We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very friendly and enjoyable stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Tropicana Lagoon Apartments Resort
Ranked #31 of 47 Hotels in Port Vila
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very friendly and enjoyable stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

We recently stayed at the Tropicana and while it was not the most luxurious resort we had not expected it to be. The rooms were clean and comfortable and there are kitchen amenities and a BBQ if you want to cook your own meals. We ate most of our dinners in the small restaurant and they were great. We had requested an upstairs room and we got a great one that overlooked the lagoon. Everyone there was very friendly and helpful. Not everything runs on time but given that we were on holidays in one of the most laid back and beautiful countries we didn't mind. We figured everything works on Vanuatu time and we enjoyed that.
The staff were excellent with booking tours and getting us anything we needed. I would recommend Tropicana for those who are not expecting the fanciest of places. You're on holidays so just enjoy and relax.

Room Tip: If you want a particular room, just ask.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    114
    39
    18
    17
    3
See reviews for
48
78
17
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Wanaka, New Zealand
Level Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

Just returned from a wonderful week at this lovely resort. I would just like to thank everyone for making our stay so enjoyable. The staff are so lovely and so friendly. While we did have facilities in our room to cook a meal we enjoyed dining in the restaurant every night overlooking the gorgeous lagoon. I had read previous comments regarding the Tropicana and was a bit uneasy to start with about staying there but I am so pleased we did. I couldn't have asked for a better!! The rooms were lovely and clean and the fresh flowers and plate of tropical fruit on our arrival was just lovely. If you would like a quiet, relaxing break away then I would totally recommend Tropicana Lagoon. Thanks once again everyone :)

Room Tip: We really enjoyed staying in the upstairs apartment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coffs Harbour
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

We stayed at Tropicanna Resort for 9 nights in May. We had an upstairs unit which we requested with a balcony. It was lovely to sit out and have a few dinks at night. We ate in the Restaurant 7 nights overlooking the lagoon and the food and service were great. The last 2 nights we used the BBQ supplied on our balcony.
We had a wonderful relaxing stay and Flora, Jenny and the staff looked after all our needs. The rooms were serviced daily and spotless.
This was our 8th trip to Vanuatu and our first to Tropicanna Resort and we will be returning to stay again.
Rhonda & Gordon- Coffs Harbour

Room Tip: Room 12 - fast wifi connection to room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fuzzybear93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

We had purchased an 8 night Deal Offer which showed pictures of the Tropicana Lagoon Resort, Port Vila, Vanuatu. These pictured showed a Sunset Cruises with Cocktails, Continential Breakfast and Island massages. Well, the sunset cruise which we were booked on was a complete waste of time. They were 30 minutes later in picking us up to take us to the harbour. The boat was not there and the sunset was not waiting for us. We were taken back as there were some rain in the horizon and they could not get the boat to come.
We were told by other people at the resort that the boat was just a pontoon and only was on the water for 30 minutes and was not worth the effort.
Our daily breakfast was a half plate of fruit and 4 pieces of toast with butter and jam. Plus tea or coffee. I did order fried eggs and sausages one morning. The eggs were burnt on the outside and still raw on the inside. The sausages (one) cut into 4 small pieces was very fatty. But l did get 4 exrtra pieces of toast making 8 pieces for both of us.
I had to sleep on the floor for 2 nights as our bed was just terrible to sleep on. The pillows were shocking. They were flat and we had sorte necks the next morning.
The massages were just a feather touch and no benefit to anyone.
The shower door could not be opened by my wife. The hot shower was a dribble. You had to ask for more soap etc. The sheets were not changed at all in the 7 days we were there.
The kayak paddles were broken. No life jackets. One kayak had the port hole cover missing and filled up with water.
We did ask for a wake up call at 4.30am as our plane was leaving at 7am. We are still waiting for that call!!
The highlight of our stay was we met some lovely people and that made our stay memorable.
Also a surcharge of 4% on credit or debit card is a bit rich.
The staff were friendly and pleasant.
We do not recommend this resort.

Room Tip: Pay a little extra and avoid the cheap deals.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Therese D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

My wife & I have just returned from the Tropicana Lagoon Beach Resort in Port Vila Vanuatu which we booked through Luxury Escapes, unfortunately the photo in the ad was either heavily photo shopped or it was a totally different resort, the staff & people in general were great however, the pool at the "resort" was no larger than a back yard pool, there were 3 sun lounges located in mud beside the pool until we moved them to the "beach", I tried the kayaks only to find the paddle broken, the restaurant meals could be a little slow in service & not a great variety, the resort is a little out of town & had nothing to offer to entice you to stay at the resort which meant having to travel to other resorts as a day guest, definitely not a resort we would stay at again, on checking out, we were advised that there was a 4% surcharge on using a credit card, a little over the top. The photos on the Tropicana website also exaggerated the resort, very disappointed.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Grahamm247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014

Located on Second Lagoon we didn't find this location that nice. The water isn't great for swimming and the pool is small and non descript. Our room was lovely and big but our shower was nothing more than a dribble and the toilet had to be fixed on the first day (by my husband). The kayak paddles were broken.

The meals in the restaurant were mostly good. The real upside of our stay here were the lovely locals that work here, they made our stay memorable and were very kind to us.

Other than that I wouldn't recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank clarefromthebeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

My husband & I spent 8 nights at Tropicana Lagoon during May, this was our third visit to Vanuatu and we just wanted some rest & relaxation and this resort was perfect for doing just that. We ate in the restaurant a lot of the holiday and the food was always very fresh and delicious, I think I had the eye fillet three times it was so good, and we never had to wait too long for our meals. The room was clean and comfortable and unlike other comments WAS cleaned every single day with the bedding changed four times during our stay, with fresh filtered water daily and fruit platter and fresh flowers on arrival. Can not speak highly enough of staff, Flora the manager was extremely helpful with everything including tourist advice. Paul, Jenny, Erna and every staff member were all so beautiful, we felt very much at home. Vanuatu is a beautiful holiday destination and Tropicana Lagoon a great place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cassandra D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jörg S, General Manager at Tropicana Lagoon Apartments Resort, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
It is wonderful to read your positive feedback.
I hope we can welcome you back on your next trip to Vanuatu!

Cheers,

Jorg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Vila hotels
0.1 mi away
Vila Chaumieres
Vila Chaumieres
#30 of 47 in Port Vila
4.5 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
4.6 mi away
CoCo Beach Resort
CoCo Beach Resort
#21 of 47 in Port Vila
4.5 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
7.2 mi away
Benjor Beach Club
Benjor Beach Club
#25 of 47 in Port Vila
4.5 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Poppy's on the Lagoon
Poppy's on the Lagoon
#23 of 47 in Port Vila
4.0 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
4.7 mi away
Angelfish Cove Villas
Angelfish Cove Villas
#28 of 47 in Port Vila
4.5 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
3.1 mi away
Pacific Lagoon Apartments
Pacific Lagoon Apartments
#16 of 47 in Port Vila
4.5 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropicana Lagoon Apartments Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropicana Lagoon Apartments Resort

Property: Tropicana Lagoon Apartments Resort
Address: Teouma Rd. | PO Box 7021, Port Vila, Efate, Vanuatu
Region: Vanuatu > Efate > Port Vila
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Port Vila
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Port Vila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Tropicana Lagoon Apartments Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
TROPICANA LAGOON Beach ApartmentsTROPICANA LAGOON Apartments comprise 12 self contained studio apartments and 6 two bedroom apartments and 4 Villas. each Villa has their own plunge pool. All apartments are luxury and stylish built with this typically Vanuatu flair.LocationSituated on Second Lagoon, overlooking magical emerald waters and lush tropical vegetation on the opposite shore. TROPICANA LAGOON Beach Apartments is a peaceful and friendly tropical escape in the most romantic location of Efate, yet only 5 minutes away from down town Port Vila.The property is nicely landscaped with lots of tropical palms, plants and flowers. With your own private beach on your doorstep TROPICANA LAGOON Beach Apartments creates a wonderful ambience for your perfect holiday. Enjoy the tropical atmosphere while you swim in the pool, read a book in a hammock or enjoy a cocktail at our over-water-Fare while watching a romantic sunset. Room FacilitiesAll apartments have splendid views over the tranquil emerald waters of the lagoon. They are modern, spacious, self-contained, fan-cooled and/or air condition. Each apartment is beautifully finished with tropical style interiors, warm timber flooring, deluxe bathrooms, well equipped kitchen and all modern amenities such as flat-screen satellite TV , DVD player, high speed secure internet, private BBQ (subject to availability) and in-room-safe. The studio apartments ideally cater for two persons. On request we can provide an additional single bed. All apartments have private balconies or verandas with awesome views. Ground floor apartments have their own direct beach access. Resort-& Service Facilities: Rooms are serviced daily for our - Swimming pool- 24 hours service and security- Laundry service, free tropical breakfast - airport transfer on request.- You can book tours at our tour desk/ reception. We also organize car hire for you.- Drinks and snacks available throughout the day at the Beach Bar.- Free use of kayaks, and snorkel equipment.- Free DVD library- On site parking ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tropicana Lagoon Apartments Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropicana Lagoon Apartments Resort Vanuatu/Port Vila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing