We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Breakas Honey Moon Hell” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu
Ranked #6 of 48 Hotels in Port Vila
Certificate of Excellence
Rotorua, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Breakas Honey Moon Hell”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2013

We had a lot of issues, First off there website needs to be updated. It says there is a choice of two restaurants, there is only one (and we found the food to be poor). There is no in room safe. It also said there is a tv in your room, there is no tv. There is no airconditioning in the rooms. Our room had a bug problem. The website leads you to believe you can lay on the beach and you will be attended to by a waiter, this does not happen. You have to go to the bar and order your drinks.
We booked a jetski hire (jack) through breakas. The jetski broke down. We tried to get a refund, but George the owner of breakas couldn't care less. So we never got our money back.
On the website it says 4 1/2 star resort. It is more like a 2 star resort.
Outside of breakas there are loads of activities to do. We really enjoiyed the Cascade waterfalls, Off road buggy, River kayak and the diving was awesome.
We ate most nights at the Waterfront bar & grill, awesome food.

Room Tip: Our room had a massive bug problem. We had bugs walking over us in the night. Massive beatles!! Our...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kerryl S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

929 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    544
    265
    77
    25
    18
See reviews for
74
657
23
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (383)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2013

We stayed here when we got a package deal which made it a good price. Otherwise I probably wouldn't of booked it. As it turns out we loved it and as we holidayed in this county we noticed everything was quite expensive.
This resort is beautiful with the most amazing gardens that are constantly being cleaned from falling leaves from the above rainforest like trees. With scattered hits amongst the gardens, it feels secretive and personal. The shower was great with a coral rock surround and no ceiling. It really feel like your bathing in nature. The only downfall was the bed. It was hard and the pillow hard also. It's a shame because everything else about the room is perfect.
The beach out the front of the resort is all coral. No swimming is really possible without a big effort with reef shoes and there's a big rip that runs across the beach. The pool is lovely but you do feel a bit strange swimming I front of people dining around you in the restaurant.
It's just a 10 bus ride to town. The bus(men in vans) pick you up within seconds from out the front. This is maybe the only cheep thing about $1.50 to town. Everything else we e plai. To be at Sydney prices so don't think your going for a cheap holiday. There are also masses of Aussies in this resort and town.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tracestar80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2013

We had alot of issues with the hot water in our room the maintenance guy was more than helpful, in the end it would have been easier for them to move us.
Little things really annoyed us, 7 nights we stayed there and only once where our towels changed, all the other times we had to go ask for them. One day our room was only half serviced you could tell as the bed was made but all the towels where left in a pile near our front door. We also booked with wotif and our booking was missed - this was no problem but we booked with a free meal in the restaurant that they ended up charging us as when we checked out they again could not find the paper work.
It is a great little spot and very relaxing but the little things add up. Had we been looked after by the staff a bit better my opinion on this place would be very very different.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank wildnfree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lower Hutt, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2013

We are a retired couple from Wellington NZ travelling with our friends (also a retired couple) to celebrate a 50th Wedding Anniversary & a 70th Birthday. We could not have chosen a more special and beautiful place to spend 2 weeks! Breakas is indeed as lovely as the brochures picture it. The Fares are set in a most beautiful tropical garden and are positioned to give maximum privacy. Ours was No. 24 and was situated only 1 row back from the beach and also only a short walk away from the restaurants and amenities.We loved the white sandy pathways through the gardens. Our king size bed was extremely comfortable and we appreciated the clean towels etc. each day and the immaculate daily cleaning. Soap, tissues, tea, coffee etc. were topped up each day. Every request by us was attended to in a most courteous and friendly manner, even to being provided with a softer pillow! Nothing was a trouble to George, Frita and all the staff. They really went out of their way to make our stay so wonderful. What a treat to be lazing by the pool or on the beach in a hammock or a beach bed and have coffee, drinks or food brought out to us We were able to use the pool at any time - it was great to wake up to the bird song, put on your bathing suit and head for the pool before breakfast. I have never done that before in my life!
The breakfasts were wonderful with a great selection to choose from - the most beauitful fruit, cereals, hot cakes (or pikelets to us) with maple syrup, all manner of pastries and much more! We ate most of our meals at the Resort and found the variety and quality excellent.
There was entertainment every night and we were pleasantly surprised, seeing we were there for two 2 weeks, that during the 2nd week the entertainment was different. We particularly enjoyed the Cooking Class and seeing the Chefs create traditional dishes for us to try.
We chose not to leave the Resort a lot, however when we did, we were amazed at the ease with which we could board a bus at the Resort gate which would take us wherever we wanted to go. We did visit some of the local scenic highlights - The Summit Gardens, Cascade Waterfalls,Tanna Coffee Cafe, BlueLagoon and the Turtle Hatchery. Of course there is just so much to do if you want to and Frita at Breakas is so helpful in arranging tours, which can be tailored to your your requirements. We enjoyed the tour of the local Pango Village which included the schools and kindergarten, where the children sang especially for us. Before we left home we were advised that it was an appreciated gesture to take some gifts to donate to the schools. We did so, however we wished we taken more so that each child could receive a little memento from NZ.
One aspect of our stay, which we didn't anticipate, was the very high humidity, which meant that in our wardrobe (which was actually in the bathroom) our clothes, which we had hung there for the whole of our stay, became very musty. We should have kept these clothes in our bedroom and maybe in our suitcase, where everything was fine. Also for those who enjoy an early morning bird chorus it was wonderful, however they are very loud and maybe ear plugs would be advised if you don't want to be woken early. A tapping sound randomly at night puzzled us. At first we thought it was noise from the ceiling fan, which actually was silent, however the noise turned out to be a sound made by the little Geckos, which abound at the Resort. The eveings were completely insect free - most enjoyable as we anticipated mosquitoes but weren't troubled with any insects at all.
Overall our stay was fantastic and we would gladly return to this beautiful place some day and would certainly stay at Breakas on the Pango Peninsular.

Room Tip: The Beach front Fares are a bit more expensive however you do have an uninterrupted view of the beac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Barbara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2013

We enjoyed our 4 night stay at the resort. The staff are friendly, they make you feel welcome and are always willing to assist you. We will never forget the amazing seafood buffet we had (5000V pp) complimented with the local cultural performances by poolside. The service time is probably the best, we hardly waited before our meals arrived. In terms of clothing it gets pretty cool at night from May so ladies don't forget to pack a cardigan before you leave. The bungalows are very cozy, we thought the open shower was awesome! The resort probably is not the best place to go snorkelling but the view is amazing if you just want to chill by the pool or on the beach. During low tide you can walk right out and watch the locals fish with their hand lines. You will have no problem getting into town and back with their public transport. Once you go to the entrance of the resort you won't wait long before a bus arrives (150pp). Thank you to all the staff at Breakas Resort, we had a pleasant stay and we would recommend other travellers to choose Breakas Resort. :)

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Chantelle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington Point. Qld Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2013

Thanks for a wonderful holiday. We recently spent 7 nights at this great resort. Very relaxing venue, great food and friendly & helpful local staff. We enjoyed going on tours with "The Professionals Tours". Also enjoyed the cultural shows after dinner. One of the highlights of our trip was learning a bit of the local culture by visiting a village & a school and talking to the staff.

Room Tip: We were in one of the garden rooms but think that one of the beach front rooms may have been a bit c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ajc020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Currumbin, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2013

My husband and myself have just returned from our stay at Breakas for our 3rd stay there. It has been 5 years since being there last and it still wont be our last. We love this place and its staff. It is intimate and peacefull. We are well travelled and I must say Port Vila has the best bus service. We never waited any longer than a minute for a bus and they will take you to anywhere you want. The breakas breakfast is great. Lovely fresh fruit and yummy pancakes and pastries. Great coffee. The restaurant meals are beautifull. The swimming pool you just want to be around it all day, and if you are into surfing which my husband is, it has the best surf break. See you again soon Breakas and Thank you for giving us our requested room.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Glynis D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Vila hotels
1.1 mi away
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
#12 of 48 in Port Vila
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,402 reviews
14.4 mi away
The Havannah, Vanuatu
The Havannah, Vanuatu
#3 of 48 in Port Vila
5.0 of 5 bubbles 514 reviews
3.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
#15 of 48 in Port Vila
4.5 of 5 bubbles 629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Iririki Island Resort & Spa
1.4 mi away
Paradise Cove Resort
Paradise Cove Resort
#1 of 48 in Port Vila
5.0 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
0.5 mi away
Nasama Resort
Nasama Resort
#7 of 48 in Port Vila
4.5 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu

Property: Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu
Address: Pango Bay Road, Port Vila, Efate 00000, Vanuatu
Region: Vanuatu > Efate > Port Vila
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Port Vila
#5 Luxury Hotel in Port Vila
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Port Vila
#7 Romantic Hotel in Port Vila
#11 Family Hotel in Port Vila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled amidst swaying palms fringed on it's own private beach, Breakas Beach Resort is an intimate 3.5 Star tropical resort in a 5 star location for adults only welcoming guests over the age of 15 years. Enhanced by individual garden & beachfront Fares (Bungalows), Breakas Beach Resort is the ultimate relaxed "feet in the sand" beach holiday. Slip into a world of tranquility. The Resort features a stunning 22 metre infinity pool which falls into the horizon of the Pacific Ocean. The natural beauty of a private cove on the Pango peninsular provides an unrivalled backdrop in Port Vila. Fares (Bungalows) are scattered along the shoreline and throughout manicured tropical gardens ensuring privacy, intimacy and seclusion. With spectacular views to Port Vila's best surfing beach break, the restaurant provides a unique setting for a unique dining experience. The executive chef has created one of the finest menus using fresh, local produce, seafoods and world class Santo beef and we are famous for our beachside dining with stars above and sand underfoot.... It does not get much better than this. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu Hotel Port Vila
Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu Port Vila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing