), and families with young kids. Overall we enjoyed our time at Tropicana.

Rooms:
We stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment, which was well set up, clean and comfy. Plenty of storage space for suitcases etc. The kitchen was minimally appointed with cooking implements, one bonus was that the staff provided us with a bigger fridge which was excellent. No curtains on windows which made for some early wake ups from children!

Facilities:
Tropicana is on the lagoon, and has a man-made beach. Its not really great for swimming - water gets deep quickly and has a strong current. But its nice for kayaking. Its lovely to interact with the local people who live on the other side of the lagoon - the kids from the village regularly came over to play with our kids. The pool is nice, but it is small. Internet access was excellent, and free. There is an awesome nakamal (covered deck) over the lagoon which is so nice to sit and relax on.

Service:
Hospitality was generally good. At the front office, Nessan was lovely and really helpful, as were the other local staff. The owners Martina and Jorg were also helpful and generous, but at times hard to track down!

Location:
Lovely, scenic, quiet spot. Only 10 mins to town in a bus, and lots of buses pass by on the main road. Quite a few mozzies around the lagoon - take repellent! But otherwise, great location.

Issues:
We arrived at the hotel at 730pm, having come straight from the airport. We were exhausted and hungry, but there was nothing available at Tropicana to buy and eat. There is a small shop, but it was closed. Would be great if the shop could open when guests arrive late at night so that they can get supplies.

It would be useful if Tropicana could update the information folders in rooms to contain information about cyclone and earthquake preparedness. There was a cyclone when we stayed, and it was tricky to find info about what to do, where to evacuate to, etc.

Overall, a great experience.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank malolava
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QLD
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2012

We stayed at Tropicana for 7 nights and it was a dream. I have travelled around the world for nearly 10 years and I have stayed in MANY hotels, but nothing compared to Tropicana, in my opinion. In a country which sometimes made me tired, stressed or dirty, I walked into Tropicana with a big sigh of relief every time, feeling like I had arrived home. We still talk about it daily, mentioning how much we miss it and can't wait to go back. Jorg and Martina are the best hosts and have so much pride in what they do and they deserve a medal (anyone who has worked in hospitality will understand this when they see it - I guess that the people who whinge about this place have clearly selected the wrong sort of resort for their needs)!
When we arrived, Martina was waiting 2 hours for us at the airport to pick us up as she hadn't been able to contact the taxi driver on our behalf. This showed me her character straight away. We were given an upstairs studio at the end which was very quiet, well presented and clean.
Over the following days I believe I was a high maintenance guest, asking for doona's when I was cold, asking for tour information and advice, asking Martina to book tours and restaurants for us and also for extra appliances in the kitchen. I even asked for dvd's when it was rainy weather (they had hundreds to choose from), and they also allowed us to borrow their laptop for our stay. But nothing was any trouble at all for Martina, who always had a smile on her face and a bounce in her step. She was an absolute sweetheart, ensuring we had the best table in restaurants, etc.
The room was very spacious and airy (as the shutters are wooden). The bed was very good quality and very large, ensuring good sleep. Everything was in perfect working order, including the safe, tv, toaster, kettle, etc. Our room was cleaned to perfection every single day (and I am a clean freak and very hard to please). We were given fresh sheets and 4 BIG fluffy towels every day. We even got a clean tea towel and bathmat daily. The staff never forgot anything, did an amazing job and I believe were better workers than others I had seen at other resorts.
Tropicana is on a beautiful part of the lagoon with a great view. You can not walk to town but getting a bus is so easy so it doesn't matter. We visited 6 other resorts and I prefered our location the best.
During our stay we tried the kayaks and there ARE paddles (I wanted to confirm this after I read another post saying there weren't). The beach chairs were in working order, the pool was very clean and the grounds were very well presented.
I didn't find anything disappointing in our stay here but you must understand that it is not a big resort. I think the only reason people would complain about tropicana is because they are expecting all the perks of a big resort. Clearly, that is not the style of this place, so you will either get it or not. Of course there won't be someone at reception 24hrs a day and there isn't a mini bar and there isn't free air conditioning. But all of these problems can be easily fixed. Just ask Martina who is more than happy to help with any requests.
One side note - Some mornings it is possible to be woken by roosters, pigs and/or dogs, but I found this to add to the charm of the place. Also, everything goes completely quiet and still by 8pm, so you still get a reasonable amount of rest time.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Travelislife_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2012

This is a great little resort. The hosts were wonderful. A little out of the way from the CBD but plenty of buses and taxis to get you into town. There is a great restaurant next door to the resort. If you are looking for peace and quiet outside of the city and happy to be looked after by the owners then this is the place to stay. It is suited to the self contained traveller. My 3 year old son didn't want to leave after the 1 week stay.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Van T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tewantin
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

I have been a lot in Port Vila, but this time I discovered this little paradise. It is a bit outside the city, but still easy to reach by bus or taxi. The name is Tropicana and is located on a lagoon and calm and peaceful. The equipment is up to date and has a high standard.
The owners Martina and Jorg they are very friendly and always helpful. The staff is trained very well and always friendl as well..
What more could you want.

Room Tip: The rooms are equally equipped. We preferred downstairs to be faster on the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Achim E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mackay
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

What a wonderful holiday we had at the Tropicana apartments!! This place is an absolute hidden gem! We stayed in an upstairs apartment that was neatly presented and had everything you needed for a comfortable stay. To be able to cook your own meals in your apartment was a bonus as we found food in Vanuatu a bit expensive. We loved waking up each day to look out over the beautiful lagoon and enjoyed having a BBQ on the veranah watching the sun go down. We liked the fact that we were not right in the middle of port Villa, yet could easily get to to town for $1.50 each/each way. The owner Leaticia,was the most helpful and lovely person I have ever met - who went out of her way to assist us and advise us on what tours were the best. Thank you for making our short stay so memorable and we will be back to share another special holiday with you and to share that bottle of wine!! If you are coming to Vanuatu, and want a nice apartment in a relaxed, beautiful and peaceful setting then this place ticks all the boxes!

Room Tip: Loved being upstairs- No10- overlooking beach and lagoon. View was amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OliviaMackay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Vila hotels
0.1 mi away
Vila Chaumieres
Vila Chaumieres
#30 of 47 in Port Vila
4.5 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
4.6 mi away
CoCo Beach Resort
CoCo Beach Resort
#21 of 47 in Port Vila
4.5 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
7.2 mi away
Benjor Beach Club
Benjor Beach Club
#25 of 47 in Port Vila
4.5 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Poppy's on the Lagoon
Poppy's on the Lagoon
#23 of 47 in Port Vila
4.0 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
4.7 mi away
Angelfish Cove Villas
Angelfish Cove Villas
#28 of 47 in Port Vila
4.5 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
3.1 mi away
Pacific Lagoon Apartments
Pacific Lagoon Apartments
#16 of 47 in Port Vila
4.5 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropicana Lagoon Apartments Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropicana Lagoon Apartments Resort

Property: Tropicana Lagoon Apartments Resort
Address: Teouma Rd. | PO Box 7021, Port Vila, Efate, Vanuatu
Region: Vanuatu > Efate > Port Vila
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Port Vila
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Port Vila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Tropicana Lagoon Apartments Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
TROPICANA LAGOON Beach ApartmentsTROPICANA LAGOON Apartments comprise 12 self contained studio apartments and 6 two bedroom apartments and 4 Villas. each Villa has their own plunge pool. All apartments are luxury and stylish built with this typically Vanuatu flair.LocationSituated on Second Lagoon, overlooking magical emerald waters and lush tropical vegetation on the opposite shore. TROPICANA LAGOON Beach Apartments is a peaceful and friendly tropical escape in the most romantic location of Efate, yet only 5 minutes away from down town Port Vila.The property is nicely landscaped with lots of tropical palms, plants and flowers. With your own private beach on your doorstep TROPICANA LAGOON Beach Apartments creates a wonderful ambience for your perfect holiday. Enjoy the tropical atmosphere while you swim in the pool, read a book in a hammock or enjoy a cocktail at our over-water-Fare while watching a romantic sunset. Room FacilitiesAll apartments have splendid views over the tranquil emerald waters of the lagoon. They are modern, spacious, self-contained, fan-cooled and/or air condition. Each apartment is beautifully finished with tropical style interiors, warm timber flooring, deluxe bathrooms, well equipped kitchen and all modern amenities such as flat-screen satellite TV , DVD player, high speed secure internet, private BBQ (subject to availability) and in-room-safe. The studio apartments ideally cater for two persons. On request we can provide an additional single bed. All apartments have private balconies or verandas with awesome views. Ground floor apartments have their own direct beach access. Resort-& Service Facilities: Rooms are serviced daily for our - Swimming pool- 24 hours service and security- Laundry service, free tropical breakfast - airport transfer on request.- You can book tours at our tour desk/ reception. We also organize car hire for you.- Drinks and snacks available throughout the day at the Beach Bar.- Free use of kayaks, and snorkel equipment.- Free DVD library- On site parking ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tropicana Lagoon Apartments Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropicana Lagoon Apartments Resort Vanuatu/Port Vila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing