We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great fire show but average food”
Review of The Beach Bar

The Beach Bar
Ranked #3 of 87 Restaurants in Port Vila
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$25
Cuisines: Bar, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Child-friendly, Kids, View, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Drinks, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: A great place to hang out for the day. The Beach Bar is famous for its wood fire pizzas, but offers a large choice of alternatives as well. The kids just love playing on the beach with all the free water toys while Mum & Dad relax in the beer garden. Sit back and enjoy the stunning sunsets over Mele Bay whilst enjoying a cold beer or glass of wine. Keep an eye out for the special "Friday Night Fire Dancing" evenings, Tuesday Movie nights on Port Vila's biggest screen, right on the beach and our Sunday Sessions starting with live music from 1pm followed by our great new show "Sunday Kustam Karnival" where Bank's Snake Dancers meet our talented Circus Performers". Something for everyone at The Beach Bar!
Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great fire show but average food”
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Went with a group of people to see the free fire show on Friday night.

We had booked in advance and on arrival were promptly shown to our table.

Upon ordering food up at the bar we were advised that there was a 45 minute wait for pizzas with burgers taking slightly less time. This was understandable given the number of people that were there but we were certainly glad we had arrived early.
Food items arrived one at a time as they were ready and just in time for the beginning of the fire show at 7PM.
Unfortunately the food was very average - burger was dry and chips were not great, pizza was nothing special.

The fire show on the otherhand was fantastic. A bit of a disconnect with the Western music used but the performers were incredibly talented.

I would recommend going for the fire show but would give the food a miss. Definitely book in advance if you want a table.

Staff were friendly.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank s2olivias2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

940 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    515
    338
    66
    16
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Awesome night out”
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We went to the Beach Bar on a Friday night to see the fire show, which was, in itself fantastic. The local performers are highly skilled and put on a great show. Luckily we had a table booked for dinner as the venue was packed. I definitely recommend booking ahead if you want a table for dinner and getting there early to snag a good spot for the fire show. Staff were friendly and the whole energy of the place was lots of fun. Wood fired pizzas were delicious and drinks are reasonably priced. One of the best nights we had out in Port Vila.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Backpacker1994
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Amazing Fire Show”
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Ate here on Friday night, prior to the Fire Show. Good food and cocktails! Get there early to get a good spot, and when booking, ask for a seat near the front. Be prepared for people to push in, and take good vantage spots in front of you (this can't be helped by the restaurant staff).... The fire show was amazing! The only thing that I would say is that towards the end of the night, we felt like we were in the way - they were packing up, while we were still having drinks, we felt rushed, so we quickly finished and left.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ColetteLeonardAKL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Lunch by the beach”
Reviewed 25 June 2014 via mobile

Dropped in here after busing the wonderful Mele cascades.

Great location overlooking the bay to Hideaway.

Good menu, service a bit distant but everything arrived in decent time. The salad with toasted veggies and eggplant was the pick.

Would love to come back at night, especially for the fire show.

Helpful?
Thank Nick W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
auckland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great spot let down by the food and service”
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We ate here twice and the food was OK but didn't live up to what was promised on the menu. We asked for the lime mayonnaise and we brought ETA or similar. Having said that the chili sauce was great and home made. You can eat better elsewhere.
The staff are really friendly but there seems to be a problem getting the food out of the kitchen. On Fridays and Sundays (Fire show and Circus) it is chaos - our pizza turned up as we were leaving after much asking, and we know others who waited over an hour for a meal. I'd recommend just getting a drink there if you want to see either show.
It is a nice spot and the big blow up slide is great fun.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank jjww
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortVilaTom, Owner at The Beach Bar, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Thanks for your feedback. We are happy you enjoyed our bar, and very sorry you felt you waited too long for your food to arrive. However, it is not uncommon in Vanuatu to wait over an hour for food even in a quiet restaurant, as this happens to us regularly when we are out in Vila. We are actually very proud that our staff can usually get our food out in around an hour on those very busy nights as we do know of any other venue that could. We have looked at ways to speed the process up, but when you calculate that our staff are making and cooking in a wood fired oven a pizza every 40 seconds, we think they do a phenomenal job. We do warn all patrons to arrive and order early and apart from that there is not much else we can do. At least we have the coldest beer in town while you are waiting.Thanks for coming, and thanks again for your feedback and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Beach Bar also viewed

 

Been to The Beach Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing