We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved it so much we went back”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu
Ranked #6 of 47 Hotels in Port Vila
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 January 2013

We recently returned from our second stay at Breakas beach Resort this year (2012) and fell in love with it all over again! Our first trip was in February for our wedding, and it couldn't have been more perfect. The accommodation was lovely (no aircon, but it's not needed as the rooms are designed well to catch the sea breeze and stay cool) and very comfortable. The staff could not have been more attentive. They all, from the wait staff and cleaning ladies to the catering manager and the resort manager could not have been more attentive. Their professionalism and friendly approach meant that our special day went without a hitch. They even set up a special table on the beach for us and our family for the wedding dinner, in a private area, away from the other diners. The menu was fantastic, and the steak was amongst the best we've tasted anywhere in the world!

The tour desk staff were fantastic and went out of their way to organise special tours for us. We were also able to borrow the resort snorkling equipment for our day trips. We couldn't rate this resort and the staff highly enough.

Because our first visit was so wonderful, we decided to go back in December. And our experience was just as good. The staff remembered us from our first visit (always a nice feeling), and the new staff were friendly and eager to answer any questions that we had. Again, a big shout out to the tour desk staff. Two lovely ladies who were both extremely helpful and spent a great deal of time helping us organise our day trips.

We recommend you stay in for the Melanesian Buffet or the Seafood Buffet nights. Great food, great entertainment and great atmosphere. Dining under the stars, with your feet in the sand.....perfect!

We're already planning our next trip back, as it's a great place to base yourself from to explore this beautiful country!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank charlie_no5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (996)
There are newer reviews for Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

793 - 799 of 996 reviews

Reviewed 8 January 2013

In this day every hotel needs a niche....Boutique hotels popping up everywhere with their top end show gels and iphone docks.


I have never experienced a hotel with no customer service before so its quite bold to for this hotel to run with this particular gap in the market. What! Their niche was no service?? Yeah thats right.

Breakas is ideal if you would like to

a) Book an airport transfer but get no response or have no one meet you at the airport.

b) Have your meal served 2 hours after your wife’s

c) Be told that, no you definitely didn’t order that. You ordered this meal it’s you fault for not knowing what you ordered

d) Asking for drinks only for the waiter to sit down and have lunch ignoring customers

e) Ask for replacement towel, wait, wait half an hour in lobby only for the staff to return sans towel saying that the couldn’t be bothered walking to get one.

f) Asking to use snorkelling equipment only to be left in the lobby while staffs just disappear.

g) Be told the all day menu stops a 4pm

All this talk about island time is rubbish. All the hotels and restaurants we visited, the service was fantastic.

Breakas was just atrocious. Management need a lesson in how to manage hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank figgyramone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2013

My husband and I spent 7 nights at Breakas over Christmas for our honeymoon.. Right from the initial booking process when we spoke with Anna who was just so kind and wonderful, through to the moment we arrived at the resort, we were looked after by friendly smiling staff and made to feel very comfortable and cared for.
We were blown away when we first arrived - everything looked just like the pictures in the brochures and more - lovely infinity pool and bar, stunning blue sea, gorgeous clean, spacious and cool bungalows.. We stayed in a garden bungalow which was super - nice and private, and a 50m walk to the beach so you have the best of both worlds. Although the resort was fully booked, we always had a feeling of serenity and privacy - there are loads of hammocks and beach chairs all along the beach, and they were always available.
We loved the fact that it was an adults only resort - we visited a couple of other resorts for day trips to explore and we found them to be like fun parks.. Breakas is perfect if you are looking for a relaxing, romantic, peaceful escape from reality. We would definitely recommend it and hope to return one day very soon!
Thank you so much, or as the locals say "Tank yu tumas!"

Note - I would recommend taking reef shoes to Vanuatu as most of the beaches (as stunning as they are) have quite a bit of coral..

Room Tip: Garden fares are just lovely..
Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Colocharubi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2013

Have just returned from an amazing stay at Breakas! Have read some really bad reviews of the place and think we must have stayed somewhere else!! We had such a great time at this beautiful resort and want to thank everyone that helped us down tools and relax. The staff were so friendly and helpful to us...we felt lucky and privileged to meet such lovely folk and to be honest they made our holiday. Apart from the sensational location...the sunsets are fantastic and picture postcard perfect...we are very well travelled and to get to our hotel in one 20 minute drive from the airport was what I liked the most! No milk run to get there which gave us the chance to relax immediately...my idea of a good holiday. The rooms were great...very generous size which made us feel as though we had our own home in a foreign country. The owner was around a lot....hell of a nice guy and went out of his way to make us feel welcome. The food was excellent…plenty of choice and we didn’t leave the resort for our entire stay at Breakas...thanks for a great holiday...we will definitely be back for more.

Room Tip: Garden Bungalows are great and cheaper than the beach fronts.
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Marie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2013

Breakas was an ideal place for us to wind down. If you like being close to nature and appreciate gentle but professionally trained staff then this resort is for you. The beach-view rooms are worth the extra cost as the view is stunning and the sound of the ocean at night so relaxing. The pool was pretty: a great place to relax. When you stay here you know you have been in Vanuatu, ad not some generic resort which could be anywhere in the world.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kathy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2013

When we arrived we were told we couldnt check in, there was kaos in the reception with un happy guests fixing up bills and being over charged, bags were everywhere and not much room to move.
we left our bags and returned later to check in, the staff we rude and not welcoming and we had to ask to be shown our room and take our own bags. Nothing of the resort was explained to us.

The pool was warm and very murky.

We only had lunch once there which was a beef burger, undercooked and beef patty was tiny and un ripe tomato.

The breakfast buffet was a joke, only fruit and toast (the toaster was busted) if you wanted a hot breakfast you had to pay.

The only two positive things I can say are the surf was good, due to cyclone currents and the late night security were helpful.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank lollvl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2013

We have just returned yesterday from our experience with your resort. Although very disappointing to be mucked about re too many over bookings when we first arrived, after waiting 2 hours to find out what was going on and wasting time we were finally sent to another resort for a night and then returned the following morning told we would have to stay in a garden fare for a night then moved to our beach front the next day, this never happened even though we had paid for this. We were given a massage voucher and a complimentary dinner after we asked for them this we are grateful, however we were let down due to the fact this period of 7 days over new years was our honeymoon so as well as being stuffed about with our room, we never received our bottle of champagne or fruit basket which were part of our package. Though I do understand there was a glitch in the bookings and staff were very busy we do think that no real effort was made to make us feel special on our special time - A woman from management try to re-assure us that they were doing all they could to help us however we heard several difference stories from others from the same woman which really isnt good service, the few times she spoke to us she didnt even remember who we were or likewise made us feel better being it our honeymoon, this is very disappointing and let us down immensely. Pre-paid trips that were supposed to have been confirmed by reception was stuffed about and we wasted a day trying to re-organise these. However on a positive note we were impressed by the pool and beach area of things as well as the genuine generosity of food throughout our stay. Breakfast was full of amazing fresh fruit as well as cereals and breads all you can eat was awesome! Lunch and dinner menus were very reasonable even if at times there was a wait on food. The staff most of the time were very helpful and friendly where possible, they can all be commended for atleast having a smile! We were left fresh clean beach and bath towels each day and our garden fare was cleaned each day however you need to think about water blasting the showers atleast once a year to remove mould build up around the bottom. The bed was made up freshly for us each day as well however the mattress was extremely hard and uncomfortable. Although we had animal visitors most days this didn't bother us due to the fact we knew we were on an island and on a beach. Security was helpful throughout. We would definitely come back however we will expect a higher quality of service and professionalism and NOT to be stuffed about waiting around and not knowing when things were to be sorted.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Melanie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Vila hotels
1.1 mi away
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
#13 of 47 in Port Vila
1,504 reviews
14.4 mi away
The Havannah, Vanuatu
The Havannah, Vanuatu
#3 of 47 in Port Vila
557 reviews
3.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
#14 of 47 in Port Vila
679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Iririki Island Resort & Spa
0.4 mi away
Nasama Resort
Nasama Resort
#7 of 47 in Port Vila
495 reviews
1.1 mi away
Erakor Island Resort & Spa
Erakor Island Resort & Spa
#5 of 47 in Port Vila
689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu

Address: Pango Bay Road, Port Vila, Efate 00000, Vanuatu
Region: Vanuatu > Efate > Port Vila
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Port Vila
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Port Vila
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Port Vila
#7 Romantic Hotel in Port Vila
#11 Family Hotel in Port Vila
Price Range: £132 - £165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled amidst swaying palms fringed on it's own private beach, Breakas Beach Resort is an intimate 3.5 Star tropical resort in a 5 star location for adults only welcoming guests over the age of 15 years. Enhanced by individual garden & beachfront Fares (Bungalows), Breakas Beach Resort is the ultimate relaxed "feet in the sand" beach holiday. Slip into a world of tranquility. The Resort features a stunning 22 metre infinity pool which falls into the horizon of the Pacific Ocean. The natural beauty of a private cove on the Pango peninsular provides an unrivalled backdrop in Port Vila. Fares (Bungalows) are scattered along the shoreline and throughout manicured tropical gardens ensuring privacy, intimacy and seclusion. With spectacular views to Port Vila's best surfing beach break, the restaurant provides a unique setting for a unique dining experience. The executive chef has created one of the finest menus using fresh, local produce, seafoods and world class Santo beef and we are famous for our beachside dining with stars above and sand underfoot.... It does not get much better than this. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu Hotel Port Vila
Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu Port Vila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing