We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“35th Wedding anniversary Holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu
Ranked #6 of 47 Hotels in Port Vila
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Thought the overall aspect of this resort was very good. Staff friendly and meals pretty good. We stayed in a garden fare, number 22 and thought it was quiet and well positioned. Thought the extra paid for a beach front fare was a little over the top when we could still se the water from our fare and easy walk to everything while not being too noisy. We spoke to one couple who paid for the beach front and couldn't sleep at night for the noisy, smoking neighbours and TV room. Easy to get to town on a bus which was about $1.00 each way and felt quite safe walking around town. Drank and ate in town quite a few meals. Try Chill Restaurant above Au Bon Maiche. Great food, great view and not bad value. Also the buggy ride is a must do. We did the Jungle to the beach one and it was excellent value for the money.

Room Tip: Garden fare number 22. Great location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Judy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BreakasVanuatu, Guest Relations Manager at Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2013

Dear Judy, thanks for the wonderful review, especially about the staff and restaurant meals, we will pass this on. The fresh organic produce, beef and fish from the local markets is excellent. We only have the one TV on the resort as most people are out and about rather than watching TV in their rooms and we will note your comments and adjust the volume a little. Thanks again and hope to see you back for your 40th wedding anniversary! The Team at Breakas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,007)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

670 - 676 of 1,007 reviews

Reviewed 26 October 2013

What a fantastic week we had at Breakas, thanks to Pam and her ever ready to help staff we were at a loss to fault anything. I would recommend the waterside rooms 30 to 36 if complete privacy is what you are after. a great range of food at reasonable prices certainly had your belly full and mouth watering, We even had fireworks one night on the beach, thanks Pam for allowing it, the whole peninsula enjoyed it. From the massages to the help with tours there was always someone nearby to help you, we will definitely be back. To me everyone at Breakas is NUMBAWAN.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Digga2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BreakasVanuatu, Guest Relations Manager at Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2013

Thank you for the excellent review. all our team were so happy you chose us for your wedding. We couldn't have asked for more relaxed wonderful guests. We want to see you all back for the 1st Anniversary, Salote, Mantai, Lulu, David and Rosemary all say a big Helo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2013

18/10/13-24/10/13

Have just returned from a 7 night holiday at breakas beach resort. Memories to last a life time. Wow! Truley Fell in love with this place and the beautiful staff. Very relaxing, delicious meals & amazing night entertainment especially the melanesian night, what a wonderful night! Spectacular views, clear blue waters. Would definetly recomended a massage with Anita & her friend Loretta :) definetly looking into booking my next holiday at your resort already. Such amazing & unforgetable memories!

Thank you for everything & all the kindness of your staff :)

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BreakasVanuatu, Guest Relations Manager at Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2013

Dear Rina, thank you for choosing Breakas Beach resort for your 7 days in the tropics. I will pass on your comments to Anita and Ritta, they are two of our busiest ladies and the feedback is wonderful. We have more entertainment nights planned in the New Year for our guests and we are so lucky with having our live musicians and custom dancers, lots of talent! Luk im Yu bak again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Calling this a "resort" is a bit of a stretch. However that being said this was a great place to stay as long as you were not expecting the all singing-all dancing American resort experience, The rooms were large - no air con but in this locale hardly necessary. The new manager is upgrading (new hairdryers were delivered on our first morning, room safes were on their way, and for us an important item bedside lamps which allowed us to read a book were also on their way from NZ). Service is not seamless but is always friendly and cheerful. Food was terrific whether for breakfast, for us the occasional lunch or dinner.
The location with infinity pool overlooking the ocean is divine (worth paying extra for the ocean view fares), and though a bit out of town with a hire car or using the local buses this is not a problem.
What more do you need!

Room Tip: We did not have an ocean view but think it could be worth paying the extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RobinMellett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

I was recently in Vanuatu and had dinner out at Breakas

What a fantastic place. The atmosphere is great and staff extremely friendly, and the meal was divine. Siting at a table next to a pool looking out ocean the white sand to the water is amazing.

Whilst I did not stay at the resort, I would totally recommend it as an oasis, a great place to relax and unwind if you you need a break any time.

Thanks Glen Pam & co

Regards Tony

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Wow, can't say enough about Breakas in Port Vila. The staff bent over backwards to help us, especially Frita on the tour desk. 'Miss Pam', the fabulous GM, runs an amazing resort which is currently undergoing lots of improvements with more to come. Soon got used to 'island time' and missed it when we got back home. Any of you gluten free people out there - no problem at all with the food if you ask.

Definitely didn't miss the TV, phone or air conditioning in room. Fares are basic but lovely. Staff are happy and friendly. If you go with the flow and realise you are supporting an economy in a third world country you will get more out of your stay. Come with an open mind, don't let the little things bother you, and truly embrace the experience. Visit a local village and you will understand how lucky you are. If you are after a sanitised holiday experience with fast 24hour room service and everything pristine then this is not for you.

Would love to go back. Heaps and heaps to do in Vanuatu. Highlights were the buggy rides, snorkelling at Hideaway and the sunset cruise.

Room Tip: Beachfront 12 and 13 are great.
See more room tips
Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
2  Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BreakasVanuatu, Guest Relations Manager at Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2013

Dear Chris, thanks for the wonderful review and so glad you had a great time with us. We really pride ourselves on that " feet in the sand" relaxing experience. I will pass on your nice comments about the food to the kitchen team. We certainly hope to welcome you back to our island nation very soon. The team at Breakas Beach resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

We were expecting a bit to much from this place i think. WAY over priced food and booze my advise if you stay here don't eat at the hotel and buy your booze in town and just drink in front of your room. its hard to stay busy and its not cheap to do all the things that keep you busy.

(Lots of bugs everywhere as well - my partner hates them they will end up driving you up the wall.)

go to Fiji or Bali

one positive there is a restaurant called Elan that we found on the last night that was amazing.

Room Tip: Room 36 had the best view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patrick_McK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Vila hotels
1.1 mi away
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
#12 of 47 in Port Vila
1,517 reviews
3.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
#14 of 47 in Port Vila
692 reviews
14.4 mi away
The Havannah, Vanuatu
The Havannah, Vanuatu
#3 of 47 in Port Vila
564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Iririki Island Resort & Spa
0.4 mi away
Nasama Resort
Nasama Resort
#7 of 47 in Port Vila
501 reviews
1.1 mi away
Erakor Island Resort & Spa
Erakor Island Resort & Spa
#5 of 47 in Port Vila
700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu

Address: Pango Bay Road, Port Vila, Efate 00000, Vanuatu
Region: Vanuatu > Efate > Port Vila
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Port Vila
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Port Vila
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Port Vila
#7 Romantic Hotel in Port Vila
#11 Family Hotel in Port Vila
Price Range: £121 - £185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled amidst swaying palms fringed on it's own private beach, Breakas Beach Resort is an intimate 3.5 Star tropical resort in a 5 star location for adults only welcoming guests over the age of 15 years. Enhanced by individual garden & beachfront Fares (Bungalows), Breakas Beach Resort is the ultimate relaxed "feet in the sand" beach holiday. Slip into a world of tranquility. The Resort features a stunning 22 metre infinity pool which falls into the horizon of the Pacific Ocean. The natural beauty of a private cove on the Pango peninsular provides an unrivalled backdrop in Port Vila. Fares (Bungalows) are scattered along the shoreline and throughout manicured tropical gardens ensuring privacy, intimacy and seclusion. With spectacular views to Port Vila's best surfing beach break, the restaurant provides a unique setting for a unique dining experience. The executive chef has created one of the finest menus using fresh, local produce, seafoods and world class Santo beef and we are famous for our beachside dining with stars above and sand underfoot.... It does not get much better than this. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu Hotel Port Vila
Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu Port Vila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing