We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“worst holiday” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu
Ranked #6 of 48 Hotels in Port Vila
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“worst holiday”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2012

I have travelled around the world and this is the worst holiday I have ever had.
The things we were promised like complimentary cocktails, butler, personal concierge, waiter,were only offered on the booking. The room had no television, no safe, no air conditionning. the staff were very nice and friendly but the management needs a lot of training and honesty, there was always a excuse for all the problems. check your account before you leave because you will be charged for things you did not order.

Room Tip: Garden rooms are better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank olga l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

937 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    550
    267
    77
    25
    18
See reviews for
74
664
23
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (386)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2012

If you need to relax this is the place to go no children under 15 allowed peaceful garden chalets with super friendly staff
All the meals we ate were excellent a little pricey about the same as Australia
It's worth jumping on a bus into Bon marche to stock up on local beer Tuskar and some nice French wines
Buses run randomly but frequently right outside and cost 150vt about $1.50
I can highly recommend breakas for a well earned break!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JMHilsum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2012

We recently stayed at Breakas for 7 nights and absolutely loved it. From the moment we arrived, staff were very friendly and were willing to go above and beyond to help us out.

We had a nice little garden fare (number 17) and were very impressed with how clean and inviting it was. Flowers were a nice little touch around the room and these were replenished each day after the fare had been attended to by the cleaning staff. The exposed shower was very novel and we enjoyed it.

We had the continental breakfast included in our package and were very impressed with it. Toast, cereals, muffins, croissants, pastries, pancakes and fruit, as well as juices, a range of teas and coffee were available every morning.

We arrived on a Saturday afternoon and were quick to book in for the seafood buffet that night. It was amazing! There was so much food, prawns, lobster, calamari, soups, stews, desserts, the list goes on! We ate at Breakas 5 out of the 7 nights, including the Melanesian feast. The food was delicious, well presented and very comparable to Australian prices.

My partner enjoyed snorkelling off the beach and took some great underwater photos of all the colourful fish. We enjoyed reading in the hammocks and relaxing on the chairs beside the beach. Staff were more than happy to bring out food and cocktails wherever we were sitting, be it on the beach, our rooms, hammocks or on the day bed (which we loved lazing around on). There were plenty of coconuts laying around and we enjoyed eating them.

The grounds and rooms were immaculate. There are staff outside each morning raking up leaves and mopping floors, I am a bit of a neat freak but these guys topped me!

We took the the little buses into town each day (for about 150vt pp) and they were very easy to catch, coming along about every 30 seconds or so.

We found the staff very friendly and were very informative and willing to help. We booked several trips through the main desk and had no problems what-so-ever!

All in all, we had a fantastic time and have returned very relaxed!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank rachp81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2012

We only had one night here, but wanted to stay for longer. When we arrived we were given all these vouchers to try scuba diving, a reef tour, plus more - but were were only there for one night. When we needed to leave early for our flight the next day, the kitchen made us breakfast so we could eat it in our room at 5am before we left. Dinner was great and the entertainment was lots of fun. The accommodation was good and we would certainly go back and stay for longer given the opportunity.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fishbait_singer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chrsitchurch
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2012

We had booked our holiday direct, through the internet.
On arrival we were greeted by the MD George, who gave us a brief history of the resort, and over a drink made us feel very welcome.
We chose a garden fale, and were not dissapointed. The room was extremley comfortable, with a great wardrobe (in the bathroom). The shower was excellent..hot water on demand..open to the elements..Banana trees and blue sky.
The resort was just as we had hoped, quiet (no children) and intimate. The staff were great, very friendly..without being "in your face".
Breakfast (continental) was wonderful..a fusion of South Pacific and French cuisiene.
The evening menu was excellent, using local produce, cooked, and presented to a very high standard.
The fale had a great fridge, and we were not discouraged to stock the fridge up with food or alcholol. Port Villa has several supermarkets (Bon Marche) where you can get a good range of food stuffs. AND the Port Villa vegetable maket is excellent for fresh veges/salads and photographs.
We ate out a couple of times , using the local buses (150vt each to town). We highly recommend the Waterfront (great atmosphere and fish), The Harbour View Chinese. Casual meals, open air cinema and a wonderful ambience the Numbwan Cafe ( a mele of locals and tourists ) cannot be beaten....or missed.
Having travelled the South Pacific, we found the locals of Vanuatu the most friendly and warm people, we shall certainly return to Vanuatu!!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LornaChrsitchurch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
auckland
Level Contributor
70 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2012

We stayed at breakas for 7 days in early july.
The Garden Fales are more than adequate and I am pleased we didn't pay extra for a beach front Fale.
There was plenty of room and they were cleaned daily to a very high standard.
I see that some have commented on the Fales as being dark. Yes, a little but the over hung roof helps keep the room cool. The close and tall vegetation right outside the window made us feel as if we really were in a dense tropical jungle paradise.
The Al la Carte meals were lovely and bar service was excellent. The seafood buffet was a dissapointment. It was expensive and well below average in both quality and quantity.
It is so easy and cheap to get into town that we ate out most evenings.
The beach is not really for swimming with the currents being very strong.
There were plenty of free activites available with the free scuba lessons in the pool being a real bonus.
Overall we had a very relaxing and pleasent 7 days, however they really need to do something about the barking dogs at night.

Room Tip: no need to pay extra for beachfront. The garden fales are just about on the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank genieNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2012

Although the resort is not right in Port Villa it is a mere 10 minute bus trip into town and the buses run every few minutes. The resort is friendly, staff are helpful and the accommodation is lovely with comfortable beds. Be sure to do the village tour with Alfred at the resort. Breakfasts are yummy and so are the cocktails.

Room Tip: The rooms in the garden back from the beach are more private as guests can't walk past.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank congrae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Vila hotels
1.1 mi away
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
#13 of 48 in Port Vila
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,414 reviews
14.4 mi away
The Havannah, Vanuatu
The Havannah, Vanuatu
#3 of 48 in Port Vila
5.0 of 5 bubbles 524 reviews
3.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
#15 of 48 in Port Vila
4.5 of 5 bubbles 633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Iririki Island Resort & Spa
1.4 mi away
Paradise Cove Resort
Paradise Cove Resort
#1 of 48 in Port Vila
5.0 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
1.1 mi away
Erakor Island Resort & Spa
Erakor Island Resort & Spa
#5 of 48 in Port Vila
4.5 of 5 bubbles 642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu

Property: Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu
Address: Pango Bay Road, Port Vila, Efate 00000, Vanuatu
Region: Vanuatu > Efate > Port Vila
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Port Vila
#5 Luxury Hotel in Port Vila
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Port Vila
#7 Romantic Hotel in Port Vila
#11 Family Hotel in Port Vila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled amidst swaying palms fringed on it's own private beach, Breakas Beach Resort is an intimate 3.5 Star tropical resort in a 5 star location for adults only welcoming guests over the age of 15 years. Enhanced by individual garden & beachfront Fares (Bungalows), Breakas Beach Resort is the ultimate relaxed "feet in the sand" beach holiday. Slip into a world of tranquility. The Resort features a stunning 22 metre infinity pool which falls into the horizon of the Pacific Ocean. The natural beauty of a private cove on the Pango peninsular provides an unrivalled backdrop in Port Vila. Fares (Bungalows) are scattered along the shoreline and throughout manicured tropical gardens ensuring privacy, intimacy and seclusion. With spectacular views to Port Vila's best surfing beach break, the restaurant provides a unique setting for a unique dining experience. The executive chef has created one of the finest menus using fresh, local produce, seafoods and world class Santo beef and we are famous for our beachside dining with stars above and sand underfoot.... It does not get much better than this. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Ebookers so you can book your Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu Hotel Port Vila
Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu Port Vila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing