We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Real Efate, Vanuatu” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Native Round Island Tour

Native Round Island Tour
Ranked #11 of 68 Tours in Port Vila
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Lake Macquarie, Australia
Level Contributor
247 reviews
123 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“The Real Efate, Vanuatu”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013

This full day tour by Letty's small 'Holiday Makers' operation impressed, informed and involved my wife and I on so many levels that we could not have been more pleased that we chose the friendly and knowledgeable Letty who, along with her cousin/driver Chris (he seems to know almost everyone on Efate), made possible a great island experience. The day was made up of a well-balanced program of sight-seeing, swimming, cultural contact with local tribal people, nature/wildlife, plus lunch and morning and afternoon tea as well. We visited hot springs, World War II sites and met a 79 year old local character with a unique WW2 Memorabilia collection. In between Letty filled our heads to bursting with a plethora of information about diverse topics such as land ownership, tribal ways, marriage, education systems, colonialism, tourism and foreign aid. There are other companies, bigger companies but why not give this young, enterprising and experienced guide a go. We did and don't regret it for one minute.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Wanderering1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    97
    19
    3
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Round Island Tour with Holidaymakers”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2013

We had a day to spare when transiting through Port Vila so we booked a tour at the lasts minute.

We took the Holidaymakers full day tour with Letty and Chris and enjoyed it very much.

It goes round the entire island (which I guess we should have realised but hadn't) so you see all the various spots for potential future vacations.

Letty was a great tour guide. Chatty and well spoken - easy to hear too. Chris the driver was a but of a laugh - very dry humour. We felt we could ask anything.

We got to eat local food along the way which was a nice suprise

Also enjoyed the hot springs to soak our feet.

The road around Efate is new and a comfortable drive - unlike the roads in Port Vila!

Letty was also very honest about the best way to see things that weren't inlcuded in the tour, like the cascades and HIdden island - by Bus (vans with a B on the license plate). They are within walking distance of each other and only 400VAT

Highly recommended

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Max G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
auckland
Level Contributor
46 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good day but a very long wait”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2013 via mobile

The day started off badly. Had been told in an email to be waiting outside our resort at 8:30am. Phoned at 9 to be told they were coming. By 9:15 we phoned again and were about to tell them to cancel, when they arrived. Lim was not their usual driver and he said he had been called out late. The other couple on the trip had been picked up on time. After such a bad start we were apprehensive , but had a great day. Lim was a great host and very knowledgeable. It's a long day, but a great orientation to efate.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank jsdkoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A must do for Efate”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013

Thank you Letty and Chris. This was a wonderful way to start our time on Efate. It was great value, friendly and informative. Your deep understanding of your island and its people made this a very special day. We were treated as lifelong friends and introduced to some great people on our tour. We would recommend this to anyone.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Milfil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moranbah, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Round Island Tour with Holidaymakers”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013

The three of us took brochures from our hotel as we had not planned activities the next day, and we ended up choosing Holidaymakers as it was 500vatu cheaper than the bigger company. It was a Sunday and it was like a private tour as only the three of us signed up that day. We were taken around by Letty, who was extremely knowledgeable and friendly, and Chris the driver, who had a great sense of humour and had friends all around the island! We went to Eton Beach, Blue Lagoon, had a custom dance performance at a village, through a huge banyan tree, went to the WII airstrip, the Coca Cola man, and some snorkelling towards the end of the day on the west side of the island. It was a fantastic day out and Letty and Chris really took care of us, highly recommend them :) We never felt rushed to go off to the next place; I enjoyed every minute. All the entrance fees were taken care of and refreshments were fruit and biscuits and juice. There was a lovely traditional lunch included at a hut next to Eton Beach. It is good to do this type of tour at the start of your trip because I felt I learnt a lot more about the culture and landscape to appreciate Vanuatu for the rest of my holiday.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank CC64123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Native Round Island Tour also viewed

 

Been to Native Round Island Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing