We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sit back and relax”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu
Ranked #7 of 47 Hotels in Port Vila
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 March 2012

What a great way to start, check in and get a welcome drink and Leis!
The rooms are spacious with a great outdoor shower, the pool is great and custom designed for Scuba classes which are free for guests.
The staff are Sooo friendly, all introducing themselves and happy to be of assistance. they run a great tour to the local village. Melanesian night is not to be missed. The food is a little pricy but worth the money.
The massage ladies a great.
With no annoying TV or telephones you get to truely unwind and do as much or as little as you like, Relax in the pool and watch the surfers on the point or the locals fishing on the reef.

Room Tip: Garden or Beach Fare are laid out the same, only the views vary
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank CindyG2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,017)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

937 - 943 of 1,017 reviews

Reviewed 2 March 2012

We have just returned from Breakas (February 2012) (I think we may have seen the wedding below!) Its a very very relaxing place to stay. The staff are great. Breakas is a smaller resort and very close to the local Pango village so you can get to know local staff/families.

From your beach fare, you can roll out of bed, onto the beach and then fall into the azure ocean. The waves gently and endlessly roll in. When the night weather is fine the restaurant staff take the tables onto the beach and you are waited on at your table just metres from the ocean. The shower in the bathrooms are open air. The fares were still very very cool even in the heat of the day.

Its a very "close to nature" style resort. I didnt want to leave!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank f00au2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2012

My family were attending my sons wedding on the beach here in February, 2012 and stayed onsite. The whole resort was just wonderful. From when we arrived to be greeted with a welcome drink to when we left after 4 days the stay was just wonderful.

The view, fare, all the staff made our stay all the more relaxing. The groundsmen keep the area pristine, the cleaners work overtime to keep the sand off everything, the kitchen and bar staff do a wonderful job. The food is worthy of a 5 star rating.

George (the owner) is hands on and makes you feel like you are the most important person staying there. Albert (the tour desk manager) could not be more helpful organising buses and tours at a moments notice .... and all with a smile on his face.

We are already planning our next stay at Breakas and being an adults only resort was very relaxing. From the inifinity pool, snorkling on the reef right out the front to the comfortable fare we highly recommend this resort to all couples. As for the wedding ........ AMAZING!!!!

One recommendation is to get the massage in the day spa from the 2 lovely ladies, couple can go together to make it extra special. I have never had such a relaxing massage.

Debbie & Paul

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Debra D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2012

My wife and I stayed at Breakas for four nights in early January 2012. Upon arriving, we were greeted with leis and a fruity drink before staff walked us (and our heavy suitcases) to our garden fare (# 52).

We were instantly impressed with our fare. Sure, we saw the pictures online, but they didn't really show how cute the place was. Our only complaints were the fare did not really get much cooler at night (the sea breezes the website mentions did not reach us) and the refrigerator did not get all that cold. If, like me, you need it cooler at night to sleep well, you might be better off to spend the extra money and get a fare near the water - particularly in December and January when it's hot and humid.

The resort itself is beautiful with the many flowering trees and plants. It's quite obvious that the staff care for for the resort. We never ordered off the restaurant menu for regular food, but we did partake in the Melanesian and Seafood feasts. Both were pretty good for buffet-type food, but the atmosphere of having dinner on or near the beach and the native dancers made the money worthwhile. The breakfast buffet (which was included in our rate) did not change while we were there, but we were happy with the choices available (coffee, fruit, juice, and pancakes worked for us). The bar also makes beautiful drinks. One could easily stay at the resort without leaving, but I would recommend taking a bus into town and trying out some of the local restaurants (L'Houstelet, Baywatch, and and Jill's Cafe were all good). Although we generally had good luck with the buses, there was one episode where we felt we were getting scammed - ask the concierge what your trip should cost so you know.

We would definitely consider staying at Breakas again although we would probably stay in the cooler months.

Room Tip: Since there is no AC, choose a room closer to the sea or wait until the cooler months (July / August...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Mike & Terri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2012

My boyfriend and I recently returned from an unforgetable trip to Vanuatu and we could not have been happier with the breakas beach as our resort. The overall cleanliness of the resort was immaculate, the staff were incredibly friendly, the location was fantastic- with only a short bus trip into town and the local Pango village just up the road with an amazing private beach, the rooms were simple yet perfect.

We had gone on our trip to relax and do some sightseeing and definately did just that! With such helpful staff ( especially Alfred the tours desk manager) we were able to do just about everything Port Villa offers. He really took us under his wing and gave an unforgetable experience up in the village at the kava bar, playing pool with the local boys! he really went above and beyond for us and we were so appreciative!!

The melaneysian night was a success! amazing entertainment and the food was incredible! definately reccomend doing this.

Prices in Vanuatu is very similiar to Australia so we were not fussed about the costs of meals at the resort or in town but it is great to do a bit of both.

The pool area is unbelievable!! Going in the off peak season meant my partner and I practically had it to ourselves the whole time!

House keeping were so friendly and always did a great job! They were never intruisive and it was always so lovely seeing the workers in the paths around the gardens and on the beaches!

We happened to experience an earthquake in the middle of the night on one of our last nights there, and the way the staff were so helpful about it all really calmed our panic! :)

George the owner is doing a wonderful job at Breakas!

Overall had the most amazing week away and would not have changed a thing (other than going in the dry season not the wet! but in saying that we did get two and a half full days of sun!) It was simply an amazing holiday and we were really appreciative of the staff for making it that way! We really got what we came for and definately reccomend Breakas Beach as your choice of resort!!

Room Tip: We stayed in a garden fare on the front fringe towards the road, though you could hear the cars at t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kkdomii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2012

We stayed at the best resort in Vanuatu - Breakas Beach Resort is amazing! From the beautiful beach to the great staff and friendly locals you can totally lose yourself in the tranquility and beauty of the gardens. We found the staff brilliant and attentive to our every need. The owner George greeted us personally when we arrived which was a nice touch. We were in a garden fare and the lush tropical gardens were both cooling and beautiful. The simplicity of the resort really embodies the way of life in Vanuatu and the locals and staff make you feel so at home you really do find yourself agreeing with the resorts website signature statement of "Welcome Home".

Room Tip: If you like plants and feeling like your on Pandora from avatar then choose a garden fare. If you li...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gillian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2012

Wow what a place! My boyfriend and I stayed at Breakas for 6 nights on our first trip to Vanuatu and we were impressed to say the least. We stayed in a beach-front fare which was small but adequate with features such as a mini-bar fridge, beach towels, handy mosquito net, and tea & coffee making facilities. Our room was made up each day by the friendly staff and generally we found the cleanliness of the resort to be of a very high standard. We loved the open-air shower which really reminded you that you are in the tropics, however we did find a couple of reasonably sized crabs living in there!

One of the best features of the resort is definitely the location. Located on Pango Point, Breakas offers some decent surf breaks on both the right and left hand sides of the resort which are easily accessible and well worth the paddle out. The reef directly in front of the resort offers fantastic snorkelling but don't worry about having to lug your own gear, as it can be easily hired at the activities desk for a small deposit which is refunded when you return it.
Travelling into Port Vila city from the resort was also easy, with buses passing by every few seconds and costing around 150-200VT depending on where you want to go.

Another one of Breakas' best qualities is the staff. Everyone was extremely friendly and easygoing, and genuinely wanted us to make the most of our trip. All our needs were catered to with no problems at all. In particular the activities organiser Alfred was great, offering useful suggestions and advice on what to do and where to go. Each morning you would see him wandering around the reception, making sure that everyone got picked up for their tours, which he was also able to organise for us. Unfortunately my boyfriend became sick on our last night and required an ambulance to pick him up from the resort. The staff were fantastic, promptly ringing the ambulance for us at 5.30am and assisting in his transfer to the hospital in any way they could. When we returned, they offered us a room for the day for free (as we had checked out at 11am and were not flying until 3pm) and kept the breakfast buffet open for as long as we needed.

Although on the expensive side, the food at Breakas is excellent. Each day the breakfast buffet offered wide variety of foods from tropical fruits, to muffins, croissants, cereals and daily specials. We only ate dinner a few times at the resort due to the price, however the a la carte menu was delicious and it is definitely worth booking a table on the sand to eat under the stars with the waves lapping at your feet. The Melanesian night is a definite must in order to try some of the local cuisine and sample Kava. The atmosphere at dinner each night was relaxed and social, and we enjoyed meeting many other couples from whom we received recommendations of some of the best activities to do on the island.

Breakas is one of the most beautiful and clean resorts I have been to, and I would definitely recommend it to anyone wanting to relax and unwind in a tropical island paradise!

Room Tip: It is definitely worth the extra money for a beachfront fare!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Karina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Vila hotels
1.1 mi away
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
#13 of 47 in Port Vila
1,532 reviews
14.4 mi away
The Havannah, Vanuatu
The Havannah, Vanuatu
#3 of 47 in Port Vila
573 reviews
3.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
#12 of 47 in Port Vila
703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Grand Hotel And Casino
Grand Hotel And Casino
#19 of 47 in Port Vila
543 reviews
2.5 mi away
Iririki Island Resort & Spa
0.4 mi away
Nasama Resort
Nasama Resort
#6 of 47 in Port Vila
508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu

Address: Pango Bay Road, Port Vila, Efate 00000, Vanuatu
Region: Vanuatu > Efate > Port Vila
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Port Vila
#6 Luxury Hotel in Port Vila
#7 Romantic Hotel in Port Vila
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Port Vila
#11 Family Hotel in Port Vila
Price Range: £80 - £158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled amidst swaying palms fringed on it's own private beach, Breakas Beach Resort is an intimate 3.5 Star tropical resort in a 5 star location for adults only welcoming guests over the age of 15 years. Enhanced by individual garden & beachfront Fares (Bungalows), Breakas Beach Resort is the ultimate relaxed "feet in the sand" beach holiday. Slip into a world of tranquility. The Resort features a stunning 22 metre infinity pool which falls into the horizon of the Pacific Ocean. The natural beauty of a private cove on the Pango peninsular provides an unrivalled backdrop in Port Vila. Fares (Bungalows) are scattered along the shoreline and throughout manicured tropical gardens ensuring privacy, intimacy and seclusion. With spectacular views to Port Vila's best surfing beach break, the restaurant provides a unique setting for a unique dining experience. The executive chef has created one of the finest menus using fresh, local produce, seafoods and world class Santo beef and we are famous for our beachside dining with stars above and sand underfoot.... It does not get much better than this. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu Hotel Port Vila
Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu Port Vila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing