We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely Brilliant!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu
Ranked #6 of 47 Hotels in Port Vila
Certificate of Excellence
Rockhampton, Queensland, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Absolutely Brilliant!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013

5 days in paradise? Absolutely! Really enjoyed this trip and already started planning our next trip back to breakas.. World class food, infinity pool running onto the beach, never more that half a dozen folk on the beach, great cocktails, interesting and involving native evening performances, super friendly and happy staff taking time to suit our individual needs, ultimate relaxation! Recommended to everyone.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Anthony K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

945 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    554
    269
    79
    25
    18
See reviews for
75
670
22
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (387)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013

This was one of the best resorts I have experienced and have I traveled lots, in the Bahamas, Florida, Key West lots of places in Australia and Caribbean.
The peacefulness is remarkable yet the evening entertainment is enjoyable and a nice addition to liven up after a relaxing day. We were planning to eat out a lot but the beautiful beach setting was too hard to resist, so we ate in most of the time. Food and service was fabulous.
So relaxing to not have lots of kid noise in the pool and on the beach.
Agree that a safe in the room would be reassuring but we had no issues.
I woud definitely go back.

Room Tip: all of the rooms have good locations
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Abbotsfordlocal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BreakasVanuatu, Guest Relations Manager at Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu, responded to this review, 1 October 2013
Dear Abotttsfordlocal, thank you for a wonderful review. Our nice point of difference is the chance for our guests to leave the little pikinini(children) at home and have that break with a little peace and quiet. Our new in room safes are on the way from Australia ( everything is imported to our little island) so by the time you come back they will be in place and of course guests use our reception safe for peace of mind currently. We certainly hope to see you back again and thanks so much for choosing us. We know there are a lot of accommodation options in Vanuatu and value each and everyone of our guests :-) Tropical regards - The Team at Breakas Beach Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wingen, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2013

My first time on an Island holiday and Breakas Beach Resort was absolutely fantastic!! The staff were so incredibly friendly and happy it had a great atmosphere! The gardens are gorgeous and lush with cute beach huts scattered throughout adding to privacy. Breakas is situated a little out of Port Vila which was nice to get away from the city center. Meals at the restaurant were delicious and the cocktails divine! Noise was a little bit of an issue at night being not far from a local village as the dogs and roosters didn't seem to mind a little night time singing. All in all a fantastic, resort to stay in with beautiful staff, and a luxurious island feel. I will never forget my first glimpse of Breakas, walking into reception, gazing past palm trees out over the incredible infinity pool and out into the gently crashing waves of Breakas beach! Spellbinding...

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BreakasVanuatu, Guest Relations Manager at Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu, responded to this review, 30 September 2013
Dear Sarah, we are so pleased you chose us for your first stay in the tropics. Our team really try and go above and beyond to ensure that every guest has a wonderful experience and they very much enjoy reading all the nice reviews. We certainly hope to see you again next year! Thanks again and Tropical regards, Breakas Beach Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2013

To be fair, Fiji had really set the bar with us, so were pretty disappointed, compared to the happy BULA! and attentive staff, Vanuatu is nothing in comparison. I arrived with too much expectations of the service and attention of Fiji.

The rooms are lovely and I felt like a queen in the bed, the security guards and a very big help. Great being able to catch the local buses into town to eat every night and explore during the day.

The massage ladies, the older waiter in the restaurant and the male worker with cornrow braids are amazing and probably the only decent staff.

The staff hardly ever said hello, we had to stand around waiting for ages to be seated at the restaurant and even had to catch passing by staff that didn't even seem to care that we were standing there waiting, at first we thought you had to seat yourself and the sign was incorrect as staff just walked past us waiting at the to be seated section. Waited for so long for staff to help us at the service desk that we walked off, the owner was there and could see all this people waiting at the counter, only to introduce herself to some important guest sitting down and leave with her to the bar to celebrate the Melanesian night. Not very good management. Food menu is so expensive and has about 6 options, some nice some avergae. Three of our shutters didn't close AT ALL, you cant swim at the beach and the pool is way too cold to even put your feet in, not their fault but I wish I knew the beach was pretty much unusable due to coral, sea cucumbers and almost almost being low tide.

I had no problem with no tv or internet, but with no beach to swim at or snorkel it was pretty boring, their village tour was good, Their reading material is outdated with not a single magazine, and with no phone you have to go to the restaurant to order room service. Not much point in ordering in if you have to leave to order it. I'm really glad we didnt pay much to stay here, for the package we had it was good value but I would happily pay more to stay somewhere else next time we visit, it isnt worth a second time.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Miss_Jessica1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BreakasVanuatu, Guest Relations Manager at Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu, responded to this review, 30 September 2013
Dear Miss Jessica1988, thank you for your review. Im sorry you do not feel we meet your expectations and the team were very surprised to read your comments. In particular we like to feel our staff are always smiling and attentive to every you require, Vanuatu is noted for having the friendliest smiles in the South Pacific and something that has our guests returning again and again. In regards your comments about the menu, we feel they were a little unfair, we have over 20 items on the dinner menu made up of great local produce including Vanuatu's famous beef and our prices are very comparable to most restaurants around Vanuatu, we like to think our location is the best in Vila with our famous beachside dining :-) You also mentioned the snorkelling not as you would imagine, If you read many of the other reviews, even in the last few days , our great snorkelling off the reef is an excellent experience. You mentioned a comment about the resort owner, he (not she) hasn't been here for the past month so I think you were mistaken. As always, if you have any concerns, please email us or better yet mention please let us know during your stay if anything isn't to your liking and we promise to make it right. Thanks again for the review, whilst we always prefer the good, we need to know where we can improve as well, in this case we don't feel much of what you mentioned was justified or correct but do respect your views. We very much hope you do try Vanuatu again and hope to see you in the tropics soon. Tropical regards - The Breakas beach resort Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern Rivers
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2013

Great little place to stay, we were greeted by security who took our bags to reception then to your room. Check in was easy and the staff so friendly. It felt a bit pushed though. I was trying to listen to the guy checking us in and what info he wanted while being presented our drinks and necklaces with Freda telling us about the resort. Would have been nice to check in then have our drinks etc given to us once that was complete.

Room was further up the back of the resort amongst beautiful tropical gardens. Felt very relaxing. We were close to the village fence with another row behind us. During the early evening you could hear a child crying and again in the morning along with the roosters and dog but with the fan on it blocked out most of the noise and we never thought much of it as it's got nothing to do with the resort, and hey it's a bit of culture that goes along with visiting a 3rd world country. However I could see that it would annoy a lot of ppl.

Room was clean and big enough. Loved that there was no TV and thought the outdoor shower was excellent it was very nice and relaxing to look up and see the tropical plants whist showering.

Some said the window shutters don't close. It's not rock science to see that you pull them down to close them.....maybe they all don't have this feature??? Rooms had a beautiful breeze when the shutters were open and we never felt anyone was looking in and the rooms are dim lit that you can't really see in them unless someone is standing right by the window.

Room cleaners were friendly and did a good job of cleaning all the sand away and the warm foot wash at the entrance to the fare was a nice bonus.

We had 2 sit down dinners at the resort and 1 room service. All meals were great and on par with Aussie prices. 1 night’s entertainment was fire dancers which put on a great show. We had a table on the ocean side of the pool and the flood light they put on the girl dancer meant we couldn't see much nor take photos so keep that in mind when booking a table. Great setting though was very nice. On the Friday night we got to see Roy Ryan sing his performance was very entertaining we didn't stay for the entire show but could hear it back at our Fare.

Staff were always friendly we didn't notice and slowness "island time" happening everything we ordered arrived quickly.

Breakfast was beautiful lots to choose from and a delight to wake up each morning and come down to see the staff happy and the lovely setting to start your day very relaxing. Although some staff on our 3rd day looked over worked. We did notice 1 guy and 1 girl had been there at breakfast and still there well into the night. Her smile did start to go after the 3rd day but she still tried her best.

You do need your reef shoes we did our own reef walk and snorkelled with our own gear. We did see others with the resort supplied snorkels having trouble using them. So take your own.

They could do with more sun lounges some afternoons when we come down there were no lounges to lay on but further down they had comfy seats. We played a few rounds of pool the table is still in usable condition the balls could be replaced but since it's out in the sun and rain it might not be worth it.

We went into Port Villa each day and easily got a bus out the front of the resort for 150vt each.

I had a massage at the resort and the lady was great she knew what she was doing and I felt very relaxed after.

I agree that there needs to be a safe in the room. Other than that I can't fault anything with the room.

We really enjoyed our stay and hope to return again in the near future.

Room Tip: Garden fare's are great away from the pool and bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bodkal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BreakasVanuatu, Guest Relations Manager at Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu, responded to this review, 30 September 2013
Thank you very much for the lovely review. Our new entertainment programme is very popular with our wonderful guests and we are adding more events all the time. We hope you had a safe journey back home and we hope to see you again very soon. Tropical regards - Breakas Beach Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2013

To get a friendly happy welcome at 3am was so nice after a late night flight. The security guards were very helpful in carrying our luggage and helping us settle in to our fare. The rooms were beautifully designed and had a simple, contemporary tropical feel that was instantly comfortable and very homely. After freshening up in the open air shower we sat on the beach until 4am trying to comprehend how amazing this place was, feeling like we were in dream. There was a great selection available for the buffet breakfast and even with a 7 night stay we never got tired of it. The staff were so friendly and Frida at the Tour Desk was amazing in providing us with information and booking our tours. The gardens are beautifully laid out and the fares feel like they have been built into a lush tropical forest. As a person who doesn't like to spend too much time in the sun it was great to have hammocks and beach chairs spread through out the garden and along the beach under some amazing established old trees that provide coverage from the sun. The beach out front was nice although difficult to swim in as there is a reef that comes close to the shore and you need to wear reef shoes to move around. But then you can always go and swim in the amazing infinity pool right on the beach. We did some snorkeling here; in the shallows you get sea cucumbers, star fish and a range of small tropical fish. If you go out about 20 meters from the shore the reef drops off and the range and size of fish increases. Just watch the rip on the outgoing tide as I was wearing flippers and still fighting against the current. The resort is really well positioned and sheltered from the wind as we went for a walk up the beach and the resort next door was getting hit by strong winds and felt very exposed, yet back at Breakas it was very calm. We found the night time entertainment really enjoyable and relaxing without being to cheesy or cliche with local performers and dance troupes. Normally I don't go for the Cultural Nights provided by resorts, but the Melanesian night was fantastic, with music, dance and kava tasting. The food at the restaurant was great and reasonably priced. I recommend the massage provided by the resort, the ladies have hands of magic and managed to take out all the stress to allow me to have a relaxing holiday. The design of the resort is well planned and attention to detail goes right through from the architecture, to the gardens, right down to the lighting at night. I was after that classic tropical holiday feel and it was provided beyond my expectations. We tried a number of restaurants in other resorts and found they lacked the ambience and atmosphere of Breakas and being school holidays it was nice not to have to deal with screaming kids and families. The rooms do need a safe and the resort should think about providing surf board rental with one of the best breaks right out the front. These are my only two faults though.

Every time we returned to Breakas at the end of the day it felt like coming home. I know I am talking it up, but seriously this is one of the best resorts Vanuatu. I highly recommend it.

Room Tip: The rooms towards Port Villa end amongst the gardens are relaxing and quiet with tropical plants and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BRYSON2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BreakasVanuatu, Guest Relations Manager at Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu, responded to this review, 28 September 2013
Thank Yu Tumas for your wonderful review. Frida says hello back and glad you got home safely. Our new in-room safes are on the way from Australia. Takes a little bit of time as everything is imported to our little island is the South Pacific. We how to \welcome you back here very soon. Luk Im Yu, The Team at Breakas Beach Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Semaphore, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2013

We just returned from a 5 night stay at Breakas - our first visit to Vanuatu. Like many other readers, I was initally really worried by some of the older, negative reviews. I even considered cancelling. Wow. I am so glad we didn't. We had the best time.

From the moment we stepped off the bus, we were in love with the lush gardens that you walk through to reception. Check in staff were lovely and we also got to mee the lovely Frita of the Tour Desk. What a gem.

We payed the extra for the beach front bura - number 6 - and it was amazing. Beautiful views of the beach and the sound of the (very loud) ocean at night. Yes, there was some foot traffic as we were only a few spots down from the pool and bar etc but we didn't mind at all. I think the garden ones would be as nice, everything is close to the beach. We could sit on our 'patio' and listen to the music at night and it was a quick walk to grab a pizza or drink.

As mentioned by others, prices are similar to what you'd pay in an Aussie hotel. Definitely not cheap but reasonable. If you are there on a Saturday night, you absolutely have to try the Seafood platter. It's pricey I guess (just over $100AUD) but the best platter we've ever had.

We didn't have any complaints at all about the resort - loved it. I can see why some people would get annoyed - for example sometime the drinks service is slow at dinner but look around - it's so beautful that we never minded. We just went up to the bar. It all comes down to attitude. We had to laugh overhearing our 'neighbour' point out to her husband a bottle top that had been left in the sand outside their room "it's been there for 3 days!". I wouldn't have noticed and if I did, I would have just picked it up. I don't think people like this will be 100% happy anywhere.

I guess the only downside was that staff are not able to socialise with guests after there shift is over. They must leave immediately. We were really disappointed by this as we made friends with a couple of the staff and would have loved to catch up with them at night over a beer. Instead, we had to go into town. A small thing really but it did leave a sour taste in our mouths.

This place is extremely relaxing and very quiet - not a party resort - but just what you need when you are after some downtime. If you go with the right attitude and expectations, you will have the best time. This is a 3rd world country and a 3 star resort.

Take the time to chat to the staff. They are really the most beautiful, kind and happy people and spending time with them will enhance your stay.

Be sure to take reef shoes with you due to the coral.

Room Tip: beachfront #6 was fabulous if you don't mind a bit of foot traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BreakasVanuatu, Guest Relations Manager at Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu, responded to this review, 28 September 2013
Thank Yu Tumas for the wonderful review Amy. The new team is very proud of all the upgrades and improvements. We love our little piece of paradise and glad you enjoyed your stay with us. PLease come back and see us, all the team say luk im yu back again. Breakas Beach resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Vila hotels
1.1 mi away
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
#13 of 47 in Port Vila
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,432 reviews
14.4 mi away
The Havannah, Vanuatu
The Havannah, Vanuatu
#3 of 47 in Port Vila
5.0 of 5 bubbles 526 reviews
3.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
#14 of 47 in Port Vila
4.5 of 5 bubbles 645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Iririki Island Resort & Spa
0.4 mi away
Nasama Resort
Nasama Resort
#7 of 47 in Port Vila
4.5 of 5 bubbles 454 reviews
1.1 mi away
Erakor Island Resort & Spa
Erakor Island Resort & Spa
#5 of 47 in Port Vila
4.5 of 5 bubbles 650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu

Property: Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu
Address: Pango Bay Road, Port Vila, Efate 00000, Vanuatu
Region: Vanuatu > Efate > Port Vila
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Port Vila
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Port Vila
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Port Vila
#7 Romantic Hotel in Port Vila
#11 Family Hotel in Port Vila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled amidst swaying palms fringed on it's own private beach, Breakas Beach Resort is an intimate 3.5 Star tropical resort in a 5 star location for adults only welcoming guests over the age of 15 years. Enhanced by individual garden & beachfront Fares (Bungalows), Breakas Beach Resort is the ultimate relaxed "feet in the sand" beach holiday. Slip into a world of tranquility. The Resort features a stunning 22 metre infinity pool which falls into the horizon of the Pacific Ocean. The natural beauty of a private cove on the Pango peninsular provides an unrivalled backdrop in Port Vila. Fares (Bungalows) are scattered along the shoreline and throughout manicured tropical gardens ensuring privacy, intimacy and seclusion. With spectacular views to Port Vila's best surfing beach break, the restaurant provides a unique setting for a unique dining experience. The executive chef has created one of the finest menus using fresh, local produce, seafoods and world class Santo beef and we are famous for our beachside dining with stars above and sand underfoot.... It does not get much better than this. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu Hotel Port Vila
Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu Port Vila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing