We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect spot to relax...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu
Ranked #6 of 47 Hotels in Port Vila
Certificate of Excellence
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“The perfect spot to relax...”
Reviewed 6 July 2012

My husband and I have just come back from 8 amazing days at Breakas Beach Resort. We were looking for a place to relax and unwind, without being too far from the action of Port Vila. The other pre-requisite was to find a spot where my husband could have a surf - Breakas met all our expectations and more!

We booked a garden fare. Nestled in amongst the beautiful gardens, these huts provided comfortable beds, hot showers, and ample room to live comfortably for a week. If you are looking for something like the 5 star resorts you would find in Australia, then these huts are probably not the place for you, but I would definitely give Breakas the big thumbs up for luxury accomodation 'island style'.

All the staff at Breakas are gorgeous and upon arrival, we were given a very warm welcome. The staff were more than happy to assist with our enquiries and provide help/advice when needed.

We had planned on eating out in Port Vila a lot more, but come dinner time, we were happy just to stay and eat at the resort. The food there wasn't cheap, but was similar to prices you would pay in restaurants in Australia (you could have a good feed for around $30 in the evening, and lunches ranged from about $12 onwards). Our package included a continental breakfast consisting of fresh fruit, toast, pancakes and pastries. Some days we filled up so much, that we didn't really need to have lunch. Drinks were a bit on the expensive side ($6 for a Tusker beer).

Our favourite thing about Breakas is that it is right beside the lovely Pango village - have a walk through and see how the Ni-vans really live. Everyone gives you a friendly wave as you walk through, and many will stroll over for a chat. Stepping into a traditional village is like stepping into another world - it was a real eye opener. Ask one of the English speaking villagers how to get to the beautiful and secluded Honeymoon Beach. It was an easy 30 minute walk from Breakas. Take a bag of wrapped lollies or Australian souvenirs for the little pikininis (children) and see their faces light up in appreciation as you hand them out. The children there are so happy!

If you want to go into Port Vila, the local buses will pick you up from right out the front of Breakas for a fee of 150 vatu per person.Just flag one down, they come along every minute or so, and it's no problem getting back, no matter what the time of night.

My hubby had heard mixed reports on whether or not there are actually waves in Vanuatu, but his eyes lit up as soon as he saw Pango Point! The first few days the surf was a bit windblown, but after that he got some amazing waves. There were only about four other guys out there with him. Just watch out though, as the reef is right beneath you and can get very shallow, even on high tide wear booties and a springsuit just for extra protection.

Overall, we thoroughly enjoyed our time at Breakas and will definitely be going back. The only two negative things were that the village dogs barked nearly all night (but I wear earplugs, so that's okay) and perhaps the prices of drinks. Apart from that we fell in love with Breakas and highly recommend it for adults looking to base themselves at a relaxing place, without being too far from the action in and around Port Vila.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jodie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

965 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    567
    273
    82
    25
    18
See reviews for
77
685
23
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (397)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2012

Friendly relaxed resort that caters to those who just want to relax and enjoy the beautiful scenery. Staff were friendly and always on hand. Get the package with the continental breakfast which was always awesome. Great location - handy to town and other tourist attractions.
It was WONDERFUL MID-WINTER BREAK!!! Highlights being the friendly welcoming locals and it was also great to have George the resort owner chatting to the vacationers - would recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: Get a room that's close to the bar/restaurants/reception but not tooooo close. We had rooms 20...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Easter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2012

My friend and I stayed there for a week and were generally impressed by the resort. It's not a huge resort but I lot of clever thought has gone in to the layout of the place and it showed. Very easy to get into town, I think every Islander that has a combi van has his Bus license and the most we waited was 30 seconds, cost NZ$2.00 for a 5 minute ride. I am very particular when it comes to cleanliness and I thought our garden bure(52) was spotless, and was kept that way by the cleaning ladies, who serviced our unit daily. The hot water ran out but the gas cylinder was replaced by the time we returned to our unit. The meals in the restaurant were priced about the same as in New Zealand and were tasty and plentiful, however we felt the continential breakfast were too expensive at $2000.00 Vatu each (aound $28.00) and if it hadn't been complimentary we wouldn't have had them. (plenty of places to breakfast in town). The beach in front of the resort is tidal and when the tide is in it is a lovely place to swim but sea shoes are a good idea. When the tide is out no swimming is possible but there are interesting tidal pools to wonder around. Now the 'couple of things' ! The bures are definitely dark (I needed a torch to sort out my clothes) and near impossible for reading, you need to ask at reception for a lamp but we were only able to get one, so without my Ipad I would have been stuck!! We found the staff in the restaurant and bar not friendly and any requests such as salt & pepper shakers were responded too in a very slow way (near end of meal) and the bar staff during the morning/early afternoon shifts not well trained in cocktail ingredients....Recommendations: 1. No hairdryer in bures so take your own. 2/ The villiages dogs do bark a bit at night sometimes so if you are a light sleeper, take some ear plugs! 3/ Visit the Villa Chaumere restaurant for A+ dinning on the lagoon, lovely restaurant over the water, fine food and wine, great dinning experience!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Aucklander9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2012

We recently visited Vanuatu and stayed at Breakas Beach Resort. We had the most awsome holiday thanks to the very friendly staff at Breakas. They are a bit shy to start off, but after a few days, felt like family!

The accommodation was amazing - we stayed in a Garden Fare and it was very clean and comfortable. The room was cleaned daily and fresh flowers were left on our bed and outside our Fare. We asked our Travel Agent if we should upgrade to the Beachfront Fare, but were advised the Garden Fares were more private. Glad we decided to stick with the Garden Fare!

Thanks for an amazing holiday! Special mention to Alfred who was awesome at arranging tours and making us feel right at home!

Room Tip: Garden fares are more private. The beachfront fares have a lot of foot-traffic walking to and from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank holidaylovers12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2012

We found this hotel very disappointing. The beach is full off exposed rock, not what i would call an ideal swimming beach. The bungalows were dirty and shabby (there was grime in the bathroom). its full of 55+, the food is average and way overpriced. breakfast was 2000VT (this doesn't include hot food!) The people that rate this resort so highly have obviously not seen the other beach resorts around Vanuatu.

Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank Cameron H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2012

We just came back from a 7 night stay at Breakas in a garden fale (number 25 - next to the massage therapy fale, amazing massages). Based on the reviews on Tripadvisor I was prepared for a mixed bag with Breakas but from the moment we arrived and were greeted with big smiles and welcome cocktails we loved it. The room was leafy and cool, with beautiful wooden shutters and a high ceiling (with 3-speed fan) to keep the temperature nice. There are also mesh screens at the top to create air flow. The rooms are a little dark but that is easily fixed by turning on the main light and the two bedside table lamps. The lighting creates a nice ambience and is sufficient. We didn't spend much time in our room so the lighting didn't bother me. The bathroom was cool, with walls made out of stone/coral with open air at the top of the wall and a thatched roof - it was like showering in a waterfall. Fresh towels were delivered daily. The staff were lovely, they are pretty shy and can come across as disinterested but if you say hello and smile they instantly engage with you. One of the ladies saw that I had picked up a coconut and she immediately offered to open it for me, off she went with a huge grin, working away at the tough layers - the fresh coconut water and flesh was amazing. Every person who walked past our fare would smile and wave if we were sitting out on the porch and looking around. If you ignore them they won't intrude. George (the Aussie owner) was great, checked up on us after the first day to see if we were happy, and even gave us a ride into town one day.
When we arrived the room was filled with beautiful tropical flowers, and these were often replenished when our room was cleaned. It was a lovely touch. The pool is stunning (colder than the sea but very refreshing) and really clean. The rest of the amenities were great, there is a pool table on the beach and there are reef shoes, snorkels, masks and fins available for guests to use.
We didn't have breakfast at the restaurant (at around NZ$30 per person we had other spending priorities) but instead bought tropical fruit from the markets and muesli and yoghurt from the supermaket and ate that out on the porch everyday. That was perfect for us. We went to the Melanesian night and also had a superb dinner from the bar menu one night (the fish is super fresh). Check out the introductory scuba dive with Big Blue (they do a morning lesson in the pool), this was my first time scuba diving and I loved it, the guys are great and very careful, following the pool session we decided to go out on an afternoon dive and it was a highlight of the trip. The resort was quite quiet when we were there, but there were couples of all ages and everyone was friendly. We ended up having drinks with different people a few times which was nice. I really can't find fault with Breakas, if you are really high maintenance and things like no air-con (not that you need it) and an open air shower freak you out then it won't be for you. If you love those kinds of things then go for it. We had a blast!

Room Tip: Garden fare 25 was perfect, there is a path leading straight to the beach outside the front door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank MissL0ttie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2012

Stayed for a week, first week June 2012. Seaside bungalow. Delightful accommodation. Far enough out of town to be quiet yet only a short bus ride to town. The beach in front of the resort is not one you can expect to do much swimming from - very harsh bottom. Sound of surf at night very relaxing.

Staff were great and the owner George was super helpful - we had a very early departure and forgot to get passports from the safe the night before and we ended up getting him down to the resort at 4:30am and then he kindly drove us to the airport so as not to delay the shuttle bus - talk about personal service! Thanks George.

Only possible criticisms would be that (a) the bed was very firm; (b) the restaurant menu was a little limited in selection - the dishes available were excellent though and at least on par with the better restaurants around town.

Room Tip: Definitely go for a beachfront bungalow, sea breeze a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TheOzIcedog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Vila hotels
1.1 mi away
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
#12 of 47 in Port Vila
1,448 reviews
3.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
#15 of 47 in Port Vila
651 reviews
14.4 mi away
The Havannah, Vanuatu
The Havannah, Vanuatu
#3 of 47 in Port Vila
538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Iririki Island Resort & Spa
0.4 mi away
Nasama Resort
Nasama Resort
#7 of 47 in Port Vila
469 reviews
1.4 mi away
Paradise Cove Resort
Paradise Cove Resort
#1 of 47 in Port Vila
538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu

Property: Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu
Address: Pango Bay Road, Port Vila, Efate 00000, Vanuatu
Region: Vanuatu > Efate > Port Vila
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Port Vila
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Port Vila
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Port Vila
#7 Romantic Hotel in Port Vila
#11 Family Hotel in Port Vila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled amidst swaying palms fringed on it's own private beach, Breakas Beach Resort is an intimate 3.5 Star tropical resort in a 5 star location for adults only welcoming guests over the age of 15 years. Enhanced by individual garden & beachfront Fares (Bungalows), Breakas Beach Resort is the ultimate relaxed "feet in the sand" beach holiday. Slip into a world of tranquility. The Resort features a stunning 22 metre infinity pool which falls into the horizon of the Pacific Ocean. The natural beauty of a private cove on the Pango peninsular provides an unrivalled backdrop in Port Vila. Fares (Bungalows) are scattered along the shoreline and throughout manicured tropical gardens ensuring privacy, intimacy and seclusion. With spectacular views to Port Vila's best surfing beach break, the restaurant provides a unique setting for a unique dining experience. The executive chef has created one of the finest menus using fresh, local produce, seafoods and world class Santo beef and we are famous for our beachside dining with stars above and sand underfoot.... It does not get much better than this. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda, Priceline, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu Hotel Port Vila
Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu Port Vila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing