We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Easiest Holiday so far”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu
Ranked #6 of 47 Hotels in Port Vila
Certificate of Excellence
Kyneton, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Easiest Holiday so far”
Reviewed 17 March 2012

Well what can I say, the resort was amazing, the staff brilliant!

A quick bus ride to town, and the staff ensure you are educated in the local ways and keep a eye on you.

Food was good, the only issue was limited local produce and a little on the pricey side, but still ok. This was one of the easiest holidays yet. I would not hesitiate to go back in a flash!

Room Tip: Ask for rooms away from the pool but with beach views
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dreamer307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

986 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    579
    280
    84
    25
    18
See reviews for
79
701
23
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (407)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2012

My husband an I just spent 2 wonderful weeks at the Breakas Beach Resort. It was by far the best vacation we have ever been on. George and his staff did everything possible to make our stay one of a kind and amazing!! This was a great resort to just kick back and enjoy the island life. The food there was fantastic, with live entertainment almost every night. The bungalow was very nice as well. We did and island tour when we were there, which was fantastic!! Highly recomended place to visit. We will deffinatly be returning to Breakas!!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Jenn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2012

My husband and I had decided to spend 2 weeks in Vanuatu....with the first week being purely to relax and the second week to go about doing touristy things.

Our first week in Vanuatu was magical...staying in the 5 star resort, The Havanah - with turquoise waters and staff that were the most friendliest people we had met in Vanuatu. We highly recommend the Havannah if you truly want to experience paradise and have the Vanuatu experience with the comforts and option of TV/DVD/Aircon, quiet and quality food.

We then arrived to Ramada Breakas the second week - as this resort was located closer to Town and the touristy attractions my husband and I were planning to see.

In comparison to the pictures we had seen online - once we arrived, our gut was telling us that this was going to be an 'interesting week' - the pictures online are way overated to what you get in real life.

The Deluxe Ocean Villa was not so 'deluxe' - although trying to keep with the 'Vanuatu theme' and look, the huts were too dark, the outdoor shower??? nice in theory, but in reality, who wants to have a shower when the floor is covered in bark?? and at times, it would be raining, so it would defeat the purpose of having a shower. I think atleast a phone be in these deluxe ocean villas incase of an emergency or situation arrising....anyways....

By Wednesday, we were settling in...and looking forward to the publicised 'Melanessian Night' that was being held by the resort....it was a nice evening....which included Melanessian dancers, Cava tasting and Buffet style Polynessian/Melanessian food....little did we know my husband and I would be bed ridden for two days straight after this!!!!

By 1am the next morning...my husband and I were running to the bathroom every half hour....one vomiting..the other...well im sure i dont have to explain....this went on for TWO DAYS.....the second day my face broke out into a rash, i was horrified!!!

By the afternoon of the second day (Friday) my husband was feeling a little better and worked up the strength to catch a Bus into the city and head to a Drug store where the chemist sold and gave advice on the medication provided. He also organised to get us an earlier flight home as I couldn't bare staying at that resort and getting sick any further.

We flew out Saturday morning instead of Monday Morning...our second week on our Honeymoon ruined - as we didnt get to visit another 5 more tourist locations we had planned!:(:(:(

The funny thing was, the Saturday we left and caught the bus to the airport, we had caught the bus with a couple from Melbourne who also did not enjoy their time at Breakas and when we told them we were bed ridden for two days, their response was " You are now the 10th couple to have gotten sick at this resort this week that we have spoken to!"

If that isnt enough facts to make you not stay at Breakas, I don't know what else I can say.

We highly recommed you DO NOT stay at Breakas, but if you must, avoid the food and eat elsewhere......5 star all the way next time I say.

Room Tip: Always get a room with aircon and a tv or phone.....bare minimum.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
16 Thank Gloria P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2012

What a great way to start, check in and get a welcome drink and Leis!
The rooms are spacious with a great outdoor shower, the pool is great and custom designed for Scuba classes which are free for guests.
The staff are Sooo friendly, all introducing themselves and happy to be of assistance. they run a great tour to the local village. Melanesian night is not to be missed. The food is a little pricy but worth the money.
The massage ladies a great.
With no annoying TV or telephones you get to truely unwind and do as much or as little as you like, Relax in the pool and watch the surfers on the point or the locals fishing on the reef.

Room Tip: Garden or Beach Fare are laid out the same, only the views vary
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank CindyG2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2012

We have just returned from Breakas (February 2012) (I think we may have seen the wedding below!) Its a very very relaxing place to stay. The staff are great. Breakas is a smaller resort and very close to the local Pango village so you can get to know local staff/families.

From your beach fare, you can roll out of bed, onto the beach and then fall into the azure ocean. The waves gently and endlessly roll in. When the night weather is fine the restaurant staff take the tables onto the beach and you are waited on at your table just metres from the ocean. The shower in the bathrooms are open air. The fares were still very very cool even in the heat of the day.

Its a very "close to nature" style resort. I didnt want to leave!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank f00au2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charters Towers, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2012

My family were attending my sons wedding on the beach here in February, 2012 and stayed onsite. The whole resort was just wonderful. From when we arrived to be greeted with a welcome drink to when we left after 4 days the stay was just wonderful.

The view, fare, all the staff made our stay all the more relaxing. The groundsmen keep the area pristine, the cleaners work overtime to keep the sand off everything, the kitchen and bar staff do a wonderful job. The food is worthy of a 5 star rating.

George (the owner) is hands on and makes you feel like you are the most important person staying there. Albert (the tour desk manager) could not be more helpful organising buses and tours at a moments notice .... and all with a smile on his face.

We are already planning our next stay at Breakas and being an adults only resort was very relaxing. From the inifinity pool, snorkling on the reef right out the front to the comfortable fare we highly recommend this resort to all couples. As for the wedding ........ AMAZING!!!!

One recommendation is to get the massage in the day spa from the 2 lovely ladies, couple can go together to make it extra special. I have never had such a relaxing massage.

Debbie & Paul

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Debra D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelson, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2012

My wife and I stayed at Breakas for four nights in early January 2012. Upon arriving, we were greeted with leis and a fruity drink before staff walked us (and our heavy suitcases) to our garden fare (# 52).

We were instantly impressed with our fare. Sure, we saw the pictures online, but they didn't really show how cute the place was. Our only complaints were the fare did not really get much cooler at night (the sea breezes the website mentions did not reach us) and the refrigerator did not get all that cold. If, like me, you need it cooler at night to sleep well, you might be better off to spend the extra money and get a fare near the water - particularly in December and January when it's hot and humid.

The resort itself is beautiful with the many flowering trees and plants. It's quite obvious that the staff care for for the resort. We never ordered off the restaurant menu for regular food, but we did partake in the Melanesian and Seafood feasts. Both were pretty good for buffet-type food, but the atmosphere of having dinner on or near the beach and the native dancers made the money worthwhile. The breakfast buffet (which was included in our rate) did not change while we were there, but we were happy with the choices available (coffee, fruit, juice, and pancakes worked for us). The bar also makes beautiful drinks. One could easily stay at the resort without leaving, but I would recommend taking a bus into town and trying out some of the local restaurants (L'Houstelet, Baywatch, and and Jill's Cafe were all good). Although we generally had good luck with the buses, there was one episode where we felt we were getting scammed - ask the concierge what your trip should cost so you know.

We would definitely consider staying at Breakas again although we would probably stay in the cooler months.

Room Tip: Since there is no AC, choose a room closer to the sea or wait until the cooler months (July / August...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Mike & Terri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Vila hotels
1.1 mi away
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
#13 of 47 in Port Vila
1,482 reviews
14.4 mi away
The Havannah, Vanuatu
The Havannah, Vanuatu
#3 of 47 in Port Vila
552 reviews
3.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
#15 of 47 in Port Vila
665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
The Terraces Boutique Apartments
2.5 mi away
Iririki Island Resort & Spa
0.4 mi away
Nasama Resort
Nasama Resort
#7 of 47 in Port Vila
488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu

Property: Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu
Address: Pango Bay Road, Port Vila, Efate 00000, Vanuatu
Region: Vanuatu > Efate > Port Vila
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Port Vila
#5 Luxury Hotel in Port Vila
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Port Vila
#7 Romantic Hotel in Port Vila
#11 Family Hotel in Port Vila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled amidst swaying palms fringed on it's own private beach, Breakas Beach Resort is an intimate 3.5 Star tropical resort in a 5 star location for adults only welcoming guests over the age of 15 years. Enhanced by individual garden & beachfront Fares (Bungalows), Breakas Beach Resort is the ultimate relaxed "feet in the sand" beach holiday. Slip into a world of tranquility. The Resort features a stunning 22 metre infinity pool which falls into the horizon of the Pacific Ocean. The natural beauty of a private cove on the Pango peninsular provides an unrivalled backdrop in Port Vila. Fares (Bungalows) are scattered along the shoreline and throughout manicured tropical gardens ensuring privacy, intimacy and seclusion. With spectacular views to Port Vila's best surfing beach break, the restaurant provides a unique setting for a unique dining experience. The executive chef has created one of the finest menus using fresh, local produce, seafoods and world class Santo beef and we are famous for our beachside dining with stars above and sand underfoot.... It does not get much better than this. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu Hotel Port Vila
Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu Port Vila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing