We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful by the Lagoon”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tropicana Lagoon Apartments Resort
Ranked #31 of 47 Hotels in Port Vila
Certificate of Excellence
Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Peaceful by the Lagoon”
Reviewed 10 July 2013

On arrival at Tropicana Lagoon Apartments we were greeted by Flora who was wonderful during our stay. We were offered complimentary fruit drinks and shown to our upstairs studio apartment by Albie. The room had wifi (as we were to confirm later the fastest in town, the competition was average and unreliable), cooking (double gas cooker) microwave, TV, balcony with chairs and table, all clean and a good size. Others have described that the rooms can be a little noisy at times with soundproofing not very good, (high ceilings and wooden floors) this is true but not too bad. The rooms were serviced daily. Breakfast was tropical fruit and toast with coffee or tea. You could order other breakfast option at your expense. The restaurant was overlooking a narrowing of the lagoon, a lovely setting. The restaurant was popular for all meals of the day and night; we had a very good lunch there. Tours and airline checks as well as information could be arranged from reception with Meri Lu who was very helpful. Swimming pool and deck chairs around were good in the sun. Kayaks were available at no cost to explore the lagoon as well as a local tour of the lagoon on a pontoon boat (included in our package). Town was only a short bumpy ride (roads in Port Vila are not in great condition at the moment) in a taxi or van. Vans you hailed, (plenty of them day and night) told the driver where you wanted to go and it was 150 vatu each to town sharing with other tourists and locals along the way. Same price back, you can identify the vans for hire as they have a red B at the start of their number plate, red T for taxi but they cost a lot more. 3 -4 minutes walk down the road towards town is a small shop with some food items for sale and a further 3-4 minutes walk is a modest supermarket and fuel station. The better supermarket (for selection and price) we found is the Au Bon Marche slightly out of town. Overall a quiet location to stay at and we would happily stay again. Thanks to Pascal of Ride On tours for a great round the island tour we stopped anywhere we wanted to and had the van to ourselves, for this we were charged 15000vt, we even went grocery shopping before returning to our accommodation.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    114
    40
    18
    17
    3
See reviews for
48
78
17
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
112 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2013

We have stayed at Tropicana for 7nights on a Wotif Special. The room was very clean and serviced daily. Staff is friendly and welcoming. The mattress was a bit hard for me but my partner loved it. There are only 3 TV channels in Vanuatu but as we were on a holiday it didn't matter. The complimentary breakfast was pretty average Toast, Jam, Fruit and Tea/Coffee. But you can order a la carte as well and the pancakes were yummy. We certainly enjoyed our stay and would stay again!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lovelife1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed 17 June 2013

Great location being on 5 minutes from town but in a nice quiet area. Perfect place for my son to run around safely! Staff are super friendly and the restaurant food was some of the best I had in Port Vila and very reasonably priced. Good choice of wines available too. Rooms are spacious and clean with reliable wifi compared to other places in town. Will definitely be staying here again!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leeanne2412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiji
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2013

Tropicana offers a nice place to stay and a fantastic place to eat.

The rooms are spacious, clean and new; my studio beach front upstairs apartment offered a comfy double bed, day lounge, radio/ipod player and good self catering facilities (toaster, kettle, fridge and microwave). A small desk and chair were in the corner, and double wooden doors opened out on a very pleasant balcony with an equally pleasant view across the water to palm trees.

The 'big plus' about Tropicana is the local staff who are lovely, helpful, kind and genuine and will go out of their way to assist you. The other 'plus' is the restaurant's chef, along with the restaurant outlook and ambience (look down and watch the starfish!).

Grab a complimentary kayak and enjoy a sunrise or sunset paddle!

Best to note that Tropicana isn't really a resort as such, it's more a place that offers short and long term apartment and villa hire. I felt it would be good base for a group e.g. 10 plus friends visiting Efate (the main island of Vanuatu) for the likes of a wedding, reunion, attending a conference etc, or as temporary accommodation for a family relocating to Vanuatu for business.

Located on charming lagoon number two Tropicana is located along and beyond the road that goes from the edge of town up to the University of the South Pacific - about a ten minute local bus ride from town (if the bus goes direct), and about 25mins from town if the minibus drops off a few others off along the way. Get around on a budget (and with a cultural experience) by using any of the mini buses with a red 'B' on the number plate costing 150 Vatu (about AUD $1.60) alternatively a taxi will cost you about 1000 Vatu (about AUD$12.50) one way and you may have to wait a while for it to turn up.

A couple of small things to keep in mind - there's not much to walk to from Tropicana so you will either be taking a lot of taxi's or a lot of local buses to and fro, or driving your own car, and while the Internet signal (wifi) is strongest in the restaurant, it's fairly weak in the far end rooms even if you plug into the cable (this matters if you're staying for business). Also the cable doesn't extend very far unfortunately. Also there's minimal sound proofing in floors and walls if neighbours apartments play thumping music in the upstairs room you can generally hear most things in the room next door (only downside of the lovely wooden floorboards).

If you don't stay at Tropicana be sure to visit to dinner under the stars and above the starfish! (Thursday, Friday and Saturday are the busiest).... and why not end the night by grabbing a divine dessert two doors down at the wonderful restaurant of Vila Chaumieres! again dine over the water and with the starfish but with even more ambience (and a little higher price tag to match, but totally worth it). Again best go on a Thursday, Friday or Saturday night for the best vibe.

Room Tip: Try upstairs if a studio apartment, and close to reception if you need decent wifi access!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PacificGem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nambour, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2013

Our original booking was for a recently built 3 bedroom villa.It was for myself and my husband plus my sister, her husband and 2 children.We were advised the week before check in the villa had been completed and was ready for our stay.When we arrived and were shown the villa it was clear that it had not been completed as the place was filthy with builders debris, there were tiles missing from the pool and to make matters worse it was raining which led to flooding of the courtyard.Unhappy with the condition of the villa we spoke with the manager who offered to move us to 2 x 2 bedroom apartments side by side.This apartment was slightly better however the standard of cleanliness was poor.During the night I needed to use the bathroom and much to my disgust once I turned on the light the place was crawling with cockroaches.The following day after returning from a day tour I was advised that we would need to be moved again as there was a family that needed our room.We were then moved to a 1 bedroom apartment.3 apartments in 3 days,not happy! Things didn't get better because the first night in the new apartment and our toilet backed up and flooded the bathroom.I reported this to reception at 7.30am and the problem was not fixed until 3pm - only when I spoke with reception again. At no time was there an offer of apology from the manager,in fact she didn't speak to us again for the remainder of our stay.The local staff were fabulous and apologetic but had little control over the decisions that the management made.I would NOT recommend this property to anyone, it was a disgrace.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sylvia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pottsville, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 May 2013

We've just returned home from spending four weeks in Vanuatu, using this beautiful little resort as our base. And we can't rate it , nor speak of our stay, highly enough. Let's start with our room overlooking the lagoon. Every morning it was a joy to open our doors and look out over the lagoon. We'd start the day with a paddle on the complementary kayaks before enjoying a delightful breakfast in the resort restaurant. The staff were by far and away the friendliest and most helpful we've encountered in our many years of travelling around the world. From Wendy and Marie, who kept our room spotlessly clean, to Sheila, Erna and Jenny, the staff in the restaurant, who would cater to our every request, to Gerry and the three chefs, the three amigos, who wouldn't be out of place in any restaurant in Vanuatu. And to the office staff, Mary Lou, and the resident manager, Flora, we can't thank you enough for your dedication to the needs of your guests. You were like our family away from home. We will certainly be back to annoy you all again next year, lots of love to you all, Janelle and Peter.

Room Tip: We were in an upstairs room overlooking the lagoon, on the far corner of the block of apartments, wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Buges
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 March 2013

What a fantastic place to stay!! If feelings of calm and tranquillity are part of your holiday expectations you won’t need to look any further than this lovely oasis not far from downtown Port Vila.

The surrounding gardens are well manicured with beautiful tropical flowers and palm trees strategically growing around the entire resort. The room we stayed in had everything we needed and were always cleaned beautifully. The pool is sparkling and inviting with just the perfect temperature for a lovely swim or a quick dip before drinks around the poolside Bar & Restaurant. T

The food at the restaurant is fresh, mostly organic and really delicious. Add to that the stunning views across the lagoon and you never want to leave. The restaurant is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner and if you are lucky you can sit by one of the tables overlooking the lagoon where locals in their canoes glide past or happy children playing are heard on the opposite shore.

I must mention the friendly staff who always greet everyone with the biggest smile and are always willing to help in anyway they can. They really go above and beyond to make sure you have a great experience.

I highly recommend a stay at Tropicana and thank you so much to all of the staff who work so hard to ensure their guests have a most enjoyable stay. Can’t wait to return!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Savannah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Vila hotels
0.1 mi away
Vila Chaumieres
Vila Chaumieres
#30 of 47 in Port Vila
174 reviews
4.6 mi away
CoCo Beach Resort
CoCo Beach Resort
#21 of 47 in Port Vila
193 reviews
1.9 mi away
Chantilly's on the Bay
Chantilly's on the Bay
#28 of 47 in Port Vila
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
#15 of 47 in Port Vila
652 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cocomo Resort
Cocomo Resort
#19 of 47 in Port Vila
281 reviews
3.1 mi away
Pacific Lagoon Apartments
Pacific Lagoon Apartments
#18 of 47 in Port Vila
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropicana Lagoon Apartments Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropicana Lagoon Apartments Resort

Property: Tropicana Lagoon Apartments Resort
Address: Teouma Rd. | PO Box 7021, Port Vila, Efate, Vanuatu
Region: Vanuatu > Efate > Port Vila
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Port Vila
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Port Vila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Tropicana Lagoon Apartments Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
TROPICANA LAGOON Beach ApartmentsTROPICANA LAGOON Apartments comprise 12 self contained studio apartments and 6 two bedroom apartments and 4 Villas. each Villa has their own plunge pool. All apartments are luxury and stylish built with this typically Vanuatu flair.LocationSituated on Second Lagoon, overlooking magical emerald waters and lush tropical vegetation on the opposite shore. TROPICANA LAGOON Beach Apartments is a peaceful and friendly tropical escape in the most romantic location of Efate, yet only 5 minutes away from down town Port Vila.The property is nicely landscaped with lots of tropical palms, plants and flowers. With your own private beach on your doorstep TROPICANA LAGOON Beach Apartments creates a wonderful ambience for your perfect holiday. Enjoy the tropical atmosphere while you swim in the pool, read a book in a hammock or enjoy a cocktail at our over-water-Fare while watching a romantic sunset. Room FacilitiesAll apartments have splendid views over the tranquil emerald waters of the lagoon. They are modern, spacious, self-contained, fan-cooled and/or air condition. Each apartment is beautifully finished with tropical style interiors, warm timber flooring, deluxe bathrooms, well equipped kitchen and all modern amenities such as flat-screen satellite TV , DVD player, high speed secure internet, private BBQ (subject to availability) and in-room-safe. The studio apartments ideally cater for two persons. On request we can provide an additional single bed. All apartments have private balconies or verandas with awesome views. Ground floor apartments have their own direct beach access. Resort-& Service Facilities: Rooms are serviced daily for our - Swimming pool- 24 hours service and security- Laundry service, free tropical breakfast - airport transfer on request.- You can book tours at our tour desk/ reception. We also organize car hire for you.- Drinks and snacks available throughout the day at the Beach Bar.- Free use of kayaks, and snorkel equipment.- Free DVD library- On site parking ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Tropicana Lagoon Apartments Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropicana Lagoon Apartments Resort Vanuatu/Port Vila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing