We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Relaxing resort holiday” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu
Ranked #6 of 48 Hotels in Port Vila
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
46 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Relaxing resort holiday”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 7 nights at this wonderful resort. We arrived at 3am and were greeted by smiling security guards who carried our luggage to reception where again we were greeted by smiles. Security then carried our luggage to our fare. Fare was just like on the website. Breakfast was a relaxing time with lots to choose from. Had 3 evening meals which were very nice. All the staff greeted us with friendly smiles and hellos. Caught the bus into Port Vila every day and in the evenings from out the front of the resort. Never any problems. Would like to see in room safes but believe that they are happening. Would recommend this resort and would stay here again.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Linda N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

929 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    544
    265
    77
    25
    18
See reviews for
74
657
23
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (383)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2013

Enjoyed our relaxed 7 night holiday here. The accommodation, location, food & entertainment was above average, but stay away from the Fares at the Port Vila end. Roosters at 4.00am, dogs at all times of the night! We got woken early every morning!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Veep53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BreakasVanuatu, Guest Relations Manager at Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu, responded to this review, 22 September 2013
Thank you tumas for your review and the excellent comments on the high standard of accommodation, food and entertainment. We had over 90 guests dancing around the pool on Friday night at our special Roy Ryan event, it was a night to remember. We acknowledge that sometimes the sounds of island life in Vanuatu take a little getting used too, especially if they are a little louder than usual. Thank you again for the review, our team love to read them. We hope to see you back again. Lukim Yu. Breakas Beach Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2013

Overall we enjoyed our stay at Breakas (5 nights) but not so much to leave a "must recommend" impression. The resort is in a good location, being just out of town to be quiet, but not so far to remove you from the centre of Port Vila (and let's be honest - 150vt each for a bus is cheap and cheerful public transport!!).

The staff were wonderfully helpful and polite assisting with numerous dinner reservations, activities, money changing and various other of our requests 'ad nauseum'! Always patient and always smiling - this element is perhaps the most memorable. Unfortunately, there appears to be some overbearing management going on here. We were inadvertently privy to a number of exchanges between management and staff which didn't add to our experience.

The rooms were fantastic, and the big bed very comfy! The outdoor shower was a novelty - luckily there were no storms about :p

We enjoyed the melanesian night and there are plenty of shows to keep guests entertained. If you aren't a willing participant then yes, it might be a bit hard to get to bed early... Best to get involved!

The pool is delightfully set beside the beach, which, despite the coral, makes for refreshing swimming.

We had cause to borrow snorkelling equipment for a day trip which, unfortunately, was in near unusable condition. Yes it was free (I think...), nonetheless this was a little disappointing. A very easy area for improvement.

Food was good, beer was cold and the outlook from the bar-side couches makes it easy to unwind.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NGowza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BreakasVanuatu, Guest Relations Manager at Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu, responded to this review, 21 September 2013
Thank you very much for your review. Our friendly team looking after our guests go very much enjoy good feedback about the service. You will be pleased to know all of our new snorkel equipment arrived a few days ago, it takes a few weeks to get things shipped from Australia and this was one of our new teams first priorities. We also have several paddle boards arriving for those more athletic souls that like to get out and experience the beautiful waters of the resort. Thank you again and we do hope to see you back again in the future. The Team at Breaks Beach Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2013

We spent 8 nights at Breakers and loved it. What a beautiful location. Our fare was clean and spacious and the open air shower was fun. We ate several meals at the Restaurant and they were all delicious, the steak was the best we had in Vanuatu. Plenty of lounges around the beach to sit and chill read a book or look at the view. The bar also has a great view, who needs a TV. Used the WiFi a couple of times and didn't have any problems with it. Easy to get into town just catch a bus out the front we never had any trouble getting one even on Sunday and its only 150VT. The staff are great and looked after us.

If you want to get away from it all no TV no phone no stress this is the place to go.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Happy523
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BreakasVanuatu, Guest Relations Manager at Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu, responded to this review, 21 September 2013
Thanks for the great feedback. Its lovely seen so many happy visitors to Vanuatu this past month in our busiest season. I will pass your comments onto the kicthen team about the great steak. The Team at Breakas Beach Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2013

We wanted to get away and that is exactly what Breakas offers, the staff are very friendly and always saying hello.
Accommodation was clean and well presented, with a King-size bed and an overhead fan for sleeping, and the outdoor shower was a nice novelty. Like others have said the middle of the resort is the best if you can get it as you are away from the noise of either the bar, the road or the village.
The restaurant (breakfast, lunch & dinner) plus the bar menu had a very good range of dishes at reasonable prices.
The bar, pool area, paths etc. were kept clean and tidy all day and security helps with getting a bus or making sure you are safe out the front of the resort
For relaxing there are outdoor lounges, hammocks, umbrellas, beach pillows etc. and a beautiful infinity pool - note you can really only swim at high tide otherwise there is too much coral.
Nightly entertainment was good and had variety but be aware if you go for dinner and a show it may be better to eat/order late as they can get 'overbooked' early and you may wait a while for your food.

Room Tip: Middle of the resort is the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BreakasVanuatu, Guest Relations Manager at Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu, responded to this review, 21 September 2013
Thanks for your lovely review Rob. Great feedback about the restaurant and arriving a little later. Not many people realise our little resort restaurant is one of the busiest in Vila and we acknowledge in the past service can be a little "island time" on those extra busy nights( sometimes we get over 70 people order within 10 mins of each other). Our new team have just made some big improvements to this to ensure guests get great fast service. Thanks again and we hope to see you back again soon! Tropical regards Breakas Beach Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton
Level Contributor
50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013

We just stayed at Breakas for 7 days, flew back to NZ today (18th). As with some of the latest reveiws we too went in with an open mind. Some people are just too picky!!! T.Vs in your own room???, I sugest maybe staying at the Raddison on the Goldy next time.
Remember as soon as you step off the plane your on Island time, relax, breathe a little slower & relax again. Breakas exceeded our expectations, the accom was great, the beds are "HUGE", the food was supperb & no diff to the same price you would pay at your local restaurant, breakfast was was all good for continental, I orderd/payed for Bacon & eggs with thick toast & mushrooms & tomatoes....YUM. Remember others have said it's cheaper for food else where witch is true if you don't take into the fact you gotta add 600vt return(couple) for your bus, more if you take a taxi.
The staff were excellant & really helped us enjoy our stay. The wooden blinds do have a small gap approx 1/2 inch at the bottom, we had no probs with any one looking in!, thats if they can see past the mossy mesh & the fact the rooms are semi dark all day round fo your comfort. They do have a tv room which is in an open fale with couches, we watched the AB's play & then some AFL!, awesome. Spent 90 min in there in 7 days!.
The staff will help you to acheive any thing you wanna do in Vanuatu, heli rides ( highly reccommend) fishing, dirt buggys, swimming, etc.

Room Tip: Ask to be away from the restaurant if you want peace, from about 8.30 is pretty quite. - Buy a bo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nodrogs8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BreakasVanuatu, Public Relations Manager at Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu, responded to this review, 18 September 2013
Thanks for your review. We appreciate your great feedback. We are "feet in the sand and relax" resort. TV fare for those that want to catch up with world events or watch the footy and good reliable internet onsite ( although slightly slower in the tropics) for those that want to email and tell friends and family how great their holiday is going. We work hard on ensuring a relaxed tropical holiday with exceptional food, great food, good entertainment for guests at night and all delivered with friendly smiles. Thanks again and hope to see you back
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shepparton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013

I was a little worried after reading some of the reviews, however, I am very pleased we ignored them and went with an open mind. The resort and people were fantastic, and I really can't fault a thing. Our expectations may have helped with this, it isn't a five star resort, but I'd say a very solid four. Food was fantastic, as were the drinks, basically the same price as you'd expect to pay in Australia, however the location is slightly more impressive! We loved the outdoor shower and the closeness to the town centre. Very relaxing holiday.
At night you can hear a few dogs barking, however a few wines certainly helps with a good night sleep. Loved it, loved it, loved it!

Room Tip: Go with a relax attitude, don't stress the small stuff - after all you are on holidays!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rebecca G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BreakasVanuatu, Guest Relations Manager at Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu, responded to this review, 16 September 2013
Thanks Rebecca for a wonderful review. Our new team at Breakas has been working very hard over the last 3 months on making improvements around our little piece of paradise. Whilst we can't do anything about some of the older reviews where may not have met expectations of some guests, we are working very hard to make every guests experience a truly special occasion.Thanks again and please come back and visit us. Breakas Beach Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Vila hotels
1.1 mi away
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
#12 of 48 in Port Vila
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,402 reviews
14.4 mi away
The Havannah, Vanuatu
The Havannah, Vanuatu
#3 of 48 in Port Vila
5.0 of 5 bubbles 514 reviews
3.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
#15 of 48 in Port Vila
4.5 of 5 bubbles 629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Iririki Island Resort & Spa
1.4 mi away
Paradise Cove Resort
Paradise Cove Resort
#1 of 48 in Port Vila
5.0 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
0.5 mi away
Nasama Resort
Nasama Resort
#7 of 48 in Port Vila
4.5 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu

Property: Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu
Address: Pango Bay Road, Port Vila, Efate 00000, Vanuatu
Region: Vanuatu > Efate > Port Vila
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Port Vila
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Port Vila
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Port Vila
#7 Romantic Hotel in Port Vila
#11 Family Hotel in Port Vila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled amidst swaying palms fringed on it's own private beach, Breakas Beach Resort is an intimate 3.5 Star tropical resort in a 5 star location for adults only welcoming guests over the age of 15 years. Enhanced by individual garden & beachfront Fares (Bungalows), Breakas Beach Resort is the ultimate relaxed "feet in the sand" beach holiday. Slip into a world of tranquility. The Resort features a stunning 22 metre infinity pool which falls into the horizon of the Pacific Ocean. The natural beauty of a private cove on the Pango peninsular provides an unrivalled backdrop in Port Vila. Fares (Bungalows) are scattered along the shoreline and throughout manicured tropical gardens ensuring privacy, intimacy and seclusion. With spectacular views to Port Vila's best surfing beach break, the restaurant provides a unique setting for a unique dining experience. The executive chef has created one of the finest menus using fresh, local produce, seafoods and world class Santo beef and we are famous for our beachside dining with stars above and sand underfoot.... It does not get much better than this. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu Hotel Port Vila
Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu Port Vila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing